Suddenly OTJ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mikaila31

Member Since 2010
Hello again FDMB. I'm back again with Oliver who has been doing very well since he was put back on insulin 3 months ago. He's regained all the weight he lost. My parents are the ones who care for him. I've spent the last day watching the cats since they were out of town. However surprisingly Oliver has been over 24 hours now without insulin. Possibly longer, they didn't give him any Saturday morning but didn't say anything more then that. Hoping they haven't given him any the few days before that with the low numbers he tested. He's been pretty regular with 0.5unit doses. Is it sometimes normal for them to go off insulin suddenly?

9/8
1:17 -107
11:51-98
7:23am-168
9/7
11:01pm-82
7:37-72
7:36pm-66
9:04am-192
9/6
7:33am - 88
9/5
7:08pm-59
7:40am-69
9/4
8:54pm-129
7:41am-101
9/3
5:48pm-361
 
I was trying to go back and read your history...
here's your last post

Did you go back to feeding him fancy feast? It's possible that the new food you had been giving him also contributed to his rise in numbers.
He does look pretty good... although that 168 and 192 are still high for remission numbers.
I think he's doing well on the dose...

here's the protocol

I would continue on the dose you are at... unless he earns a reduction. ( as per the protocol) And then continue with the next dose down...
you will want to work the dose down in 0.25u increments until you are on one drop.

It does look like he's heading back towards remission but you want to give his pancreas continued support as long as you can.
 
yes but he hasn't been getting insulin recently. Usually his shot is given at 7/7. Yesterday preshot readings were 66 and 72 so the shot was skipped. This morning it was a bit high but at 168 I still decided to skip it and he dropped back down on his own. From what I've read usually they should be 200 before a shot. I don't feel confident giving him anything when he is under 100. We try to follow the protocol best we can :? .
 
the 200 is true for the main forum ( which I need to remember is where you posted - :oops: I was quoting tight regulation )
I am from the forum where we shoot low to stay low... and that is after you know your cat's cycles which I think you do.
The number range for remission is between 50 and 120 ( on a human glucometer).

And just a stray number or two doesn't count against them.
I would feed and re-test in 3-4 hours after eating to see if he continues dropping on his own....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top