Suzy 6/22 try again question

babysittercats

Member Since 2020
Hi, I posted a similar question before and the responses totally got off topic from my original question. My girl is fairly consistently going from 400's in the morning to about 200 in the afternoon to 400's at night. I am trying to understand what bouncing is and whether it means I should up her dose because she is going so high and really she could go a little lower too or if I need to lower her dose because she is bouncing? Thanks!
 
Here is the link to your last post here, for continuity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/suzy-6-19-dosing-bouncing.231226/

To answer your question specifically - you don't do anything different because of bouncing. Bouncing is extremely common for newly diagnosed cats, and even some cats that have been on insulin for quite a while. What bouncing tells you is that her body is reacting to seeing numbers lower than she is used to. It doesn't mean they are unsafe numbers. Though they could be. We determine how to change the Lantus dose primarily based on how low the dose is taking the cat.

The reason that post "got off topic" is that people were trying to find out how low the current dose is taking your cat. Those nadirs, and the dosing method you are following, tells you how and when you need to change the dose. We really can't help you decide what to do with the dose unless we know which dosing method you'd like to follow.

For example, on 6/12, you saw a 57. If you were following SLGS, you would reduce the dose to 1.75 units. If you were following TR, you would keep the dose after than low. But unless you can get more tests after PMPS, you should stick with SLGS for dosing, which means a reduction.
 
Hi, I posted a similar question before and the responses totally got off topic from my original question. My girl is fairly consistently going from 400's in the morning to about 200 in the afternoon to 400's at night. I am trying to understand what bouncing is and whether it means I should up her dose because she is going so high and really she could go a little lower too or if I need to lower her dose because she is bouncing? Thanks!
Hi! I see Wendy replied to you, I was going to also ask what method you were following also, TR or SLGS. It helps others give advice when we know which one you’re following since you’re a little different.
My kitty was very bouncy in the beginning too and eventually he stopped bouncing. Others told me, cats bounce until the don’t anymore:facepalm:
 
Bouncing happens when a kitty’s BG drops too fast, too low or lower than it is used to.
When this happens the kitty thinks it has to save itself, so dumps stored glucose and counter regulatory hormones into the system which sends the BG up high. Bounces can last from 1 to 6 cycles and once a bounce has started there is nothing you can do but wait it out.
Most newly diagnosed cats have had high BGs for a while and their bodies think that the higher BGs are now normal. So when the BG drops they panic and think they have to save themselves. Hence the dumping of the glucose and hormones into the system.
The more times kitty can be in normal or lower numbers, the more used to them he will get and the bouncing should hopefully slow down.. Bouncing is completely normal for diabetic cats to do.

Looking at your SS I would suggest you try and get some tests in during the pm cycle. It is just as important as the am cycle and cats often drop lower at night. Suzy could be dropping quite low at night and bouncing up high at AMPS.

For example on the 6/12 the PMPS was 538 and the +2 was 298. That is a drop of 240 points. That would be a big red flag to me that she is going to have an active cycle and I need to keep testing. You did get a +3 which had dropped further to 252 but no further tests. I would think she dropped lower and by morning had bounces up to 465 at AMPS.
We know the 2 units is working as 10 days ago she got 57@+10. If you are following SLGS you would get a reduction. Have you chosen a method yet to follow?

I would get some tests in during the pm cycles every cycle to see how low she’s going.
 
First of all when you say newly diagnosed please define 1 month 1 year what? ;)

I know nothing about the two different methods especially when used as acronyms. I'm just doing the best I can with my schedule and nobody to help me.
 
Those descriptions of the dosing methods are way too detailed. Thus over my head and overwhelming.

I can't test every few hours on any kind of consistent basis so if that is a requirement for the one method that's out.
 
TR requires you test 4 times a day at a minimum, two preshots plus two others, one in each cycle. If that's too much for you, then follow SLGS that requires the two preshots and a curve every week. The curve is testing every 2 hours for 12 hours, or testing every 3 hours for 18 hours.

Tonight's drop from 552 to 296 is HUGE. It will cause a bounce. If she keeps dropping that quickly, she could be in dangerous numbers soon. If you can't test again in a couple hours, make sure she has lots of food out to keep her safe tonight. You might want to do that reduction to 1.75 units.
 
I have no way to do a curve every week. I usually get at least 4 tests a day but not always at the same time if that matters (the two preshots are generally the same but the other two times). I guess that means I'm doing TR. Are their advantages or disadvantages of either? It looks like right now pretty consistently she's between 4 and 500 at her aim shot those down to between 150 and 250 and Then backup to between 4 and 500 by her PM shot. Any further thoughts?
 
I usually get at least 4 tests a day but not always at the same time if that matters (the two preshots are generally the same but the other two times)

The "other" times (not the Pre-Shots) should be at different times. Maybe 1 day at +5, another day at +6, another day at +7 during the AM cycle and at least a "before bed" test on the PM cycle before you go to bed. I don't know how soon you go to bed after shooting, but usually people can get a +2 or +3 at least.
 
If you are following TR, Suzy needs an increase to 2.25 units. The goal with TR is to eventually them spending as much time between 50 and 100 as possible. Take a look at Chris’s China’s spreadsheet. She was very tightly regulated. TR allows you to increase faster than SLGS and you reduce at lower points, but since it is a more aggressive dosing method, you do need to test more than you do with SLGS, for safety.
 
thats my problem I don't feel like I can do all of either method... I am very hesitant to increase too fast especially because I can't test a lot of the time.
 
If you are following SLGS, she earned a reduction down to 1.75 units today with that 73. If you can't test going forward at least 4 times a day, maybe it'd be better to try SLGS and take the reduction. Better be safe.
 
Back
Top