Sunny's Canned Food Epiphany

Status
Not open for further replies.

jrlepage

Member Since 2011
[This is a long post so for those without time to read: Long story short, we discovered Dr. Lisa's website at catinfo.org (especially see the diabetes link) and by switching our diabetic cat from dry Purina DM to canned food we have reduced him from 5.5 units of Lantus twice a day to 0.5 units twice a day, and from BG of low-to-mid 200's to a BG of 82 last night before his shot.]

Hello everyone, our 9-year old, 19 pound kitty Sunny was diagnosed with DM about 18 months ago, and while I briefly poked around here a year ago, I didn't post or spend much time because Sunny's clinical symptoms have been fairly well-regulated. However, his BG has not been until recently, hence my reason for wanting to share what we learned.

Sunny has been a dry food addict all his life, and has a ravenous appetite. Prior to being diagnosed, he often would cry through the night for food and being ignorant (and wanting to sleep), we would throw more dry food in his bowl. He also tended to cry after eating for a minute or so, either from eating too fast or because he was still hungry. When he ate, he would scarf it down like his life depended on it. Aside from his eating habits, however, Sunny was a happy, go-lucky kitty who loved to play and snuggle.

Then 18-months ago, Sunny started showing signs of the "3 P's" (polydispia, polyphagia, polyuria) to the point that we'd have to change the litter every couple of days. He would drink for 10 min and then play with his water, and his appetite was more ravenous than ever. At this point, we got him tested and his BG was in the high 300’s. Liver enzymes were slightly elevated from hepatic lipidosis, but he wasn't passing ketones.

Our vet started Sunny on 1U of Lantus BID, and we followed up four weeks later for a BG curve done at the vet's office. His numbers were still very high (mid to high 200's and low 300's) so we increased to 2U Lantus BID. Sadly, our vet is against home BG monitoring, and gave us the impression that those who home tested were cuckoo or going overboard. Her reasoning was she'd "rather have your cat hate us than you." The vet prescribed dry Purina DM, which we have been feeding him until recently.

As an aside, Sunny is an *awful* patient at the vet's office, to the point that he has to be sedated to have almost anything done. We're talking full-on "Exorcist" growling, hissing and biting. When Sunny's symptoms didn't resolve with 2U of Lantus, I decided that the trauma to him of going to the vet wasn't worth it, and was surely throwing off the BG results, so I got a home meter and did occasional testing (though not nearly enough). I gradually increased Sunny's dose up to 5.5U BID, at which point his outward symptoms stopped but his BG was still in the high 100's at nadir.

At this point I called the vet and she was shocked that I had gone up so high on the insulin, and told me to absolutely go no higher. She said that if his urination and drinking were okay and he wasn't losing weight, then to just keep doing what we were doing. So for about a year Sunny has stayed at 5.5U Lantus BID, eating Purina DM dry, with moderately high BG but no symptoms. Knowing what I do now, I am kicking myself for not digging deeper into the root of his problem, and allowing him to sustain whatever long-term damage he has from the high BG.

THE EPIPHANY:
We had a scary experience a few weeks ago that could have been tragic, but luckily has a happy ending. My wife and I went out of town for 4 days and left Sunny and his sister Cloud with my wife's parents, along with the insulin (having given them a crash course on injecting), as well as CANNED food. This was a pure happenstance, because we were out of dry food and happened to have a case of canned Purina DM that we had bought months ago but never used. Being ignorant about the much lower carb content of canned food, we left instructions to feed 1.5 cans per day and give his usual 5.5U of Lantus BID.

Those of you who know better are probably cringing at this point... Well, 3 days into our trip, we got a panicky phone call from my mother-in-law saying that Sunny had had a seizure. Thank GOD they had the resourcefulness to Google his symptoms and got him to eat treats and dry food. The seizure only lasted about 5 min and he recovered quickly. Within 30 minutes he was bright, alert and responsive. We were thoroughly confused (I actually thought they may have hit a vein while injecting), but told them to hold off on giving any more insulin until we got back the next day. confused_cat

At this point, I stumbled onto Dr. Lisa Pierson's AMAZING website at catinfo.org and learned about the nutritional content of dry versus canned food. After reading her entire site, I was dumbfounded that our vet (at a clinic ONLY for cats) A) prescribed dry food with so much carbs, and B) discouraged home BG monitoring. Three days ago we started Sunny on canned Purina DM (we will probably switch to Wellness brand, but had this on-hand), this time decreasing his insulin, and the results have been absolutely staggering. :-D

Three days ago we gave 2U Lantus BID (down from 5.5), fed 1.5 cans of Purina DM, and a very small amount of dry food mixed in (maybe 1/8 cup total for the day). I was still trying to get blood from him and didn't succeed, so I don't have values from the first two days. On day two, I dropped down to 1U Lantus BID to be extra careful, and did the same feeding regimen. He actually had around 10 Whisker Lickins' also that day (in addition to the 1.5 cans of food and 1/8 cup dry food) as I tried to test his BG. I finally got the hang of where to stick his ear (and went freehand with the lancet instead of using the pen) and his BG read 82 at PMPS. :mrgreen:

We are ecstatic! This is a cat who we couldn't get much under 200 mg/dL even with 5.5U of Lantus, and with just a couple of days on canned food he was under 100 with only 1 unit of insulin. I decreased his dose to 0.5 units this morning (again, to play it safe) and because his AMPS reading this morning was 74!! (Note that he hasn't had any signs of hypoglycemia the past two days and we've been watching closely.) Today I'm going to try and get a +3 and +6 hour BG in addition to AMPS and PMPS. Will probably keep him at 0.5U BID for a few days and if his numbers stay low, come off the insulin completely while continuing to monitor. We will also focus on safely reducing Sunny's weight.

Long story short, if you are new here and feeding dry food, PLEASE read Dr. Lisa Pierson's website about feline nutrition and consider your cat's diet with just as much care as you give to their insulin. She gives an excellent (in my opinion), scientifically-sound argument for why canned food is superior to dry (not just for diabetic cats) both in terms of *much* lower carb content and increased water content for kidney health. It makes so much sense reading about the feline diet in the wild as obligate carnivores, and makes me furious at cat food companies who deceive us by marketing ingredients that seem healthy from a human standpoint (grains, veggies, etc.) but aren't part of a cat's natural diet! I will be forever in debt to Dr. Pierson for opening our eyes about feline nutrition!! We are thinking about switching to a homemade, meat diet once Sunny is stable.

P.S. I've started a Google spreadsheet for Sunny (same template that many others here use) and will add a link to my signature after I take a few more BG readings. What a great way to track your cat's progress!!
 
I will let you know that once getting Sunny off the dry food his weight should actually go down if it needs to.

With dry he was filling himself with virtually peanut butter (no moisture) and air. Add to the the 'candy' coating to get cats to eat it...

He will eat more canned at first- mainly because he is used to eating a lot, unregulated, and still starving. (My cat woke me up every 2 hours at night for food- ALL night long!!!)

Once his body realizes that the food he is now eating is more nutritiously dense (the yummy stuff instead of the crappy stuff) he will stop eating so much. (Sneakers only wakes me up once during the night and more and more frequently doesn't even do that.)

Then once he gets used to eating the proper amount for a regulated kitty you should find that his weight is in a much better range- not too fat, not too thin, and his coat is silky, shiny, and extremely pet-able.

And his poop will be better :lol: . Bear in mind it might stink to high heaven until the dry is all out of his system. But on the raw Sneakers had light tan poop that only smelled for an hour or two, on fancy feast/sophisticats it would be stinky enough for five hours, and on Merricks before grain it only stinks for about 2. So it does depend on the quality of canned food you feed as to how long the smell lasts...

And I will warn you- we do talk poop here. The 5 P's for a kitty- peeing, pooping, purring, preening, playing. And if Sunny has all 5 of those he is a happy kitty!
 
Thanks very much for the reply!!

Just curious, what type of canned food do you feed? From Dr. Lisa's website I gleaned that Wellness brand is pretty good. Looking for a brand that's relatively inexpensive but still uses good animal protein, doesn't have tons of phosphorus, has a good ratio of protein to fat, and (obviously) is low in carbs...

Still thinking after a month or two on canned we may give the homemade thing a shot. It's a little intimidating but I think ultimately it has the potential to be even less expensive if you source the ingredients right, and if you freeze portions might not need to make it very often. Just can't afford a meat grinder right now, and we're a little iffy on using store-bought ground meat unless it was ground very recently. However, using pre-ground meat and one of those powders that is formulated to add essential nutrients to the meat would certainly be convenient.
 
I'm glad to hear Sunny is doing so well! My vet prescribed the DM (dry and wet) too. The last day Scout ate dry food was the last day I had to give her insulin. She's doing really well and both cats have adjusted to eating wet food only. I went back to my vet and showed her my spreadsheet and Dr. Lisa's list and she has changed the way she treats diabetics.

For treats, try freeze dried chicken. You can get it on Amazon or Chewy.com.

Lori
 
Oops thank you to the moderator who removed the rainbow - didn't realize it signified passing away. Thanks for the other replies, I'm glad that others have had similar results switching to canned. How come more vets don't realize this?? Definitely going to (politely) let my vet know about Sunny's progress.

Good suggestion on the freeze-dried treats too! Going to look into that. Another "natural" treat I've seen are bonito flakes, which is a finely shaved fish product... Not sure how healthy those are but our kitties love them.
 
When Sneakers was still unregulated she ate Fancy feast, sophisticats, and Walmarts special kitty- anything under 7% that was cheap as she was eating 15-20 oz per day. Now she gets Merricks before grain and I have a local pet food place that I purchase other canned food- tiki ($$$), Wellness ($$), Halo ($$$), Blue Buffalo ($$)- all grain free. Not that Merrick isn't expensive but now that she is eating 4-8 oz per day I don't feel she is just pooping it straight through :lol: :roll: .

I was able to borrow my moms mixer which had a grinding attachment so I could do the meat, no bones so I used the bone meal Dr. L talks about. And I ground the chicken that way but if you read her recipe close enough the only thing she really grinds is the liver, the bones (which you don't need it you do the bone meal), the eggs, and the supplements. Looking at her pictures she has everything cubed to the size of smaller than a dice for dental health and then mixes in the ground stuff in that. You probably would be able to chop the smaller ingredients in a blender and mix really well with water. When you cube the meat- I suggest doing it while frozen or partially frozen- MUCH easier.
 
Glad to hear you have been playing it safe and dramatically dropping the dose of insulin. You may find that on the canned food, she may need even less insulin than the 0.5u you are giving now. There are ways to microdose and give smaller quantities. There is a link with pictures around here somewhere.

Great story by the way! Glad you found the catinfo.org website. Lots of good information there on cat nutrition, diabetes, uninary tract health, obesity, etc.

Some other less expensive low carb foods those of us on a budget feed are the Fancy Feast classic pates and the Friskies pates. Slightly lower in quality than the Wellness and others but not everyone's budgets extend to those higher cost premium cat foods, especially with multiple kitties in the family.

Yup, we seem to need to teach more vets about cat nutrition then we would like to see. Also, get them up to date on some of the diabetes manangement guidelines. This AAHA doc is from a vet journal in 2010: http://www.aahanet.org/PublicDocuments/AAHADiabetesGuidelines.pdf Good to print off a copy for you and a copy for your vet. The University of Queensland, Centre for Companion Animal Studies has a lot of good information over the last 10 years or so. They seem to be one of the leaders in diabetes research in cats and dogs.

I think many vets discourage home testing for two reasons. 1. It can be stressful and panic the caregiver if they do not know how to interpret the numbers. 2. Vets make money on doing those curves in house and have not figured out how to charge for looking at a spreadsheet of numbers. We applaud you for deciding to home test. You can learn so much by doing that and keep your cat safe at the same time.

Keep us posted on the progress Sunny is making. Who knows, you may be able to diet control Sunny with the change to wet food.
 
Awesome thank you for the suggestions - that actually gave me an idea, because we have a KitchenAid stand mixer, and I discovered there is a meat grinder attachment that isn't terribly expensive. Going to stick by what we're doing with the canned food for now until Sunny perks up. He's doing okay, just not as playful and energetic as he once was. Hoping some of that comes back over time, especially as he loses weight. Lately he's been acting like his legs are a little bit sore (not bad, but occasionally looks "stiff" and his joints click sometimes). Been giving him a cat supplement with glucosamine/MSM in it, so hopefully that will help too.

Also just found a cool offer for a Bayer Contour USB with 25 test strips for free (just google free Bayer Contour USB and it's one of the first things that comes up). I realize it's just to get you sucked into buying their test strips, but our monitor is a little old and I think the whole USB feature is nifty.
 
Well, tonight's PMPS wasn't as good as yesterday... Up to 123 mg/dL. I really need to get (at least) an AMPS, +3, +6, and PMPS tomorrow, although the thought of testing him 4 times in one day is scary. I know lots of you do that (and more) though, so I'm going to try my best. I think if he wasn't a short-haired, blond kitty with pink ears all the little puncture marks on his ears would be less evident and I wouldn't feel as guilty... On the plus side, I got his PMPS reading tonight on the first try, first stick! It's my first time not having to poke him 3-4 times... think I found the sweet spot on his ear, using a lancet freehand. He was snuggled down in a laundry basket when I got him which was a great place because he didn't squirm or run away.

One thing that worries me slightly is his lack of appetite. Don't want him getting hepatic lipidosis or anything, although I think (hope) he's eating enough that he isn't at risk for that. Today he was given 1/2 5.5oz can in the morning, 1/4 can at +6h, and 1/2 can in the evening, so a total of 6.875oz or 238.75 kcal for the day. However, he only eats about 1/4 can in one sitting - for the morning and evening meals I have to keep bringing the food to him and encouraging him to eat more. Got paranoid about his appetite mid-day and gave him a little dry food (less than 1/8 cup) and a few treats (so he ended up with a bit more than 240 calories), but tomorrow I'll be brave and go canned-only.

When the food first goes down he's very excited and seems happy to eat, he just gets satiated (or loses interest) quick. However, compared to the way he used to ravenously gulp down dry food, I'd say that's a change for the better...
 
two things on that- 1- canned food is more nutritiously dense- like fruits, veggies, meat to us- than dry food- akin to cakes, cookies, twinkies.

2- His body is getting more good stuff, he has been on it for over a week now and it realizes it doesn't have to eat as much to get as full or the energy needed for the day.

Now, my cat gets about 1.5 oz of food at a time and depending on her catly-ness she will eat a 1/4 to 1/5 of that, go sit down, and then go eat some more in about 30 minutes, and finish it about an hour later. I just add a lot of water to keep it moist for her.

Now- sometimes she wolfs down the 1.5 oz and waits for more- and I do give it to her. But, on average, she eats 6-7 oz per day. Sometimes only 4 oz :shock: sometimes 8 oz :roll: it depends on what her body wants. I am pretty sure that Sunny will go looking for it if his body tells him it needs something. Just add water to keep it moist.

Sneakers gets 1 oz at AMPS. Another 1 oz at +1 to +2 and I leave an 1-1.5 out when I go to work. Sometimes it is gone when I get home, sometimes not. Evening food is about the same with a late night snack around 1 or 3 AM if she asks for it.
 
Many thanks to Sneaker's human for the reassurance! :-D This morning Sunny's AMPS was 116, although I'm guessing that number is slightly inflated because 1) I didn't get the reading until after he ate, and 2) It took me about 4 sticks to hit that precious ear vein, so he got a bit stressed out. Overall though, the process is going *much* better than it used to when my wife would try to hold him while he struggled and I poked.

I was able to just sit next to him on the floor, pet him while forcing myself to remain calm, and after not getting blood from a prick I let him calm down before trying again. He didn't run away (he could have), although he was vocal about his disapproval. I think on some level he understands that it has to be done. Rewarded with a treat after, although I still need to get some of those freeze dried meat treats that were mentioned because I know Whisker Lickins' are probably awful in terms of carbs.

Last night I ordered a vial of methylcobalamin, the B12 supplement recommended for diabetic neuropathy, in liquid form. I've been adding Dasuquin to his canned food since I started canned. May add a little fish oil too. The reason for all of that being that he is definitely having a harder time jumping, and his joints make a "clicking" sound when he walks. Definitely not his toenails, as I initially thought. I'm guessing it's arthritis from being overweight rather than diabetic neuropathy, but I figure it can't hurt and B12 is safe being water soluble. Hopefully the weight loss, better control of blood sugar, healthier diet, combined with those supplements will all help him to become more active (hard to get him to play much).

I was feeling a bit depressed last night thinking of his age. Being almost 9, I guess he is considered a "senior," and that really snuck up on my wife and I. We still think of him as a kitten, and it feels like we just got him... We got him and his sister Cloud (as babies) from the pound when my wife and I moved in together after dating, so he's so special to us for so many reasons. Just hate to think about losing him, and really hope he has 5-7 more years in him. I know no matter how much time he has it won't feel like enough, just so sad to think about. I just lost my father about 6 months ago, so I guess I'm still really shaken by that and having trouble with "death" in general.

Anyway! Sorry for the tangent, but I know you guys would understand.
 
Overall though, the process is going *much* better than it used to when my wife would try to hold him while he struggled and I poked.
Yeah! It's always nice to hear when the home testing is getting easier.

This morning Sunny's AMPS was 116
That 116 is a normal number for a non-diabetic cat, or for an OTJ kitty. Normal is 50-120.

Rewarded with a treat after, although I still need to get some of those freeze dried meat treats that were mentioned because I know Whisker Lickins' are probably awful in terms of carbs.
Hey, you use whatever treats you have for now and get some better ones when you have a chance. I think it's more important right now for you to give Sunny that reward for being good while testing then not to give anything at all. You can also give him some lovin' or brush him or head scritchies as a reward. Whatever he really likes. Before you know it, he will come running to be tested when you say "Test and treat Sunny!"

Anyway! Sorry for the tangent, but I know you guys would understand.
Diabetic management in cats means caring for the caregiver as well as the cat so 'tangents' are well understood here. Also OT (off topic)
discussions crop in the post and are expected.

{{{hugs}}} on the recent loss of your father.

I don't know if you realize this yet, but your 'family' grew by several hundred people when you joined this discussion board. :shock: We will give you hugs when you need them, try to lift your spirits when you are down, give you encouragement and let you know when you should be doing something just a little bit different.

Just ask for advice when you need it, we'll try to help.
 
jrlepage said:
Last night I ordered a vial of methylcobalamin, the B12 supplement recommended for diabetic neuropathy, in liquid form. I've been adding Dasuquin to his canned food since I started canned. May add a little fish oil too. The reason for all of that being that he is definitely having a harder time jumping, and his joints make a "clicking" sound when he walks. Definitely not his toenails, as I initially thought. I'm guessing it's arthritis from being overweight rather than diabetic neuropathy, but I figure it can't hurt and B12 is safe being water soluble. Hopefully the weight loss, better control of blood sugar, healthier diet, combined with those supplements will all help him to become more active (hard to get him to play much).

I've ordered that, too. Sneakers has arthritis and she gets cosequin in her food. I can get it on Amazon for $17+shipping rather than $30 at the vet :shock: Even though it is geared more to nueropathy I have noticed it helping her in general. Only I ordered the 1000 mg tablet and they only need 30 mg per day... so it gets cut into tiny pieces- and the pill is already tiny :lol:

I was feeling a bit depressed last night thinking of his age. Being almost 9, I guess he is considered a "senior," and that really snuck up on my wife and I. We still think of him as a kitten, and it feels like we just got him... We got him and his sister Cloud (as babies) from the pound when my wife and I moved in together after dating, so he's so special to us for so many reasons. Just hate to think about losing him, and really hope he has 5-7 more years in him. I know no matter how much time he has it won't feel like enough, just so sad to think about. I just lost my father about 6 months ago, so I guess I'm still really shaken by that and having trouble with "death" in general.

Sneakers is 18 this year(two as a diabetic) so Sunny should have a long life still ahead of him- FD is NOT a death sentence but should be considered a time to draw nearer to your kitty and be special in just one more way. If Cloud is a sibling just do periodic tests on her as well, just to compare the two as well as to keep an eye on her- same food for the same amount of time... There was a discussion on the board last year about it being feline hereditary like humans diabetes can run in families.

The treats can be picked up at the store- try the dog food isle for larger packages for the same price :roll: but the kitty isle has small bags as well. You want the ones with the ONE ingredient, freeze dried the best. Or look on-line. I was able to get the fd shrimpies Sneakers loves 3 packs for $8.50 compared to $12-$15 at the store.
 
Thank you so much for the support, both of you (and everyone who has posted here)! What an awesome community.

hmjohnston said:
Only I ordered the 1000 mg tablet and they only need 30 mg per day... so it gets cut into tiny pieces- and the pill is already tiny.

hmjohnston - I'm not positive, but I think you maybe have your units mixed up on the methylcobalamin based on what I read. The tablets come in 1000 *micro*gram doses, rather than milligram. That's only 1mg. The website I read recommended between 1-3mg for cats. Maybe I'm missing something, if so please tell me.

I'll edit this and put the link of the site I read for that info (it was somewhere in these forums after searching "neuropathy").

Edit: Here was the site I read - http://www.laurieulrich.com/jasper/
See the section on dosage for clarification on the whole micrograms vs. milligrams thing (I was confused too... Had to read that a few times... Again, let me know if I'm wrong, it's been known to happen. ;-) )
 
A commonly given dose here is 3 mg -5 mg.
B vitamins are water soluble and any excess is excreted in the urine so you can't give too much. The body only uses what it needs.

For Diabetic neuropathy, you specifically want methylcolbalamin. The other b12 that you find in stores is colbalamin which is used to treat pernicious anemia.

For cats, its Zobaline


Zolbaline has less additives and is the better choice for cats.
However, I use vitacost's
The vitacost one has a trace amount of rice flour.
My cat was just starting to show signs of her rear legs getting weaker and she reversed completely after I put her on the Vitacost version. I like it because it's a capsule and easy to mix in her food.
the bottle above is 5000mcg which is the same as 5 mg.
 
Thanks! Hey, quick question... I'm getting ready to change over from canned Purina DM to Wellness grain-free canned Turkey. I'm baffled by the feeding recommendation on the Wellness can, which says 1/2 of a 12 oz. can per 6-8 lbs. of body weight. Isn't 12 oz a day for a 16 lb cat a lot?? Sunny and Cloud have only been eating 6-7 oz tops of the Purina DM canned...
 
I think it depends on the cat.
My 16 lb girl eats 2 3oz cans during the day and she was eating at least half another can that size at night. So she's around 7.5 oz. She has slowed down lately.
It varies ... and the calories need to be considered too.
Some brands are much higher calorie than others.
 
rhiannon and shadow said:
I think it depends on the cat.
My 16 lb girl eats 2 3oz cans during the day and she was eating at least half another can that size at night. So she's around 7.5 oz. She has slowed down lately.
It varies ... and the calories need to be considered too.
Some brands are much higher calorie than others.

Thanks okay so you're feeding about the same as me. I've been doing 1/2 a 5.5 oz can at morning and night and 1/4 a can in the afternoon so that's 6.875 oz per day.

Good call on the calories... Checked Dr. Lisa's chart though and looks like Purina DM canned is 191 kcals/5.5 oz while the Wellness Turkey is 218 kcals / 5.5 oz. So if anything I guess they should have slightly less of the Wellness than they have of the Purina. I'm starting to think the recommendations on the products themselves are for super cats who are outdoors running and climbing trees, or else it's just to sell more food.

I guess he's eating enough... I read that cats need 20-30 kcal per lb. of weight per day. So if I fed to a target weight of 15 pounds (he's more like 19 at the moment) and picked the low end of that range since he's indoor, that would be 15 x 20 = 300 kcal/day. On the Purina DM he's only been getting around 238.75 kcal/day, and if he ate the same amount of Wellness that would be 272.5 kcal/day.

A different source said that cats could get by on 15-30 kcal/lb/day, which would be more like 225 kcal/day for a 15 lb cat. Maybe I'm getting too anal retentive here. ;-) He's eating and has good energy, so life is good!
 
jrlepage said:
Good call on the calories... Checked Dr. Lisa's chart though and looks like Purina DM canned is 191 kcals/5.5 oz while the Wellness Turkey is 218 kcals / 5.5 oz. So if anything I guess they should have slightly less of the Wellness than they have of the Purina. I'm starting to think the recommendations on the products themselves are for super cats who are outdoors running and climbing trees, or else it's just to sell more food.

My vote is to sell more food. The obesity epidemic didn't get there all by itself. Everything is super sized to the max now. for pets and owners.
 
hmjohnston said:
My vote is to sell more food. The obesity epidemic didn't get there all by itself. Everything is super sized to the max now. for pets and owners.

Sadly you're probably right...

Poor Sunny is having some butt pain this AM. He made a huge BM, soft but the consistency of very sticky Play-doh (and stinks to high heaven). He's been growling and licking his bottom. Gave him a little hairball medicine and a little crushed catnip (which he eats). Tried to give him a teaspoon of canned pumpkin (have used in the past to help him when his bottom is sore) but he wasn't interested. I'm sure his bowels are just getting accustomed to the new diet and this will pass... Just hate hearing him growl over bottom pain.

Edit: Saw him urinate a couple of hours ago with no trouble and the growling was right after making the BM, so I'm confident it's that and not a urinary issue.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top