You can edit the SS like you plan on doing. I'd test Lucky just before leaving the house, so you know where he's at. Is he stressed by vet visits? If so, he'll be higher there. I just have a feeling the vet is going to do a BG test once you get there, and if Lucky comes up really low, you might catch hell. How screwed up is that???
I have to give Lucky his insulin right before we leave the house, so no worries about his BG being too low!
Also, go to the FDMB FAQ, and print out section 6 (all about regulation). I think I would ask the vet or the tech or whomever is giving you the most trouble "What exactly is my goal here? Shouldn't I be trying for the best possible outcome? Wouldn't that be remission?" If the vet is content with a cat living in the 200s and thinks that's good enough, well isn't that screwed up? They're basically telling you that you shouldn't try to get Lucky past diabetes, just get him to a point where you have no choice but to continue testing and shooting for the rest of his life. Granted, that might be as far as Lucky gets with the disease, but you (and we) don't believe that, and I'm sure your ultimate goal is for him to one day be DB free.
Thanks for letting me know where to look, I'll check that out tonight. Yes, I plan on letting them know my goal is remission and I can't do that if I'm not allowed to get his #'s into a non diabetic range. She even told me in the beginning that some cats go into remission. I don't know how any of her patients would be able to do this following her protocol! I'll give her the benefit of the doubt for now until I see her tomorrow and we can talk some more. She may agree with me once she sees how often I test and his results.
Question - does Lucky absolutely need the dental at this point in time? Is he having dental problems that are contributing to his illness (infection or whatever)? If their attitude isn't going to change, and he's not going to be able to have the dental done by them unless you follow their instructions, then I'm thinking postpone the dental, and see if you can find a different vet - one that is more supportive of your efforts with Lucky. I'm more of a "get the vet to go along with the dance" person, but it doesn't sound like these people are supportive of what you're doing at all.
Lucky has bad teeth. His gums were infected mid June and he was on Clavamox for 2 weeks. He had teeth removed in '08. I checked his gums the other day and they are really red and inflamed. It's time. This vet wants to be involved, I can tell, and that's great but if she doesn't agree with what I think, then we are going to have a prob.
I just don't understand how they can be comfortable leaving a patient in a condition where his BG is basically twice as high as a non-diabetic cat, and somehow that is okay. I mean, do civie cats go hypo when their BG is below 100?
I don't understand either!!! I even brought up the fact that I tested my civvie and she was at 68. The vet tech said it's okay for non diabetics but it's dangerous for a diabetic. Something about a pocket of insulin bringing #'s down all of the sudden and quickly and could be bad if they are low to begin with?? I don't know, didn't understand that part.
Carl