Sweet Kitty and Sally (Dog) update! 1/20

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
Good Morning.....Since it apppears that I am not early enough to make the breakfast club, maybe I can start a "brunch" club!

I realize this is a cat board, but I need somewhere to discuss Sally (dog)....somewhere that people will listen and care! So, unless someone objects.......

Sally went back to the Vet School yesterday for an ultrasound and bloodwork. The bloodwork had mixed results, the pancreas values were improved, but the liver values are significantly worse. Evidently, it is "normal" to have some elevated liver values with severe pancreatitis. Her liver values had doubled in three days--in the wrong direction. They were concerned that her bile duct was blocked and that surgery would be needed to insert a stint. But, at this time, it appears that there is no obstruction and that the elevated liver values are the result of severe inflamation. We have seen 5 vets in a week and all say that Sally was near death and that it is surprising that she has survived. She is now on 12 medications, taken at 7 different time intervals. She still is eating very little. Her BG was 159 this morning...I am having a hard time shooting insulin into these low numbers, especially without an actively eating dog. I am reducing her dose and hoping for the best..so far, so good. She goes back on Monday for additional bloodwork. By the way, I thought that I asked you to pray for my pocketbook!!!!!! If you could, please step it up a little in this area!!!

One thing that I have found very positive about my experience with Sally and the Vet School is their approach to diabetes. My local vet heavily discouraged hometesting and most everything this FD board advocates, but the vet school is quiet the opposite. The vet took my meter yesterday and checked it against theirs and "volunteered" to let me do Sally's glucose curves at home and email the results to her. The vet actually said that the curves at home were better, due to the elimination of stress (something we all know, but something that I have not had a vet admit). So, it has been great to FINALLY find a vet that supports hometesting and proper diabetes management. Who knows, maybe Kitty now has a "New" vet!

So, Sally is not out of the woods yet...but, she is home and I am managing the best that I can. Hopefully, Monday, we will get better news on the liver values. She is experiencing quiet a bit of jaundice.

Now, to Sweet Kitty......189 amps....waited 30 mins and retested 224. Fed and shot 3 units!!! She is doing great!

Thanks for listening and giving me somewhere to "talk" about Sally. Maybe in her sickness, there will be something that I can learn that will help us all understand Ptitis better. I still find it hard to believe that I have two sugar pets....but, it is true!

Wishing everyone a good day from Kittyville......
 
good morning Kim,kitty and sally :YMHUG:


so glad cool kitty is doing so good , and of course no one minds you talk about Sally , I was doing some reading on this and do you test Sally on her lip ?? ( inside of mouth) how does she like the testing ?? you are such a wonderful caregiver Kim and kitty and sally are very lucky to have you as their moma ;-) I have said exta prayers for your pocketbook but I don't think he is listening cause I've been praying for mine for years with no luck :lol: fingers and paws crossed for kim , kitty, and sally :YMHUG:


callie an marty :smile:
 
I for one don't have a problem with you posting here about Sally, we will want updates on her too. Hope & Baby posted in your other thread a link to a good Canine Diabetes board. We can share you with them but don't even think about leaving us.

Nice update from kittyville. Go Ms. Cool Kitty.

Sending more prayers for Sweet Sally to make a swift recovery.

And healing vines for your pocketbook.
 
Kim,
I am just happy to see you posting again!
Sally can stay as long as she promises not to drool in my beer....
Hugs,
Carl
 
All I can say is Kim, you are amazing. Good on ya for being so awesome with all the veterinary craziness.
:YMHUG:
 
Oh Kim, why would you even ask
please keep us informed and I am praying for her,
now...Go miss kitty! so happy she is doing so well!
 
Kim,
It's great to see you posting again, but I am sorry for the circumstances. Sometimes, when I see Audrey drinking, I'll panic and think, "I can't possibly deal with 2 sugar kitties". And they are siblings, so I supposed the chances are higher that she could develop diabetes. At least, everything that's wrong with me, the doctor says is hereditary.

Glad Kitty is doing well. Let's hope Sally will be soon.
 
Poopy and I are keeping our fingers and paws crossed for Sally. :smile:

Poopy offered to do a wallet dance for you but said it would cost me. Sorry, but I had to pass. I can't even find my wallet after Poopy's Dx dance! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top