Linda & Chance (GA)
Active Member
I haven't needed to post on health for a while because Chance is usually pretty healthy. Lately I am concerned because his preshot BG numbers have dropped dramatically. He has been on 3 units BCP PZI BID for a long time. He has never been OTJ in nearly 5 years since diagnosis. Usually, his preshot will be around 300, but about a month ago I noticed a slight decrease so I lowered his dose to 2.8 units. This week he has had preshots as low as 130. At first I wondered about the strips but I've opened a new box and had similar relults. One day his am preshot was 139 so I skipped his shot and the pm was 324. This morning he was 130 but I decided to give him 1.8 units and see how he does since I'll be home today and he usually doesn't drop a lot. I did a mid cycle test the other day and he was at 197. One reason that I'm so concerned is because I seem to remember reading somewhere that such drops in BG can be a sign of cancer. Does anyone know if that is the case or anything else that could cause this. I'm pretty sure Chance couldn't go into remission after all of these years and actually he has been eating a bit more dry food lately. I'm kind of worried, especially since he has just turned 13 and he's getting up there in years. Thanks for any information.