Sumo's new numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary and Sumo

Member Since 2011
Today marks Sumo's 4 wk anniversary since being diagnosed. He has been on 0.8 of Pro Zinc for a week now, and there has been little movement on his bg readings. I did a curve last weekend and have gotten a few +4 and +6's. What would you reccomend as far as dose adjustment? I would really love to see those numbers change.
Thanks, Mary
 
This is one of the worst dilemmas, Mary: up or down? No way to be sure until you try. His numbers aren't great, but they are better than you got at 1.2, for example. That says to me 1.2 is too high.

So, go down to .5 for a few cycles, testing for ketones, testing frequently (maybe a weekend trial when you can test?) to see if the numbers improve. You wouldn't stay there long if you don't see improvement.

Ditto for a little higher dose. You were at 1 unit early with a few good numbers, so that is an option too. Raise it, test for ketones, get some numbers to see what is happening.

The other option is just a tweak - whatever you can measure that looks like .9 or a fat .8 or the lower dose at .6 or .7. Check out Asher's posts to see what a difference just .1 makes, even at a higher dose. (Donnahc)

I wish I had a definitive answer but there aren't enough mid cycle numbers to be sure. (not your fault - we have lives or should have... :mrgreen: ). One thing that you could do is get a before bed test every night, or if your pmps is pretty late, routinely get a +8 before the pmps. Or an out the door test in the am after amps. That would give us some info.

What sounds best to you?
 
Hi Mary,
You 2 have me stumped, but I think I will agree with Sue,
you are getting better numbers since you lowered
you are seeing more yellows now. I think I might reduce for a day
to see what happens, and since the weekend is here it might be best to do it now
so hopefully you can get some tests in....
good luck

Denise and Shakes
 
Just got home from work, so I am 1 hour behind schedule. I reduced Sumo's dose to .6 and will try a few cycles and see what happens. If no improvement, should I go back to .8 for a few cycles before I increase to .9 ?? Still learning this dance :))
Thanks, Mary
 
There are no right answers. It is a matter of trying something, getting data and trying to interpret the results. Try the lower dose, get some tests and let's see.
 
lol, one step at a time, Mary! Try the .6, and when you and we see that data, if a different dose is indicated, we'll figure it out then. A very wise lady on this board taught me this - "in the sugardance, a whole lifetime can be lived in 12 hour segments".
For the rest of the time I was dancing with Bob, I took life 12 hours at a time. It really helped us.

So keep us posted, step by step,
Carl
 
Hi Mary,

So looking at your spreadsheet, looks like the drop to .6 didn't make much difference. (Hope you get some mid cycle numbers in today so we can be sure he isn't doing anything weird during the nadir.) Depending on what you see today at nadir, shall we look at .9?
 
I posted a +6 and +8 for today on Sumo's SS. He came down some (+6 266 and +8 289) but still looks like he needs an adjustment. It is in my nature on most things to try and stay one step ahead of the game (be prepared) but as Carl reminded me, life with a sugarcat is better handled in 12hr increments. So, I will follow his advice. I trust you guys ALOT. I am always open to any suggestions! Today was Sumo's 4th dose of the .6 units. What do you think?
Thanks Mary
 
Well, the .6 dose didn't change his numbers much. Would increasing to .9 be too big of a jump? ( I know that .8 wasn't doing much either) so not sure what to do.
 
I so wish there was a user's guide for each kitty!

It would probably give you more info to go up slowly - a couple days on each dose before an increase? Try to get a mid cycle test every day (or night, if day is impossible). On the weekdays, try to get that out the door and in the door number.
 
Looking at your SS it looks like last Saturdays curve was better than todays
so I am thinking you should up, maybe .8 or if you are brave .9
 
Feeling not so brave tonight! Sumo's +10 was 318 and pmps 328, so we will up it to .8 and get some numbers.
Enjoy your Saturday Eve.
Thanks, Mary
 
It's all data gathering, Mary, and though it seems like forever, it has only been a month. And he is on a low dose of insulin.

Your gut is the best barometer of what to do. .8 sounds great.
 
Robin,
Good to hear from you! You've been missed around here....

Mary,
Good call on the .8 rather than higher, I think. Give it a couple cycles, see what you get, and you can reevaluate if needed. Looks like now you know that "decrease" isn't the way to go, not yet anyway. I think that day will come, but you've shown lots of patience already.

Carl
 
Hi Denise, I agree he had a nice preshot, and I enjoyed it while it lasted (the whole 10 minutes while he ate his breakfast! ) His +2 and all other checks today have been higher numbers :-| I will hold steady with the .8 and see what happens. Maybe he needs a day or two to settle in? Thanks for checking in.
Mary
 
What the heck is up with Sumo???
He is driving me nuts!
I love the blue last night! wonder what today was...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top