Sushi with 16.7 at PMPS! HELP!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sushi The Cat

Member Since 2015
Hi Guys!!

@Squalliesmom is being my mentor in this feline diabetic journey, but I am not sure when she'll be around and I need some help, please!
Sushi has been eating small bits for 2 hours now, since I arrived from work. He only wants to eat in the morning and in the evening now and he has been so fussy and lost weight so I just let him do his thing. I poked him at PMPS and he was with 13.4. I fed him, waited 15 mins and poked him again. he was with 16.7 still. He ate almost 2/3 of a lily's kitchen tray.
What shall I do??? After the hypo (Thread "Regrouping Sushi after hypo") he lost weight, hasn't been eating well and we had to reduce his dosage.
I can't give him his insulin, can I??? It is too low!

Thanks in advance!!

P.S. - If you read my other thread, I apologise in advance for the meltdown somewhere there but I had a rough week... :rolleyes:
 
16.7 is 300 in US numbers and totally safe to shoot

I'm no expert with Caninsulin, but I'd shoot the 1.5U dose you've been shooting...looks like it would be a safe dose

If you're concerned, you can always get a +1 and +2 so if he does start to dive, you can intervene early
 
Thank you much for your quick help @Chris & China !!

But that dose was tailored for a number between 500-600 at nadir... With 2.00 he was already pretty close to hypo and he actually had one.
He never ever had such a low number! Specially because he ate really well today!

Can you see what I mean by his spreadsheet??

:bighug:
 
When I talk to the vet this week, we really have to discuss what to do with Sushi, because clearly the caninsulin doesn't seem to be working that well for Sushi...
 
First..."nadir" is the LOWEST point in the cycle ;)

I looked at his spreadsheet before replying....Since you're using the AlphaTrak, we'd like to see him be able to drop from 300 to about 150 at nadir (which is a very safe number)

On the AT, we don't really panic until they drop below 68 unless Sushi is very sensitive. I haven't had time to go back through all your information, but was he showing signs of hypo when he dropped to 86? Would be unusual, but not unheard of
 
Oh no! You can't see the hypo! It was in the 15/11! I have 2 numbers at the same square! He got to 54 at +4! And then I gave honey and fed him higher carb food went up well...
He was completely lethargic and wasn't moving!
 
If shooting the 1.5 makes you nervous, you can shoot a lower dose!!

All of this is a learning experience for all of us...You shoot what you think is best for your cat and test....and learn a little more each time so the "next time" you're faced with the same kind of decisions, you learn from what happened before!!

That's why it's good to keep good data on the spreadsheet (like you are)....Gradually you learn to shoot lower numbers so you get even better numbers!!
 
He is now with 22.4, which a solid 400. It is 1h later than usual and I am pretty sure he is not going to eat much more today, so I am going to give him 1.0 unit. Just because he was really low at the usual PMPS even with eating really well... That will make me much more confortable...
It seems that his numbers are much lower with less insulin even though they are not that regulated... Can you understand my point, Sweetie??
 
Absolutely!! We each do what we think is best for our own cats!! We can ask for opinions, but in the end, we're the ones that have to make the final decisions (and live with the consequences!)

As I said before...shoot what you're comfortable with this time...."Next time", maybe you'll have enough confidence to shoot when Sushi is a little lower! :)
 
clearly the caninsulin doesn't seem to be working that well for Sushi..

I wish you the best of luck with your discussion!! It's a shame that the UK requires people to start on Caninsulin when there's so much proof available that says it's not that great for cats but if you can prove it's not working well for Sushi, they should be willing to let you try a better insulin like Lantus

You've done your "duty"....you've tried it...it's not working....they should be willing to switch or you may need to find another vet
 
My vet already said that if we can't make it work for Sushi, we will try something else... She was very honest with me and said that her only reserve was that they are just more experienced with caninsulin... That is all. I think we were able to establish a great relationship! :)

Again... Thank you so much for your help and your support! I don't know what I would do without all you Sushi's honorary "Aunts and Uncles" Angels that look after the both of us...
:bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top