StephG
Member Since 2016
Hi everyone!
I'm switching from prozinc (on prozinc for 6 months and 2 weeks) to lantus and I'm full of questions. I'll try to keep this from jumping around.
*What is the best way to feed? Right now Chuck gets 4.5oz food at meal time and then .8oz (the rest of the can) at +4. He also gets a spoonful of YA zero Mature at +7. He's very reactive to food. He is very bouncy! I have a feeder that I can separate his meal into smaller meals but I don't know if he'll be happy with any less than 3oz at meal time. I think he might get use to less once he realizes his snacks are coming. I also add 2 tablespoons of water to his meal and 1 tablespoon to his +4 snack. He gets PetAlive Pancreas Booster 1/2 cap each meal and Zobaline 1 pill in his PM snack.
*What dose do you think I should try starting with? Chuck is getting 7.2 units Prozinc twice a day. I think he needs an increase because his typical nadir is around 250-300+... Today he just had to show off
.
*How long does a VIAL of Lantus last being stored on the counter? I ask this because my step-dad has 1/3 of a vial left (so about 300ish units) and he has been using it for about 2.5 to 3 weeks. He always uses a fresh needle so I don't think there's worry for contamination. I don't want to start him on a decreased potency dose. He does have other vials, unopened stored in the fridge. I might be able to buy a whole vial off him. (Not sure what's "legal" haha don't want to get into trouble on my first post) I have a prescription for 5 pens with 3 refills and my vet was ok with me buying from Marks in canada. I am looking to start low cost since I bought two vials of prozinc in the last month. (I thought one was damaged)
*Is the onset and nadir any similar to his current trend on Prozinc? At this point I usually can tell by +2 or +3 if he's going to have an over-active cycle or if it's going to follow his normal trend. If the dose is too big how quick can he start dropping too low? I know that really depends on the PS level but the typical onset of Lantus, if I remember right is around +2? Or that's where he should be hitting his preshot level. I've been quick to panic and over-steer with food but have been working on that when it happens.
I would like to start him tomorrow afternoon but it might have to wait until Friday afternoon. I'm pretty nervous about it but hopeful that this will get him closer to regulation at a better cost!
I'm switching from prozinc (on prozinc for 6 months and 2 weeks) to lantus and I'm full of questions. I'll try to keep this from jumping around.*What is the best way to feed? Right now Chuck gets 4.5oz food at meal time and then .8oz (the rest of the can) at +4. He also gets a spoonful of YA zero Mature at +7. He's very reactive to food. He is very bouncy! I have a feeder that I can separate his meal into smaller meals but I don't know if he'll be happy with any less than 3oz at meal time. I think he might get use to less once he realizes his snacks are coming. I also add 2 tablespoons of water to his meal and 1 tablespoon to his +4 snack. He gets PetAlive Pancreas Booster 1/2 cap each meal and Zobaline 1 pill in his PM snack.
*What dose do you think I should try starting with? Chuck is getting 7.2 units Prozinc twice a day. I think he needs an increase because his typical nadir is around 250-300+... Today he just had to show off
*How long does a VIAL of Lantus last being stored on the counter? I ask this because my step-dad has 1/3 of a vial left (so about 300ish units) and he has been using it for about 2.5 to 3 weeks. He always uses a fresh needle so I don't think there's worry for contamination. I don't want to start him on a decreased potency dose. He does have other vials, unopened stored in the fridge. I might be able to buy a whole vial off him. (Not sure what's "legal" haha don't want to get into trouble on my first post) I have a prescription for 5 pens with 3 refills and my vet was ok with me buying from Marks in canada. I am looking to start low cost since I bought two vials of prozinc in the last month. (I thought one was damaged)
*Is the onset and nadir any similar to his current trend on Prozinc? At this point I usually can tell by +2 or +3 if he's going to have an over-active cycle or if it's going to follow his normal trend. If the dose is too big how quick can he start dropping too low? I know that really depends on the PS level but the typical onset of Lantus, if I remember right is around +2? Or that's where he should be hitting his preshot level. I've been quick to panic and over-steer with food but have been working on that when it happens.
I would like to start him tomorrow afternoon but it might have to wait until Friday afternoon. I'm pretty nervous about it but hopeful that this will get him closer to regulation at a better cost!
Last edited: