Jennifer and Porky
Member Since 2009
Hi everyone -
I wasn't sure where to post this, so here goes...
This is about Peanut, my sister's diabetic cat. A little background info first....my sister has been estranged from the family for more than 8 years, and we were just notified that she passed away last week - suicide. So, not only is that difficult, but she left behind 14 cats to care for. She named an ex-boyfriend executor of her will, and she has financially arranged for their care, and the ex-BF has agreed to take care of them, whether it be finding good homes for them or adopting them all. I don't envy his task - but I am also not prepared to assist with this, for many, many reasons.
In her information on the cats, she mentioned that Peanut was diabetic, and on 2 units of Lantus BID. From what we can determine, he has been diabetic for at least two years, but I have no other information on his previous dosing, curves done at the vet, etc. - I don't even know what vet she used! I do know that she was not home testing - no evidence of that. She had someone feeding her cats for at least a few days, but I'm almost certain that Peanut got no insulin for around a week.
We were able to get into her apt. yesterday, and Peanut finally came out of hiding. I brought my kit with me and tested him - his BG was 409! I gave him two units of Lantus at around 7 pm. I instructed the ex-BF on shooting and testing - he was able to give the shot this morning, but was unsuccessful at testing. Sigh - at least it's a start!
He did report to me that Peanut perked up around 2 hours after his shot, and was back to his usual, grumpy self today. That's good news - he was very lethargic yesterday.
All of her 14 cats are eating Purina 1 dry food - I think at this point, it will be nearly impossible to get Peanut on a diabetic-friendly diet.
So... I guess i just wanted to vent on the situation, and maybe get some ideas on managing it better? I'm a little nervous about his 2 units BID, but apparently that's been his dose for a while, and since he's eating dry food, I'm not that nervous about it, I guess. I talked to the ex-BF about getting a curve at home, or at least some data - then we'll get a picture of where he's at.
I wasn't sure where to post this, so here goes...
This is about Peanut, my sister's diabetic cat. A little background info first....my sister has been estranged from the family for more than 8 years, and we were just notified that she passed away last week - suicide. So, not only is that difficult, but she left behind 14 cats to care for. She named an ex-boyfriend executor of her will, and she has financially arranged for their care, and the ex-BF has agreed to take care of them, whether it be finding good homes for them or adopting them all. I don't envy his task - but I am also not prepared to assist with this, for many, many reasons.
In her information on the cats, she mentioned that Peanut was diabetic, and on 2 units of Lantus BID. From what we can determine, he has been diabetic for at least two years, but I have no other information on his previous dosing, curves done at the vet, etc. - I don't even know what vet she used! I do know that she was not home testing - no evidence of that. She had someone feeding her cats for at least a few days, but I'm almost certain that Peanut got no insulin for around a week.
We were able to get into her apt. yesterday, and Peanut finally came out of hiding. I brought my kit with me and tested him - his BG was 409! I gave him two units of Lantus at around 7 pm. I instructed the ex-BF on shooting and testing - he was able to give the shot this morning, but was unsuccessful at testing. Sigh - at least it's a start!
He did report to me that Peanut perked up around 2 hours after his shot, and was back to his usual, grumpy self today. That's good news - he was very lethargic yesterday.
All of her 14 cats are eating Purina 1 dry food - I think at this point, it will be nearly impossible to get Peanut on a diabetic-friendly diet.
So... I guess i just wanted to vent on the situation, and maybe get some ideas on managing it better? I'm a little nervous about his 2 units BID, but apparently that's been his dose for a while, and since he's eating dry food, I'm not that nervous about it, I guess. I talked to the ex-BF about getting a curve at home, or at least some data - then we'll get a picture of where he's at.