Emily & Mr. Howell
Member Since 2011
Hi, a little background about myself and Mr. H. I'm a recent college grad, adopted Mr. H. from the humane society about 3 years ago, they told me he was probably 7. The first few months I had him he was fine, later I went on vacation and when I returned he had been flung into diabetes through stress. I treated him with insulin (Lantus) for about a year when he honeymooned. Back in April I noticed he was urinating a lot so I purchased a BG machine and he was spiked at 450. I started him back on two units of insulin twice daily (what he was on before he honeymooned) and put him back on his old diabetic food diet.
Since about June I noticed he was urinating a lot, and his BG fluctuates between 220-550, mostly in the 300-400 range. I know that is ridiculously high. I increased his insulin (SLOWLY, over a few days) to 4 units twice daily, and he is still not getting below 444. I am beginning to suspect insulin resistance. I have a few different vials of Lantus, so I know at least one of the insulins has to be good. I just bought ketone strips to test his urine but haven't had success getting a sample yet. He is acting as normal as ever, which is to say he sleeps a lot but he is still on his normal schedule (i.e. scratches at the door in the morning, eats the same amount, still able to jump onto the high bar stools in the kitchen). I am paranoid that he is 'wobbly' when he gets up but he could just be waddling because he's fat.
I did some of the tests to see if he is dehydrated, and despite the fact he is peeing a lot, he is not obsessive about water like he was when he was first diagnosed.
Needless to say, if I could have taken him to the vet months ago I would have. I already have this guilt riding on my shoulders, but I lost my job and don't know what else to say, other than please help with some advice.
Since about June I noticed he was urinating a lot, and his BG fluctuates between 220-550, mostly in the 300-400 range. I know that is ridiculously high. I increased his insulin (SLOWLY, over a few days) to 4 units twice daily, and he is still not getting below 444. I am beginning to suspect insulin resistance. I have a few different vials of Lantus, so I know at least one of the insulins has to be good. I just bought ketone strips to test his urine but haven't had success getting a sample yet. He is acting as normal as ever, which is to say he sleeps a lot but he is still on his normal schedule (i.e. scratches at the door in the morning, eats the same amount, still able to jump onto the high bar stools in the kitchen). I am paranoid that he is 'wobbly' when he gets up but he could just be waddling because he's fat.
I did some of the tests to see if he is dehydrated, and despite the fact he is peeing a lot, he is not obsessive about water like he was when he was first diagnosed.
Needless to say, if I could have taken him to the vet months ago I would have. I already have this guilt riding on my shoulders, but I lost my job and don't know what else to say, other than please help with some advice.