Holly and Sunny Bear
Member Since 2021
Sunny has not been eating well this week. He begs for food and sniffs at it and walks away. I have gotten him to eat somewhat with offering treats and fish flakes and a medium carb food.
Just increased him to 2U this week (5 cycles ago) when saw nadirs rising.
He is showing NO ketones. And his bg is really spiking!
I just gave Sunny his morning dose of 2Us of prozinc. His AMPS number was 489! And I can tell he doesn't feel well. He's lethargic. But he does not act painful.
I'm following SLGS, and generally I wait a week at a dose before increasing insulin. Wondering if I need to raise him to 2.25 now?
Could this be pancreatitis? Wondering if I need to get him into the vet sooner. The problem is that I don't trust the other vets who are available today. They and the techs seems to know nothing about managing diabetes. I'm at the point where I hesitate to call them for help or bring him in bc they really don't know what they're doing.
And I live in a rural area - so the vet choices are slim pickins!
Just increased him to 2U this week (5 cycles ago) when saw nadirs rising.
He is showing NO ketones. And his bg is really spiking!
I just gave Sunny his morning dose of 2Us of prozinc. His AMPS number was 489! And I can tell he doesn't feel well. He's lethargic. But he does not act painful.
I'm following SLGS, and generally I wait a week at a dose before increasing insulin. Wondering if I need to raise him to 2.25 now?
Could this be pancreatitis? Wondering if I need to get him into the vet sooner. The problem is that I don't trust the other vets who are available today. They and the techs seems to know nothing about managing diabetes. I'm at the point where I hesitate to call them for help or bring him in bc they really don't know what they're doing.