? Switched food to 1 TBSP CleanProtein, 3 TBSP DM. +3.25 78

DexterMeowgan

Member Since 2021
We gave him the normal portion of food, no insulin last night.

Is the after food spike within a normal range? Should I adjust his dose?

We're giving him new food if it arrives today, that should be substantially lower carb but still dry. I spoke with the fiancé about transitioning him to wet food for his long-term kidney health and she seems interested in trying it again, he didn't care for it after the first day or so before.

He seems to be hovering over the water a lot more recently to me, however the fiancé said he's always done that. He doesn't really lay at it but he's been near it more often.

Is it normal to stress this much when trying to document and get the cat under control?
 
Is the after food spike within a normal range? Should I adjust his dose?
Yes the food spike is within normal range. Adjust his dose how?

We're giving him new food if it arrives today, that should be substantially lower carb but still dry. I spoke with the fiancé about transitioning him to wet food for his long-term kidney health and she seems interested in trying it again, he didn't care for it after the first day or so before.
Some cats are harder to transition. I guess you've seen the transitioning tips on Dr. Lisa's website?

He seems to be hovering over the water a lot more recently to me, however the fiancé said he's always done that. He doesn't really lay at it but he's been near it more often.
Bandit used to drink a lot when she was in higher numbers. I find she's also very hungry and thirsty at low numbers (say below 60 mg/dl). Are Dexter's kidney values okay?

Is it normal to stress this much when trying to document and get the cat under control?
Very normal. Actually Dexter is doing pretty well. Some cats take much longer to regulate.


Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ambg-152-5-107-10-121-pmbg-91-1-25-93.251134/
 
Good morning, Bandit!

You are on here to answer questions quite a bit haha. :)

I was thinking of adjusting it higher, but, haven't had the ability to buy syringes yet. I think I should just relax until after we get the new food numbers over the next week or so on adjusting dosage.

Every morning now, and my other cat unfortunately has picked up the habit too, he beggggsss for food. They both yell at you until you feed them. I think that's normal cat behavior though? He lounges around after.

I haven't done a kidney test, we are seeing a cat diabetes specialist at the local vet later this month. The local vet is a cat hospital so it should be a lot more specialized in general than the vet we took them to initially.
 
I was thinking of adjusting it higher, but, haven't had the ability to buy syringes yet. I think I should just relax until after we get the new food numbers over the next week or so on adjusting dosage.
Like I said before, Lantus works best for cats when shot twice a day. 1U twice a day may be too much for him. And yes, it would be better to adjust the dose after the food transition. You might still want to get the syringes and try giving 0.5U twice a day (rather than 1U once a day).
 
Right, we've gotta go to walmart and get more test strips anyway so we'll grab those while we're there. After he adjusts to the food over the week, I'll just keep tabs for now and shoot 1U if he's over 100 w/o food. :) Thank you.
 
His PMBG pre-shot was 116.

He had a very odd "curve" today where he remained mostly flat, slightly rose, and then right before PMBG he started plummeting and dropped 50 pts in 2 hours.

I haven't shot yet and assume I'll just be checking his sugar in an hour or two and dosing based on BG level then? I feel 116 is too low to give insulin especially since we just cut ~4-5% extra carbs with the food mix. Thoughts? I'll be back on in 20-30 minutes. Thanks for all the help guys :)

Edit: +1 is 81, withholding for tonight. I really don't know what's going on with the drastic drops at night yet seemingly no curve during the day.
 
Last edited:
It would be interesting to see how low he goes at nights. If you can get another test before bed, you would have an idea of how low 1U once a day is taking him.
The higher numbers you are seeing seeing in the morning/day might be a combination of a bounce from lower numbers + loss of duration.

Good luck with the food change!
 
It would be interesting to see how low he goes at nights. If you can get another test before bed, you would have an idea of how low 1U once a day is taking him.
The higher numbers you are seeing seeing in the morning/day might be a combination of a bounce from lower numbers + loss of duration.

Good luck with the food change!

We plan to test at 10 PM, I suspect he might be getting unfortunately too low.

I will probably stay up an extra hour myself and check once more at 11 PM.
 
OK. Will watch out for the tests :)

He's still dropping. He's at 71 now 2.25 hours after eating. We gave him literally 2 or 3 kibbles extra of the new food.

I am inclined to agree the 1U needs to be split twice daily at this point, however I'll make a decision whether to even give insulin based on his readings in the morning. Losing a lot of extra carbs might bring him below 120mg @ AMBG :)

I'm surprised tbh how quickly he's seemed to respond to food and insulin. I saw a bunch of posts, including your own spreadsheet showing how difficult it can actually be to manage day to day.

Thanks for all the support so far :)
 
Looking at the SS, you would be much better giving 0.5 units twice a day, instead of 1 unit and then having qto skip the other cycle.
I am assuming that is why you are only giving the dose once a day.
Lantus works much better when given twice a day. That gives the depot a chance to fill and stabilise.
 
Looking at the SS, you would be much better giving 0.5 units twice a day, instead of 1 unit and then having qto skip the other cycle.
I am assuming that is why you are only giving the dose once a day.
Lantus works much better when given twice a day. That gives the depot a chance to fill and stabilise.

Absolutely agree, Bandit's Mom also agreed with your statement. We've never used insulin syringes but I read the guide she quoted and will be getting syringes ASAP.
 
He's at 71 now 2.25
Those drops down to 81 and 71 have earned him a reduction in dose.
That works out to 0.75 units ( but if given twice a day and divided by two, the new dose is 0.375 twice a day, which is not possible) so I think I would try 0.25 units twice a day and see how that goes. He is obviously responding to the change in food carbs.

It would be good if you could put what food you are feeding into the remarks column of the SS.
 
Those drops down to 81 and 71 have earned him a reduction in dose.
That works out to 0.75 units ( but if given twice a day and divided by two, the new dose is 0.375 twice a day, which is not possible) so I think I would try 0.25 units twice a day and see how that goes. He is obviously responding to the change in food carbs.

It would be good if you could put what food you are feeding into the remarks column of the SS.

Totally forgot that, thanks for reminding me! We just received it today as well. It's the Dr. Elsey's CleanProtein Chicken Flavor.
 
We've given him a few kibbles with each shot taken just as a treat basically, he's now at 78 and we're gonna call it a night and pick up in the morning.

We're going to purchase syringes from Wally World tomorrow afternoon and I'll start a 0.25U BID dose ASAP. Goodnight, guys!
 
 
Back
Top