Sue and Ruben
Member Since 2010
I have not updated my spreadsheet in some time..so I know I need to do that.
I am hoping that someone can provide some advice regarding a shift in Ruben's numbers.
He was getting 2.5 units of Lantus for a very long time (over a year). I had a honeymoon period of about 2 weeks (about 3 months or so ago) when he was getting great numbers (low 100's and below 100)
However, in the past 2 months, his numbers started to climb a bit and my vet advised an increase to 3.5, after running some test. I upped the dose but despite the increased dose, his numbers are still in the 300 range for both the AMPS and PMPS and around 200's at nadir. He has even hit 400 a few times, which he really has never done in the last 1 1/2 years that he has been on the medication.
My question is whether to up the dose again and more importantly, what issues could arise with the numbers remaining high. I am going on vacation for 2 weeks and my pet sitter will not be able to do the daily testing. Can high numbers be a serious concern if they stay that way for the next 2 weeks?
I am hoping that someone can provide some advice regarding a shift in Ruben's numbers.
He was getting 2.5 units of Lantus for a very long time (over a year). I had a honeymoon period of about 2 weeks (about 3 months or so ago) when he was getting great numbers (low 100's and below 100)
However, in the past 2 months, his numbers started to climb a bit and my vet advised an increase to 3.5, after running some test. I upped the dose but despite the increased dose, his numbers are still in the 300 range for both the AMPS and PMPS and around 200's at nadir. He has even hit 400 a few times, which he really has never done in the last 1 1/2 years that he has been on the medication.
My question is whether to up the dose again and more importantly, what issues could arise with the numbers remaining high. I am going on vacation for 2 weeks and my pet sitter will not be able to do the daily testing. Can high numbers be a serious concern if they stay that way for the next 2 weeks?