Switch to lantus: Do ss #'s look ok?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Twice was just checking out the computer screen. Being very nosy. He thinks Chyna is a very pretty torti girl. But asked me why Bob is sticking his tongue out at him?? lol
 
Since you're probably going to run out of strips tonight, then yes, you'd want to skip the shot in the morning.

You never want to shoot without getting a pre-shot number
 
Haha, thanks, I'm biased but well I think Chyna is pretty too :-D . Ouch, that is pricey. Mine were around $80 for 100 strips, but like you said it depends on where you are, the different pharmacies in my city were different prices from eachother :roll: I got 150 strips on ebay for around $50 once including shipping, just had to keep checking and watch for good deals with decent expiry dates/pricing/shipping cost. And it may not be a concern for you, I'm just babbling on tonight, aren't I, lol.

Definitely skip your morning shot if you can't test ;-)
 
Ha, tell Twice it took me about 25 tries to get that one pic of Bob with his tongue out. I swear he was doing on purpose, like he timed my shutter speed. He kept sticking it out after eating, and I was going for the "action shot" of the tongue in clear view. Next time, I'll try giving him peanut butter or something to slow it down. :lol:
 
OK, I get to use my favorite "Hypo-watch PJ Party" line....

It's about time to play "poke the kitty"! :lol:

Let's see a higher number, Twice.
 
Oh, Carl you just totally cracked me up :lol: Love your dessert quote too. I'm not the only one with multiple shots of the exact same pose within seconds of the last picture?? ohmygod_smile Yes, come on up a bit Twice ;-)
 
Hi Kim, I'm another Canadian just saying "hello". Quite the night tonight. Good to see you are going down in dose already. Without test strips, I'd skip Twice's shot in the morning.

For the Bayer Contour (which is my back up meter), I've found the best price in a store is a London Drugs. They will ship to you for a decent shipping price and I've occasionally seen sales with the price $10 lower. Some people here also buy from a reputable seller on eBay. I'm lucky that I'm close enough to the border than I can get some cheaper Walmart ones with some cross border shopping. One thing you might want to consider is putting together a "hypo" kit with some gravy foods and a spare package of test strips. Then you know you've always got what you need on hand.
 
Thanks Chris. And it would be way to far off his schedule to do a shot later on. I called in to take another day off tomorrow and I'm hitting the city for test strips (plus a pkg for the hypo kit), as well as the hc food. I rechecked the list and should have everything else I need here. Just gotta put it in a nice box in the cupboard and we are set.

Rachel, that is an awesome price and I am definately going to check ebay out!

Carl-That's awesome! lol. I have a dog you would get great pics of. He drops his mouth open in most pictures...looks confused..lol

3.2mmol or 57.6
 
Hmm, hoped it would be higher.

OK, another 2-3 tsps of LC with karo topping?

Do you have a curfew? I mean, at what point does this start to eat into sleep time?
 
Whew..well at least he's headed in the right direction and is above 50...Trust us...at some point he's probably going to bounce, so if you see a 300 (or even higher) tomorrow, don't worry about it

Feed him some more low carb, a few more drops of Karo and retest in an hour

That's going to be your last strip though, right?

Good thing you can call in and take tomorrow off...you're not going to be getting much sleep tonight....Welcome to your first PJ party!!

And where are our manners!! We didn't even offer her a cup of coffee!! ~O) ~O)
 
Hi Wendy. Thanks for checking in on us. Thanks for the tips and the store info. I see you're from BC. Me too until 3 years ago. Kamloops

Carl- ok, just fed and syruped him again. I am usually in bed at 9pm, but I called into work and asked for a holiday tomorrow. I wouldn't be able to sleep tonight anyhow. You guys must all be getting sleepy tho!

Chris- I needed that coffee! Can't remember the last time I ever had a PJ Party, but I'm grateful it is with all of you! I have 2 strips left. I think they must have been stuck together earlier today because I originally thought I had WAY less than I ended up having (used most this am tho as I took the day off to monitor his new insulin). I need to work on my planning skills...
 
I was thinking you now have two strips left? Good. Next one is an hour from now. If he isn't up to 100 by then, I would feed the same thing with karo, and test again in an hour. Let's see where he's at then.

Not sleepy here yet. I'm off tomorrow anyway.


Oh, here's a fresh picture of the Bobster... I took this last night while I was watching the baseball game, and Bob apparently wasn't...
 

Attachments

  • bobtheblob.jpg
    bobtheblob.jpg
    90.3 KB · Views: 1,008
He ate his snack, slower this time. Not so frenzied. Had a small play with my pen and now watching something very interesting out the window (apparently). He is quite active.

Carl- He is so cute! Is he a manx, or just hiding his tail? Looks like he's toasting his belly by a fireplace..lol.
 
RECAP -

PMPS ~ 261 1u
+2 ~ 122
+4 ~ 38 Fed 2 tsps LC
+4.5 fed 10 dry kibbles, and 1 tsp LC with few drops of karo
+5 ~ 43 Fed 2 tsp LC w/ karo
+6 ~ 57 Fed 2 tsp LC w/ karo


Kim, not sure if you fed 2 or 3 tsps each time...
 
I hope you see some higher numbers soon, I'm glad you can have tomorrow off and that he is feeling playful:) Aaaand I totally want to give Bob tummy kisses. cat_pet_icon

I don't know which exact strips you use, but the bayer contour ones I just checked out on ebay were pretty decent priced. I have a little too much experience shopping on ebay.ca :lol:

I have to work in the early ish morning so I'd better go catch some zzzzz's. I have a kitty waiting next to the bed and it's past my bedtime so I hope you all have a good night and that Twice decides to surf at safe numbers :-D
 
Kim,
We always thought he was "part manx". His litter of 5 were all gray and white, three had tails, but two didn't. He has maybe one vertebrae under a puff of fur.

They were feral/barn kittens found a few days old with no momma and covered with fire ants. Bob and one sister, Lillian, ended up staying with us. Lilly had a normal tail. Bob still has scars on his nose from when he was bitten by the ants. He's 14 years old.
 
Well thank goodness for sticky strips!! At least it gives you one extra in case he doesn't come way up by the next test.

I'm always up until at least midnight to get China's +6 at night..I sleep better having that number, especially since I shot a 68 tonight and she likes to occasionally throw me a curve ball. If I get a number I'm concerned with, I'll set my alarm to make sure I'm up to get another test. Once you've been doing this dance awhile, you'll get to the point where you can "ghost test"...You'll wake up, poke, test and enter the number into your spreadsheet and only have the proof on your meter and your spreadsheet that you did it...LOL

Since you have Carl and Wendy to sit with you, I think I'm going to go find some soup. I'm fighting the flu and had meant to check back with you earlier since I'd told you to get those tests due to the drop at +2, but laid down for "a minute" and snoozed off.

This message board is wonderful though, and like I promised, when you post that 911, you'll usually get someone's attention pretty quick...I'm so thankful Carl was browsing the forums!

May check back in later, but if not, will see you tomorrow (later today) and see how Twice is doing...I'm pretty sure he's on his way up now, and I know that at least one of us will stay with you until you feel comfortable going to bed. That's a promise we make to someone...we don't leave unless we have secured someone to take over for us and continue holding your hand.

You did GREAT tonight Kim!! Give yourself a little pat on the back and know that you did what you needed to do, and have gained a lot of knowledge in a short time. :-D
 
Kim & Twice said:
Goodnight Rachel and Chyna. Thanks for being with us.

Carl-I gave him 2 tsps with the syrup each time.

OK, good. It's just good to keep track for "future reference" so you can see what works for him. When you buy the H/C food, you would use that instead. It's good because you can sometimes just give the tsps of gravy, which is where the carbs are supposed to be for the most part. That boosts the numbers without filling the belly in case you have to do this every 30 minutes for several hours.
 
Oh those poor kittens! So glad you found them. Bob looks like he could stand up to a fire ant now! We actually have had a real issue here with stray kitties and lots of litters. We are in a community of about 50 people and the thinking is very old fashioned when it comes to animal care. So Terry and I are in the process of catching, spaying/neutering, and releasing. I wish we could find homes for all of them, or any of them really, but until then we feed them, built shelters, and are hoping they can live a decent life without having anymore babies. I know you can't save the world. And there will always be more. But you do what you can for who and what you can.

I'm babbling.
 
Forgive me for popping in but I think if you don't have strips, you need to get the numbers way up. The karo will wear off and so I'd be giving him HC food/gravy and abort this cycle. You can add the karo too the HC food but I'd be afraid with just using LC, the karo will wear off and he won't be high enough to stay there.

The goal is to not worry about how high you get him tonight.....just get him up there. :-D
 
That's awesome that you and Terry do that! We used to do a lot of wildlife rehab. And just about every cat I've ever had has been some sort of "misfit" or castaway.
 
Thanks again Chris. Go get yourself healed up. I really appreciate all of everyone's support tonight.
Carl- That's smart about the gravy. I can see how Twice is starting to fill up a bit. So next time (heaven forbid) I will make sure to have the gravy stuff.
 
Marje...she didn't have any High carb...we were kind of hoping he'd be higher by now, especially with the lack of strips.

She's going shopping in the morning...aren't you Kim? :-D

Goodnight Kim...and you really are doing fine....and there will be a "next time"....but each time it will get easier for you...we promise
 
Wildlife rehab would be an experience! Yes, I find that the most lovable bunch is the misfit bunch. You find out you needed them as much as they needed you.

Hi Marje. I was sadly ill prepared and have no hc food left in the house. I am correcting my deficiency first thing in the morning. Not going to let this happen again without the proper items at hand.
 
There's the bump we have been waiting for!

OK, give me a minute to put together your "options"... but you can feed him if he's hungry.
 
OK, you have one test strip left.

AMPS is only 5 hours away.

There's a good chance he'll stay this high or go even higher at this point. Nothing wrong with that. This is the food he's consumed and more than likely, a "bounce" from going as low as he did.

If you want to shoot at AMPS -
You can leave out a bit of dry food so that if he gets hungry, he can snack on it while you are sleeping.
Then you could get a few hours sleep, get up for his AMPS test, use your last strip, and feed him.
If you do give him a shot, you would want to reduce the dose to .75u. Do your syringes have half unit marks so you can eyeball .75u?
After giving the shot and feeding, go to town and pick up strips and HC and anything else you need. Maybe a couple cups of coffee?
And when you get home, test him.

If you don't feel comfortable leaving out food and going to bed -
You could test him in another hour. If his number is higher, then you can go to bed, leave out dry.
But then you would most likely want to skip the shot in the AM because you wouldn't be able to test him.
If, in an hour, the number is lower, you'd have to repeat what you've been doing....LC and karo. But you wouldn't be able to get more tests until you go get some strips.

What do you feel is the best way to go?
 
Wendy, Marje, Chris, or anyone else....

If I missed an option or two, please post them?


Also, Kim,
Now that you've had your "trial by fire", please think about posting in the Lantus Tight Regulation forum. Everyone there is familiar with the insulin. The biggest benefit to posting there is that there is usually someone there 24/7. You are sure to catch experienced eyes when you need them.
 
I honestly don't know enough to know what is best to do. I know that from his past two drops, he has continued to rise...but that doesn't really mean alot this early in the game. His attitude during the whole thing tonight was good (but cats are good at hiding stuff). So my gut feeling says he will contimue to rise, but my brain says that is not necessarily the case. I could stay up and feed him again in one hour, I will be up anyways. I could watch him for any changes.
I guess I am wondering what skipping a dose will do to this whole process. I would love to take more time off work until I am more comfortable with everything, but that is not likely an option. So if skipping a dose sets him back as opposed to giving the .75 in the am, I would rather do the latter. I do know I can stay up and set the alarm to monitor him visually. What would you suggest is the wisest course? I realize there is no right answer (due to my negligence), but am I wrong to think he should get his morning amps and shot?

I will def post in the tight reg forum!
 
Personally, I think not skipping the shot is the best way to go. He hasn't been on Lantus long enough for a "skip" to cause a huge setback or anything. But as long as you can keep insulin working in him 24 hours a day, that's what you would like to do.

It's likely that you'll see a higher number at AMPS. But if you skip in the AM, then it's likely he'd continue to go higher all day until tomorrow night's shot.

If you feel more comfortable staying up and keeping an eye on him, I can certainly understand that, Kim. But given one strip, and two options, I'd probably save the strip for the morning test. If you stay up and continue to feed him, he's not likely to drop in numbers at all. But that would mean no sleep for you, which is not a great thing.
 
I think you got it pretty well covered Carl

The only thing I'd add is IF you have the strip in the morning at AMPS time, you do not want to shoot if he's under 200 (but I doubt if there's much chance of that)...the kibble you gave him earlier has had time to get into his bloodstream too and probably helped bring that number up...along with a lot of sugar in the form of Karo

Kim, since you've just started the Lantus, skipping the shot isn't going to do any damage. You'd just start over counting days at the dose (but you're going to be doing that anyway because you're shooting a new dose) but if you have the strip at AMPS time, I agree that if he's over 200, you should give the .75 and head to the store as soon as you can and then test when you get home.

Twice has been high for quite some time..another 12 hours or more isn't going to make any difference in the grand scheme of things. We'd rather he was too high for a day, than too low for a minute...as you've learned tonight.

I think I'd leave a little kibble out just in case, and go on to bed....set your alarm to check on him later if it makes you feel more comfortable.
 
Thank you Carl. For everything tonight. You are a wonderful, supportive man and Bob's a very lucky kitty to have you. I like the idea of giving the last test in the morning so I can keep him on a schedule. That data may come in handy for the future. I will continue feeding and watching him tonight and set an alarm to catch some quick zzz's in between. I'm good with that.

Have a great sleep tonight! You really deserve it!
 
You sure you're good? Like Chris mentioned earlier, once somebody jumps in to help, we're here till you tell us we're done.

You did wonderfully tonight with all of this, Kim. Chris mentioned a couple of times "next time this happens....".
Well, I won't tell you it won't happen again. But I will tell you it never happened with me while Bob was on insulin. I didn't use the same insulin, or the TR protocol. But I never had to stay up all night with Bob in low numbers. So yes, at some point, you're going to see a number under 50. But next time, it won't cause you as much stress. You'll see how Twice responds to food, and you'll be able to deal with lower numbers more easily. And a month from now, it'll be you doing what me and Chris and everyone else did tonight. It'll be some new member seeing a 40 or below for the first time, and you'll be able to walk them through it.
 
I promise I'm good. Thanks to everyone's efforts and support tonight. I honestly don't know what I would have gone through mentally if I had never found this place. It is truly amazing what people will do for each other and for their love of animals. I am proud to be a member here and I am truly excited that the experiences I am going through with learning all of this, will help me to help others. This place and its people are a blessing.
Goodnight and sweet dreams to you all.
 
OK, try to get some sleep tonight. I'll check back tomorrow for Twice's next adventure. ;-)
 
Wonderful info! I'm going to check it out right now.
Update on Twice. He got up to pick at his food all night, so needless to say, he is full and not eating this morning. Because of this I have not given him his insulin as I can't be positive when he last ate. I think it was after the 3am check...but not sure...I was pretty out of it. I know it was between alarms, just not which alarms. His bg is 22.9.
 
At that high (412), I would go ahead and give the .75 Kim

He's got enough food in him to last awhile I'm sure...and if you did leave kibble down and he nibbled on it, that's going to keep his BG up (but if you haven't taken it up yet, you need to go ahead and get it.) You can always leave some LC food down before you leave to go shopping....he's shown he'll eat if his numbers do happen to drop
 
Welcome Kim & Twice! Just read this post, and wanted to say, Good Job and with limited supplies! :-D :-D

It is so true that you will never feel alone - you had wonderful people with you last night.

Hope tonight is not as exciting for you :lol:

Jane
 
Since you're now officially on Lantus, come on over to the Lantus Board today. Of course you may continue to post in Health if you like, but on the Lantus board, you'll get the advice of many of us who've been using it for awhile

Each day, you do one post, and edit the Subject line along the way (we call the posts "condo's")

You'd start today's with 10/21 Twice AMPS 412 in the subject line, and as you get more tests, you'd add that info by editing that first subject line again. In the body of the condo, we want to hear the WCR (Whole Cat Report)

How's he feeling? Appetite good? 5 P's in place? (Purring, preening, playing, peeing, pooping) as well as any questions you have. Add the ? icon to that first post if you do have a question in your condo that day and it'll help everyone know you have a question.

Great job last night and I hope you can get a nap in today. I'm sure you need it!!
 
Hi Kim! I didn't want to jump in last night since you were dealing with low numbers, but I just had to say hello since I think you're geographically the closest Canuck I've seen here yet - I'm in Winnipeg but I'm from Roblin originally (just the other side of the SK/MB border straight east of Yorkton). So hello and welcome! You did great with the low numbers last night. I know someone suggested you could start to post in Lantus Tight Regulation so hopefully I'll see you over there :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top