switched to Lantus from Humulin N

Status
Not open for further replies.

BigHeadTodd

Member Since 2013
Thank you for offering any advice in advance. After many hours of research I seem to be more educated on FD than the two vets that I have been working with so I feel much more comfortable reaching out and receiving advice from fellow FD cat owners. Was sent home $1500 later with Big Head two nights ago at 9pm he was given his first shot of Humulin N at 8pm 2 units 480. Started him on Purina DM We did a curve yesterday feed and injected 2U of Humulin N 8am and 8pm. Still range +2=470 +8=388 +12=486. Today vet upped Humulin to 3units Big head was stressed over getting stuck this morning and was 508. I am picking up Lantus today based on my research. Question 1: Can I give as soon as the 8pm dose? Question 2: Do I still give 3 units? or now that it is Lantus do I start over again with a smaller dosage? And do I have to redo the curve all over again? Question 3: Is the gravy in the Purina DM selects bad? I keep reading that gravy is a no no... why does DM selects have gravy? And do I need to switch his food?
 
Okay lets start at the beginning...Yes you can start Big Head on the Lantus tonight at 8pm as N is an in & out insulin and only lasts about 4-6 hours in a cat's body anyhow.

Second DON'T shoot 3 units...start all over at either .5u or 1u at max...Lantus works very different from N...WAY DIFFERENT!!!

Once you start Big Head on the Lantus you will want to test before every shot and since you are just starting out, do not shoot if he is below 200 at preshot. Either post here or on Health and someone will be around to advise you on what if any to give. Then you will also want to get a test on either the am or pm cycle at about +6 or nadir which is the lowest point in the cycle. And then usually just to be on the safe side another test right before you go to bed for the night.

Lastly food...Take the DM back and tell them Big Head won't eat it and get your money back...The prescription stuff is over price junk, and honestly most cats won't eat it after the first few days...I have 14 only 2 of which are diabetic and not a single one of mine would touch the stuff after the novelty wore off.

What I feed here is just good old fashioned Friskies Pate Style canned food, although many folks also feed Fancy Feast Classics, 9-lives pate style, or even Walmart's Special kitty..you are pretty safe feeding any canned food that is a pate-style, you want to stay away from anything is sliced, grilled, tender bits or in gravy as it is way to high in carbs for a diabetic kitty. On Friskies pate as a diet my one diabetic has been in remission for over 2 years and my other is well regulated on a very small dose on Levemir and also we believe headed towards remission. Basically you are looking to feed a food that is less than 10% carbs, and most of us try to stick to stuff that is between 5-7% carbs. There is a good list here Binky's List

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Thank you so very much! Yah have cases of the friskies patte but the vet insisted on DM at $40... so frustrating with the misinformation and ignorance and close mindedness of a vet not willing to admit that they are not familiar with current FD treatment.

I thank you and Big Head Thanks you

Sincerely,
Jennifer Peters
Wilmington, DE
 
Thank you for caring enough to respond. I will start over... poor kitty will not be happy about this one bit! But I am determined to do right by him and give him the proper treatment he deserves. Do you have any idea when I should feed Big Head? Before, during or after the Lantus injection?
 
Well I actually feed mine 4 times a day but then again I'm home with them all day, but the meal schedule here goes as follows: 7am test, feed shoot, 1pm test, feed, 7pm, test, feed, shoot, and 10pm test and feed.

I give Autumn her shot while her head is whiskers deep in her food dish. With Lantus because it is such a long lasting insulin that many free feed their cats canned food just like they were use to when they were on dry. The only real thing to keep in mind is that however you choose to feed your boy is that you will want to pick up any food about 2 hrs before his preshot tests so that you get a true read that isn't influenced by food. If you can spread out his meals a little, smaller more frequent meals are easier on his body right now, so that it can more easily handle the incoming glucose from his food.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
8pm last night 1u of lantus and then again this morning at 8am 1u he is still 508!!!!! Do I just continue for a couple of days on the 1u? Or do we need to increase today? And should I be worried that he has been in the 400 now 500 range and has been receiving insulin since Friday night? But this is only his second shot of the Lantus... just wondering if his level being this high is causing damage in any other ways... he is a rescue that we found and he also has tested positive for HIV. Very healthy and looks very bright eyes and alert.
 
Also wanted to ask... heading back to the vet to return the glucose meter that they insisted we buy for $220... and the DM food... so frustrated and can't help but to feel taken advantage of when we already have a one touch mini here at our home. Just need to get new test strips. Unless anyone has a suggestion on what monitor we should be using.
 
You are going to want to hold the dose for at least 5 days to begin with unless he gives you any number below 50 anywhere in his cycle (the 12 hours between shots is a cycle). This is what I am talking about the two insulins work very differently. Lantus is a depot insulin in that it makes little time release crystals for lack of a better word under the skin, but in the beginning if you are say shooting 1u, there aren't a full 1u of those little crystals melting, so for about 3 days you are filling that depot. After you get it to where there is a full 1u at onset or basically when the insulin kicks in, then you can start seeing how he really is doing on a particular dose.

What you are going to be looking for is a dose that you can always shoot 12/12 that holds him below the renal threshhold to begin with or at least below 250, for regulation, after that you get to learn new tricks to get him down in to normal numbers as much of the time as possible, but we will cross that bridge when we get there. :-D

The One Touch Mini is a great little meter, it is actually my back up meter. Only thing about it and why it is my back up meter is because the strips are expensive, and the strips are always the most expensive part of the testing. Walmart's housebrand Relion makes a couple of excellent inexpensive meters. Both their Micro and Confirm use the same strips and I also have the Micro which I like a lot and is my main meter for one of my diabetics. Strips for it are about 100 for $40 I think, its been awhile since I priced them in bulk like that since the cat whose meter it is has been in remission for the last two years so I only buy then 20 at a time and that runs me $9. While the last time I priced strips for my One Touch Mini strips the cheapest I found them locally was 100 for $159.00 and some change.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Just wanted to add, that I bought the Relion Prime for $17 and the strips are $9 for 50. Since the Prime is the newest of the Relion line, you can only get vials of 50 strips, they don't have them in boxes of 100 for a discount price, yet. But at $18 for 100, you can't find it any cheaper, I have tried.

And if you order thru the links at the top of the page, the site will earn a percentage, to help keep it going and lord knows, without it, I would most certainly be lost. This site and MommaofMuse is all that's kept my sanity, being a newbee. :-D

Good luck and hope your furbaby does just great. cat_pet_icon

Big hugz! :YMHUG:
 
Thank you soooo much... Unfortunately I didn't get to read your post until after I purchased everything from Walmart. But I signed up for monthly donations and will be a strong supporter in every way possible from now on I will reorder everything through the site. BIGS 8pm reading was the highest ever 548!!!! I increased the Lantus 2u. I hope this was the right thing... It seems to have only increased since we started the latus last night. Anyone with advice to help give us some hope please feel free. I am so very discouraged by this entire process :sad:
 
Breathe Hon! Calm down (I have to tell myself this on a regular basis! :lol: )

If you look at Lucian's SS, (his spread sheet in my signature), you'll see that I'm not only a newbee to all this, but having to deal with very high numbers, too. It's scary, frustrating, depressing and just plain hard to handle, but everyone keeps telling me it will get better. So I'm trying to hang in there. :-D

I wouldn't pretend to know what advice to give you, but I did copy the general guidelines for dosing:

""""General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

Random Notes:
Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus and Levemir:
An early shot = a dose increase.
A late shot = a dose reduction.
A "cycle" refers to the period of time between shots. There are 2 cycles in one day when shooting twice a day.
Sometimes a dose will need to be "fine tuned" by adding some "fat" or "skinny-ing up" the dose.

Using a weight based formula for determining a starting dose of Lantus or Levemir when following the Tight Regulation Protocol:
the formula is 0.25 unit per kg of the cat's ideal weight
if kitty is underweight, the formula frequently used is 0.25 unit per kg of kitty's actual weight
if the cat was previously on another insulin, the starting dose should be increased or decreased by taking prior data into consideration
Online Calculator for Converting Pounds to Kilograms

There are circumstances such as ketones present, an unusually low preshot number, a caregiver leaving the cat with a sitter, relatively high flat curves, loss of appetite, infection, a schedule change, ability to monitor, etc. which may call for adjustments to these guidelines.


********************************************************************
These are "general" guidelines which have worked for many cats.
Every Cat Is Different. Learn how YOUR cat responds to insulin.
We are laypersons - not veterinarians. Please discuss dosing, methods, and care for your cat with your veterinarian."""""
*************************************************************************************************************************

I know that it takes a few cycles for the insulin to build it's 'depot', so you have to keep that in mind when you first start with Lantus.

Also, since the dose is based more on 'nadir', the lowest numbers between doses, usually at about six hrs after the shot, than the pre shot number, you will need to get tests between the shots too, to see just how far he is dropping between doses. The pre shot numbers are pretty much secondary in deciding on the dose.

If you can get a spread sheet set up and keep track of Big's BG test results, someone with experience can help you to find the appropriate dose, but they need those numbers in order for them to help you, to help Big. :-D If someone doesn't get it to you before I do, I'll find the info on setting up the spread sheet. It's not hard, if I can do it, anyone can! :lol:

You're not a complete newbee, you already know how to test, you're just new to Lantus and the board. :-D Testing was the hardest for me. It made me crazy! :-x

I know how scary those ultra high numbers are, my meter won't read anything over 599, it says 'HI' when it's 600+ and my heart drops every time. :sad: But I know we'll get it worked out and so will you. :-D

Don't worry about going to Walmart, sometimes you need something NOW. :-D I do order anything that I can wait a couple days for from the links, just so I can help out in some small way. Seriously, I could not have made it thru the last 5 weeks without the help from so many wonderful, bighearted people here.

I'll go look for the spread sheet info and whenever you have time, read the stickies at the top of the Tight Regulation Forum. Basic info is pretty much the same, no matter what protocol you are using. The amount of information available on this site is amazing and will help you so much.

Hang in there, it'll get better. :YMHUG:

OH, you already got the SS! ohmygod_smile You need to click 'File' then click 'publish to the web', then a window will pop up and make sure it is checked 'Automaticlly republish when changes made'. Right now, it can't bee seen.
 
Increased Big's Lantus 2u because tonights reading was 548. Tried to desperately get a reading +2 but could not it was a horrible struggle... now Big's is dry heaving... did not throw up his food but was hiding in the litter box... his breath is strong metallic smelling as well... SHOULD I BE TAKING HIM TO THE EMERGENCY ROOM... he is lying on my bed and is purring now... but something is not right... could it be just the stress of trying to get the reading? We gave him a spoon full of food at 10pm to entice for reading... he did eat it... and I bet he would try to eat more if I put more in front of him now... is this typical?! DO I NEED TO TAKE HIM TO EMERGENCY?!
 
Okay this was a hard thing for me to grasp in the beginning to, but you don't want to change a dose on Lantus by the preshot numbers. Lantus dosing decisions are made off the nadir or the lowest point in the cycle (the 12 hours between shots).

Also you don't raise the dose by a full unit, at most we usually raise a dose by .5u and most of the time by .25u. Since you in effect doubled his dose tonight you might want to get several spot checks in to make sure he isn't dropping too far or too fast.

Try to get another reading on him. Need to know if he is dropping too low.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
I really screwed this up... and now I can not get a reading from him... he is way too stressed and was acting perfectly fine before we started to try to get a reading at 10pm... What do I do? And what am I to do in the morning? Should I lower the dose... not give it at all?
 
Give him and you a time out, both of you take time to calm down...go love on him a little. Keep an eye on him for signs of hypo, and once you both have relaxed a little bit try to get a test in on him again. As far as what to do tomorrow morning let's see where he is in the morning, if he is under 200 skip the shot, otherwise go back to the 1u and hold it for 5 days to allow his shed to fill and start getting the full 1u to use to bring his BGs down.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Mel,
Thanks I just tried to do his ear... he let me stick him but no luck getting blood. I even used a flashlight... Good think I got a tetnus shot last week. He took a good chunk out of my hand when I tried to squeeze for more blood... I have urin strips that will be the best I can do in the morning... Thank you for you help. he is lying on the bed. Will keep a close eye on him... what should I watch for if he is Hypo?! What would be the obvious signs for me to take him to a vet before I kill him by accident... I am such an idiot and was treating the Lantus like the Humulin... the vet increased by 1u when it wasn't working... I shouldn't of done this... pray I haven't hurt him.

:oops: :oops: :oops: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

-Jenny
 
Jenny,
Metallic smelling breath? Does it smell like nail polish remover at all?
Carl
 
I see Carl is here, you're in good hands Hon.

Take a deep breath and relax. It's going to be ok, even if it doesn't feel like it right now.
PLEASE read the following:

""""""First, try to not panic. Post to the Lantus Insulin Support Group or on the Health Board. Make sure your subject line indicates you are concerned about a possible hypo and/or add the 911 icon to the first post in your condo. People who are experienced in dealing with low numbers will be there to help. After posting, remember to refresh your browser periodically to see if people have replied.

It’s important to recognize that just because your cat may be experiencing low BG numbers doesn’t mean that your kitty is critically hypoglycemic. Many cats will have low numbers and never have symptoms. It’s important, though, to bring those numbers up into a safe range. ALWAYS make sure you have a stock of test strips, high carb (HC) canned food that contains gravy and is over 15% carb such as Fancy Feast grilled, marinated, or Gravy Lovers varieties (see Janet & Binky's Food Chart for a full list of options), and/or a simple sugar solution such as Karo/corn syrup, honey, maple syrup, etc.

If your cat is experiencing symptoms, especially if those symptoms are severe, you need to rub Karo syrup, honey, or maple syrup on the gums or, if symptoms are very severe, administer rectally and get your cat to the nearest 24-hour emergency facility. Take the bottle of syrup with you to administer on the way if necessary. (Note that it is rare that we see episodes of symptomatic hypoglycemia with Lantus and even rarer to see severe symptoms. But, you need to know what to do should they occur.)

The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:
staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
twitching
stupor
convulsions or seizures
coma
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
(If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.""""""""



Now, do you have a Hypo Kit? You need a sugar syrup, like Karo or Maple Syrup or Honey and a medium to high carb food. Do you have any of the dry food you used to feed? Or some med/high carb canned food? You should always keep a Hypo Kit, for times when he gets too low. If you don't have one, get the things together that you might need. If you have no med/high carb food, his low carb with the sugar syrup will work. Please read the directions and follow them. Post on the Tight Regulation board and they WILL help you. It's going to be ok. With his numbers as high as they are, the chances are pretty good he won't go too low anyway, so just breath and follow the directions.

You are in the right place, you do have help here! :YMHUG:

Again, please post on the Tight Regulation board because there is much more traffic there and you'll have the help you need.
 
Bigs is having a great morning. He ate and took his injection (Lantus 1u) like a champ and is proudly cleaning himself! Something that he never did over this past 2 months of rescuing him. Don't want to stick him or start the day upset since our night was so stressful. Did take a clean urin sample and he is well above 200 and only has the slightest trace of Keytone. So hopefully remaining on the Lantus 1u for the next 5 days helps get us on the road to regulation... We are trying!!!

I read to not post on the Tight Lantus board if I was a newbe so I was trying to be respectful. I will now post there given your advice. Can you see Big's SS in my signature. I don't know if I set it up properly. Please let me know if you are able to review. I will be updating each day.
 
Good Morning and glad to hear Mister Bigs is feeling better this morning.

You are welcome to post on either Lantus board that you want, this one is just a little quieter than the TR one, and we operate a little differently over here than they do. As in we don't require you open a new post everyday, nor even post everyday if things are going well. Plus we follow a slightly different protocol here, which is SLGS 0r Start Low and Go Slow when it comes to dosing, so we tend to hold a dose longer and test a little less often except with occasional curves to adjust doses.

I, myself while I have had cats on Lantus my current diabetic is on Levemir, but both insulins work fairly similiar so you can get help on either board.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
It is +6 and I can tell Bigs isn't feeling well... carried him to the litter box hoping for a urine sample but he only had a bm... it was solid but no urine... thinking of giving him a snack of the friskies to help him through this must be his low time. Wondering if I still need to stay 1u of the Lantus or take it down .25... I know we agreed to keep him at the same titration for at least a 5 days... do I still keep this for tonight's injection of 1U or does anyone think I should lower it to .75u?!!!!
 
You can post where ever you need to. I had suggested posting there, because you needed help quickly and there are more people over there to answer you, when time is critical.
I post here, since I don't follow the TR protocol, but If I can't get help here and I need it soon, I'll go ask there. Nobody will fuss at you for asking for help EVER, that's what they do, help us newbees. :-D And hopefully, one day, I'll have enough experience under my belt to be able to do the same thing. :-D

Were you able to get any tests? It's so hard until you get it down, I thought I'd pull my hair out! :sad: I think I cried more the first week, than I had in 10 yrs, out of sheer frustration! :cry:

If he was showing even trace ketones, testing needs to be done, if at all possible. You said you were sticking but not getting blood? What size lancet are you using? Maybe a larger gauge size would help. Then you wouldn't have to keep poking, but get your sample with 1 or 2 pokes. I know Lucian won't bleed with the 31-33 gauge, they're just too thin. It's usually recommended to use a 26-28G until you get good at it. 28-30 works well for Lucian, prefer the 30G, since it's less painful (I think) but still large enough to get the sample.

Hopefully someone will stop by and help you with your dosing question, but if not, in a few hrs, if you don't get a response here, it's ok to ask in TR.

Hang in there, you have support here. :YMHUG:
 
When you say a snack of Friskies..are you meaning canned Pate Style, some other form of canned or dry Friskies? This is fairly important since only the canned Pate style is low enough in carbs for a diabetic cat, if you are using any dry of any form that is going to keep Big Head in those high numbers. With Autumn she will rocket into the 400-500s if she so much as licks the gravy residue left in the dog's dish or on as few as 1-2 pieces of dry cat food.

With Lantus...yes you are just going to want to grin and bear it for a week at the same dose. And try to get as many tests as possible. Since testing seems to be a problem let me cover some of the basic tricks and see if any of these you may not have thought of, that might help make it easier on you both. First and foremost...TREATS...if you can find a yummy treat that Big Head just loves and only give those at test time. With Autumn that happens to be just plain boiled chicken breast, so she gets a little bite when she comes to her testing spot, then she gets another one, once I get her test in. Now in the beginning she got lots more pieces just to get her sit still while I was getting that test in. With Musette it was low fat cream cheese and with Maxwell it was being brushed...You just have to find what he really loves, this could be a commercial treat, boiled chicken, tuna, shrimp, sardines or even a little one on one playtime or as with my Maxie a good brushing.

Second if he is squirmy, you can try wrapping him up in a big towel like a kitty burrito, or some cats just hate to be restrainted..Maxwell was one of those, if I tried to hold him, the fight was on, but if I got him up on the bed with me, brushed him a little bit I could lean over and grab an ear and quickly test that way. Autumn likes to lay on my lap across my knees and Musette I found she was easiest if I held her like a little football tucked under one arm...If one way doesn't work then try another. Another way to restrain a squirmy kitty is the clothespin trick...let me see if I can find it for you and if I can I'll post a link to it here for you.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Wow Mel! That's a great trick, I'll have to remember that. :thumbup

Big's mommabean has several threads open right now, so she may be getting overwhelmed with info at the moment.

Hopefully she will see this and it will help with her testing. Wish I had seen this when I first started testing my uncooperative (putting it mildly) boy. ;-)
 
Well heck if I had known no one told you about the clothes pin mohawk I would have linked it to you...it has saved me many a vicious blood letting when working with new rescues and having to get pills and other meds into them when they are well...less than ...ummm trusting...lol. It works like the kitty off button when you pick up a kitten like his momma.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
I've never been able to pill a cat, even with pill pockets. I wish I had known about the mohawk years ago. :lol:
 
Big's snacks are just a spoonful or two with water of the classic friskies turkey and giblet. I have completely stopped feeding him hard food once I learned of his FD. Venita was able to come to my home and graced us with amazing gifts and instructions that will help us through this even better! Reading at 4:30pm was still in the 500's we gave Big's his shot at 6pm... and another snack and then dinner at 8pm... he is weak and little to no energy... I checked his urine at 10pm and no keytones! Still very high glucose... just can't seem to get him in a safe range... at least not yet... increased Lantus to 1.5u due to the fact that he has been in the 500's for 3 days... hopefully tomorrow is a better day! THANK YOU VENITA!!! Big's guardian angel :YMHUG:

Thanks to everyone's kind words and support.

Bigs and Jenny
 
Awww Yes Venita is an angel...She is the same angel that blessed me with both of my current diabetics as she runs DCIN (Diabetic Cats In Need) which is who I adopted both of my current Diabetics Maxwell and Autumn from. If anyone can show you how to test it will be Venita.

I figured it was canned Friskies but just wanted to double check. Some other really good low carb treats are just plain boiled chicken, sardines packed in water, boiled popcorn shrimp, and even low fat cream cheese (also makes great low carb pill pockets). With testing you might want to find him a treat that he really loves that isn't his regular food and that he only gets at test time. That way he will start to think....hmmm that was tasty and that little annoying poke to my ear wasn't that bad if it means I get that yummy noms before and after it.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Just wanted to reach out and let all of our new friends know that Bigs is doing well at the moment. He has been diagnosed with congenital heart failure and in the emergency room 3 times over the past two weeks so his diabetes has become the secondary focus at the moment. I am increasing his Lantus to 3 units tonight his BG is still in the 500's... once we get a few days on the increased units I will begin building a new curve.

Thank you all for your advice and caring efforts to help Bigs.

I am keeping updates on his BG sheet and the url is in our signature. So please do not think that we have forgotten you all. We just have to get his heart regulated first and then focus on the BG. Good news is that he is showing no signs of Ketones so at least we have that going for us while we take the time to get him strong enough to work on getting him OTJ!!! I just can't wait for the day to enter a number that is in the green on our chart!!

Hugs out to all!!!

-Jen and BIgs
 
Jen thanks for checking in and giving us an update....Been thinking about you and Big Head and hoping everything was alright I had seen the original posting about him on FB...How Scary!

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
BIGS UPDATE

So we have had 6 great days with BIGS... well should I say with his heart... his BG level is still in the 500s and he has been on 3units for 4 full cycles... IS HE INSULIN RESISTANT?! AND thinking I need to increase to 3.5 to try and get him in a safer zone. Thank god he is showing no signs of Keytones in his urine. Just wondering if anyone else has experienced the same frustration with finding the proper dosage... I am following the "go slow to get low" but was just wondering if anyone else out there has had this same situation...

Shout out to all our furry friends and family
-BIGs and Jenny
 
Yep....Deb's Lucian has been a big pain in our hiney too to get him out of the 600+ but we have gotten it done over here finally. You just keep going up until you find a dose that will break the insulin resistance.

Now I have to ask, when you say insulin resistant I am assuming he was tested for IAA? Right? Do you know if they also tested for Acro? Because if Acro then the dosing is a little different and something thankfully I have never had to deal with, but I can certainly round up a terrific Acro mom to help you out, in fact she will probably be checking in shortly this am.

Glad to hear that Big's heart is doing much better, he gave us a scare there. Give him scritches from all of us.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
IAA?! I'm not familiar... we don't believe he is acro especially now that he has been sick it seems as if his "big head" has shrunk... now the only thing he seems to have that is too big is his heart! And his BG level!!! Will keep on a steady pace thinking of increasing to 3.5U tonight.
 
IAA is a test for the insulin resistant antibodies. So if he wasn't tested for it, then it is likely more glucose toxicity and yep the way to get over that is to just keep raising the dose until you find one that breaks through it. So go ahead and raise to 3.5, try to get a few mid-cycle tests especially around +6 to see how low the dose is taking him. Since Lantus is adjusted off the nadir or lowest point it is hard to tell if he is going low and bouncing back up on those high preshot values or if he just still not getting enough insulin to bring his BGs down.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Awesome!!! Just so happy to hear that Mr Bigs is doing so much better with his heart. I'll be popping in and out all day as I have others that I'm checking on. So if you have any questions or concerns I should be around to help out where I can. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Good morning Jen and extra sweet Biggie! I'm glad to see you posting here! Just wanted to be sure you got the meds...there wasn't much but hopefully it will help some....

I'm glad sweet boy is doing better! BIG HUGS TOO!!
 
Has anyone ever used VETiONX company that makes Dia-IonX (helps reduce diabetic symptoms)? Just wondering since the members of FDMB are so educated and seem to have tried everything to make sure our kitties are safe.
 
JUST WONDERING IF THE GROUP HAS OPINIONS ON CERTAIN INGREDIENTS THAT YOU THINK WORK OR DO NOT WORK

Dia-IonX™ Ingredients

Aceticum acidum ▪ Arsenicum album ▪ Bryonia ▪ Calcarea carbonica ▪ Iris versicolor ▪ Kali phosphoricum ▪ Lacticum acidum ▪ Lycopodium clavatum ▪ Natrum phosphoricum ▪ Phosphoricum acidum ▪ Phosphorus ▪ Plumbum metallicum ▪ Uranium nitricum
Each of the above ingredients contains equal volumes of 10X, 20X, and 30X potencies. Inactive ingredients: citric acid, potassium sorbate, purified ionized mineral water.
 
Always good to hear when a kitty is feeling a little better. dancing_cat

Mel mentioned my Lucian. Yes, we have seen some ugly numbers with him, on a regular basis and even recently. :o He is only now starting to show us something, thank goodness!

She is very right, you have no way of knowing if his high preshot numbers are from bounce, due to getting better numbers during the cycle or the need for a dose increase, unless you can catch a couple midcycle tests.

I hate to test and Lucian hates it even more. :shock: But to try to keep him stable and healthy, I gotta do it. :sad: I just give him tons of extra love every time! :-D Of course, the freeze dried liver treats sure don't hurt! :lol:

Hang in there, in a few weeks, hopefully, all this frustration will be a fading memory. :thumbup

Here's to healthy and happy kitties! drinking24
 
I haven't used it so really can't tell you but it looks to be mostly an herbal remedy and what I do know about herbal medicines is that they usually take a very long time to show any effects at all if they are going to. And with Big Head's other health problems I would use them with caution, because just because it is all natural and mostly herbal does not mean that it can't be deadly...afterall Foxglove is all natural and the extract is where we get digatalous (sp?) for heart patiences but too much and it becomes a deadly poison.

If I were you I would post that question over on Health where you will get more eyes with more experience with all kinds of meds and health conditions. My knowledge in that area is just too limited.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
The question on the herb is will it counter-act anything Bigs is already on? Some herbs will do that- lessen (or increase) water retention or decrease the effectiveness of other medicines because the synopsis connections fit together and they don't get metabolized.

See- I can :-D learn stuff just sitting around a dietetics office. We had a seminar on natural remedies a few months ago in herbal remedies need to be taken into account with everything.
 
Lantus plus Humulin R

Well BIgs is up to 4u and his numbers are still off the charts. Venita had me change from every 12 hrs to every 8hrs and in the morning we will assess if he need Humulin R to get these numbers out of such a dangerous range. Bigs' urin shows no signs of Keytones (THANK GOD)... His heart/breathing is excellent... now if only we could get him in a healthy BG range.

Thank you all for your care and support... I hope this guy is not insulin resistant... we need a break.
 
Have you used R before? There are a few people on the board with experience using R and Lantus... have you tried to get input from them yet?

Carl
 
Carl & Bob said:
Have you used R before? There are a few people on the board with experience using R and Lantus... have you tried to get input from them yet?

Carl

Carl, I have experience using R with Lantus, Levemir, and PZI.
 
Good thing! I saw TID and R and it was too many letters for me!

Carl
 
Venita and Ennis93 said:
Carl, I have experience using R with Lantus, Levemir, and PZI.
then you would know initially the current BID dose is usually divided up into three doses (oftentimes a lesser amount) when switching to TID dosing in most circumstances... and we don't switch to TID until we know what kind of duration kitty is getting with the current dose... and we don't use R until we know when kitty onsets, peaks, and what kind of duration kitty is getting from the current dose. correct?

seriously, other than high numbers, may i ask what hard data you have to support the dosing decisions you're making? perhaps more data has been collected than is recorded on bigs' spreadsheet?

sorry, but given the cumulative nature of lantus increasing the dose by 4u on what would have been the second day on 4u BID plus the possible introduction of R tomorrow sounds like pretty risky business without much of anything to hang your hat on.

maybe i'm missing something...
 
If it really is time to pull out the R, I'd sure like to see Venita shoot the bead.

And supervise the curve in case of any surprises.

The numbers need to come down. And the smallest bead of R may help with that.

But it sure ain't for beginners. nailbite_smile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top