Sunny glucose spiking after pz increase 5 cycles ago

Status
Not open for further replies.

Holly and Sunny Bear

Member Since 2021
Sunny has not been eating well this week. He begs for food and sniffs at it and walks away. I have gotten him to eat somewhat with offering treats and fish flakes and a medium carb food.

Just increased him to 2U this week (5 cycles ago) when saw nadirs rising.

He is showing NO ketones. And his bg is really spiking!

I just gave Sunny his morning dose of 2Us of prozinc. His AMPS number was 489! And I can tell he doesn't feel well. He's lethargic. But he does not act painful.

I'm following SLGS, and generally I wait a week at a dose before increasing insulin. Wondering if I need to raise him to 2.25 now?

Could this be pancreatitis? Wondering if I need to get him into the vet sooner. The problem is that I don't trust the other vets who are available today. They and the techs seems to know nothing about managing diabetes. I'm at the point where I hesitate to call them for help or bring him in bc they really don't know what they're doing. :( And I live in a rural area - so the vet choices are slim pickins!
 
The vet advised i could give him 5mg pepcid every 12 hours - so I just gave him a dose. Noticing he feels very warm to the touch also. It's not an issue with the room temp bc we have AC going.
 
Sunny’s numbers look really similar to my cat, George’s, when I was doing SLGS (Sunny’s actually look a little better to be honest). Since you are testing as much as you are you may want to consider switching to the Modified Prozinc Method of dosing (MPM), which allows for quicker increases and no reductions unless he goes under 50 (rather than the 90 with SLGS). George started seeing consistently better numbers when I switched to MPM, although he’s a very bouncy kitty so he does still go high for a few cycles when he drops really low really quickly.
 
@Hshray thank you! I've been thinking about switching to the tighter regulation protocol. That does seem best at this point. I just need more sleep! Gaaah

I think maybe I'm panicking over his current situation when maybe he just really does need another increase already. We've never gone above 2U so that's upsetting me.

I'm worried now about his appetite and afraid to make things worse. I'm scared he has a raging infection somewhere, or pancreatitis.

He's sleeping very comfortably at the moment and his bg is coming down... so I will keep a close eye on him tonight and he'll see his regular vet tomorrow.

And I'll study up on MPM! Thank you for your advice!
 
@Hshray thank you! I've been thinking about switching to the tighter regulation protocol. That does seem best at this point. I just need more sleep! Gaaah

I think maybe I'm panicking over his current situation when maybe he just really does need another increase already. We've never gone above 2U so that's upsetting me.

I'm worried now about his appetite and afraid to make things worse. I'm scared he has a raging infection somewhere, or pancreatitis.

He's sleeping very comfortably at the moment and his bg is coming down... so I will keep a close eye on him tonight and he'll see his regular vet tomorrow.

And I'll study up on MPM! Thank you for your advice!
Hopefully someone will chime in with some advice about your appetite/pancreatitis concerns!

It actually took me getting up to 3.5 units to break through George’s glucose toxicity. Some members on the ProZinc forum had warned me that I might not see a breakthrough until I got up to 3 units, so I at least wasn’t surprised/concerned by getting to that dose. That was just at the beginning of June, and he is back down to 2 units now. I think that SLGS just didn’t work well for him and was causing the glucose toxicity to build up since the doses had to be held longer. Every cat is different though!

I definitely understand about the sleep haha. SLGS is good if you’re worried about going too low or can’t test as much.
 
Hi @JanetNJ - he is not doing the meatloaf thing - just acting sleepy and kinda squinting his eyes. Earlier he was also visibly dopey/sleepy looking, and acted alarmed at loud noises like the other cats running through the house. He was also very warm to the touch which had me worried.
He's doing better this evening. I had to leave the house during his nadir hours - so missed that today unfortunately, but his numbers are looking better this evening - and he ate nearly a full meal about 2 hours ago (at +7), of lc wet food. He's purring and looking comfortable now. And back to feeling like normal temp to the touch. He's currently 263 at +9.
 
Good news tonight! I had to leave for a few hours again tonight (my sister had surgery today), and we got home just in time for PMPS, and Sunny was at 258! And he ate very well tonight. I gave him another 5mg pepcid with dinner, and gave 2U. Will check him several times tonight during nadir hours. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top