Sugar baby eating, the new normal, et al

Status
Not open for further replies.

shelaghc

Member Since 2017
Jester and I are coming up on his first full month as a sugar baby. His most recent vet visit was the first time his BG was at a more normal level and he's now pretty regularly on a much lower carb cat food - thanks again to Yong!

Question #1
It's hard for me to know what's a normal amount for Jester to eat now. Used to be a scoop daily of his dry food and about a can of Friskies (5.5 oz). Just before his DX he had stopped eating the dry stuff almost completely and was up to two cans of Friskies, plus nibbling on his siblings' leftovers.
Now that he's on FF, he seems to be eating quite a lot less. How do I determine what's normal again and long might it take?

Question #2
I have two human glucose test meters thanks to my diabetic niece and a friend whose sugar baby passed, along with unexpired test strips from my niece and expired ones from my friend (for practice, she suggested).

But the vet hasn't talked about me doing my own testing as of yet and when I brought it up I was told human meters weren't appropriate.
Should I take the leap and start doing it on my own? I'm a bit hesitant to "experiment" on my baby now that I've finally got him (and me!) used to and comfortable with getting his shots.
Plus one of my civvies is having health issues too (definitely periodontal disease, but also might have a tumor in his lower jaw ) and I'm stressed pretty badly. (Another very kind vet gave me a free visit along with pulling a tooth and giving him a shot of antibiotics, but I still need to raise funds on a gofundme for his longer term care.)

Question #3
The vet for Jester has been very generous too - free insulin and needles to start and likely to keep doing so until I can afford to pay anything.
But my needles are running a bit low.
I have 40s from that first kit, but I have a big mess of 100s from my friend and that would save me the money and embarrassment of asking the vet for more.
How hard is it to figure out the correct dosage with the 100s instead? Or is that a bad idea?

Question #4
If I opt to hold off blood testing until Jester's next appointment with the vet (August 5th), should I still consider creating a spreadsheet for him?
The only numbers I have so far are the approximate ones I remember from the vet.

I think that's it for now.
Thanks!
 
I'm glad to see you back here now that you have more FD experience under your belt! Welcome! :)
I'll answer your questions in order:
  1. FD kitties are always hungry until they become better regulated. If he's under weight let him eat what he wants in several small meals. Are all your kitties now eating low carb wet food? That would make it easier for you. No dry is the way to go.
  2. Yes! to testing at home whether your vet approves of a human meter or not. It's the best way to keep your kitty safe and you'll be less stressed by the thought of a hypo. You'll be able to assess a dose for yourself and intervene if necessary. You're not experimenting with you kitty by learning to test.
  3. It's great that your vet is being so generous. Yes! ProZinc can be dosed using U100 syringes and this conversion chart: http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm . Be sure you understand it (or ask here) before you start. It will allow you to dose in tiny fractions if necessary. Once you start using U100 syringes, put all the U40s away somewhere so you don't mix them up.
  4. Please do set up a spreadsheet like we use here. It doesn't matter if you don't have a lot of data while you practice testing. Anything you can get will help us to help you. There are techies here who can help with the SS if you need it. http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm
I know how anxiety-provoking this is but you're doing the right thing for Jester and you'll be amazed at the increased confidence/peace of mind this will give you. :smuggrin:
 
I'm glad to see you back here now that you have more FD experience under your belt! Welcome! :)
I'll answer your questions in order:
I've been around. Been poking around, posted happy news, offered good thoughts when/where I could.
:-)

FD kitties are always hungry until they become better regulated. If he's under weight let him eat what he wants in several small meals. Are all your kitties now eating low carb wet food? That would make it easier for you. No dry is the way to go.
Jester lost nearly two pounds (I think) since last summer. But he was nearly thirteen pounds - a big boy! He's gained back about 2.5 ounces, so he could stand to gain a pound and a half to get back to his normal weight.
He's thinner than I'm used to, though.
Interestingly, he stopped eating dry on his own before he was diagnosed. I tried to encourage him to eat the dry stuff and he knew better!
Unfortunately I can't afford to get all the kids on low carb food. Unemployed and broke. Fortunately each of the kids has their own flavor/texture favorites so they don't usually stray into each other's bowls during mealtimes.

Yes! to testing at home whether your vet approves of a human meter or not. It's the best way to keep your kitty safe and you'll be less stressed by the thought of a hypo. You'll be able to assess a dose for yourself and intervene if necessary. You're not experimenting with you kitty by learning to test.
Still makes me nervous. I have no idea what to do on this.

It's great that your vet is being so generous. Yes! ProZinc can be dosed using U100 syringes and this conversion chart: http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm . Be sure you understand it (or ask here) before you start. It will allow you to dose in tiny fractions if necessary. Once you start using U100 syringes, put all the U40s away somewhere so you don't mix them up.
Planning to wait until the 40s are gone before using the 100s.
And I will indeed seek out everyone's counsel on that route. Thanks!

Please do set up a spreadsheet like we use here. It doesn't matter if you don't have a lot of data while you practice testing. Anything you can get will help us to help you. There are techies here who can help with the SS if you need it. http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm
Okay - but that's the link about the insulin conversions.
;-)
I know how anxiety-provoking this is but you're doing the right thing for Jester and you'll be amazed at the increased confidence/peace of mind this will give you. :smuggrin:

Thanks for all the answers and help!

Now if I can just get some good news about Bastian and a decent paying job, life will calm down dramatically.

:-)
 
I've been around. Been poking around, posted happy news, offered good thoughts when/where I could.
:)


Jester lost nearly two pounds (I think) since last summer. But he was nearly thirteen pounds - a big boy! He's gained back about 2.5 ounces, so he could stand to gain a pound and a half to get back to his normal weight.
He's thinner than I'm used to, though.
Interestingly, he stopped eating dry on his own before he was diagnosed. I tried to encourage him to eat the dry stuff and he knew better!
Unfortunately I can't afford to get all the kids on low carb food. Unemployed and broke. Fortunately each of the kids has their own flavor/texture favorites so they don't usually stray into each other's bowls during mealtimes.


Still makes me nervous. I have no idea what to do on this.


Planning to wait until the 40s are gone before using the 100s.
And I will indeed seek out everyone's counsel on that route. Thanks!


Okay - but that's the link about the insulin conversions.
;-)


Thanks for all the answers and help!

Now if I can just get some good news about Bastian and a decent paying job, life will calm down dramatically.

:)
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/


In my signature below I have a video showing how I test my cat CC.
 
Human meters are just fine to home test with--pet meters are preferred by vets, but the strips are too expensive for many people to allow them to test as frequently as they need to get their cat's BG under control. The only difference between a human meter and a pet meter is that you change the reference range--for example, normal BG range on a human meter is 50-120, and 70-150 on a pet meter. I've been using a human meter for 8 years, and never once used a pet meter. The dosing protocols take both the human/pet meter reference ranges into account. Bandit currently sees an internal medicine specialist at Cornell because he has some complicated (non diabetes related) health issues now that's he's older, and his vet has no problem with us using the human meter--she would much rather have her clients testing frequently with a human meter than infrequently with a pet meter.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top