Sudden Lower BG in long term diabetic

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda & Chance (GA)

Member Since 2009
I haven't needed to post on health for a while because Chance is usually pretty healthy. Lately I am concerned because his preshot BG numbers have dropped dramatically. He has been on 3 units BCP PZI BID for a long time. He has never been OTJ in nearly 5 years since diagnosis. Usually, his preshot will be around 300, but about a month ago I noticed a slight decrease so I lowered his dose to 2.8 units. This week he has had preshots as low as 130. At first I wondered about the strips but I've opened a new box and had similar relults. One day his am preshot was 139 so I skipped his shot and the pm was 324. This morning he was 130 but I decided to give him 1.8 units and see how he does since I'll be home today and he usually doesn't drop a lot. I did a mid cycle test the other day and he was at 197. One reason that I'm so concerned is because I seem to remember reading somewhere that such drops in BG can be a sign of cancer. Does anyone know if that is the case or anything else that could cause this. I'm pretty sure Chance couldn't go into remission after all of these years and actually he has been eating a bit more dry food lately. I'm kind of worried, especially since he has just turned 13 and he's getting up there in years. Thanks for any information.
 
Linda

I won't lie...it is one possible sign of cancer because cancer is a glucose eater :( I have no doubt though that there are other possible causes, but I would suggest having a talk with your vet about possible diagnostics, and watch for any syptoms that are out of the ordinary.

Let us know how we can help

Jen
 
Is possible, but not necessarily always. Have you read Hope's profile? I think hers was heart, but I'm going from memory (which isn't very reliable these days). Full workup wouldn't be a bad idea, imo.
 
I don't want to scare you Linda, but that is what happened to Angus. He started requiring less and less insulin about this time last year. He was 13 at the time. He went OTJ in June. He had instestinal lymphoma that had most likely spread to the pancreas. I had to PTS last week when he became fully obstructed. I knew cancer was possible, but didn't recognize the signs. If I were you, I would talk to your vet about possible diagnostics. It may be too early to detect. I would also monitor carefully for the following:

PU/PD even though blood sugar levels are normal
weight loss
lethargy
changes in appetite
rough coat
pain and stiffness
vomiting and/or diarrhea
breathing difficulties

For Angus, going OTJ and PU/PD were the first symptoms. Next was pain climbing stairs. He did not have any other symptoms until the last two months. He then had lethargy, diarrhea, and weight loss.
 
Karen & Angus(GA) said:
I don't want to scare you Linda, but that is what happened to Angus. He started requiring less and less insulin about this time last year. He was 13 at the time. He went OTJ in June. He had instestinal lymphoma that had most likely spread to the pancreas. I had to PTS last week when he became fully obstructed. I knew cancer was possible, but didn't recognize the signs. If I were you, I would talk to your vet about possible diagnostics. It may be too early to detect. I would also monitor carefully for the following:

PU/PD even though blood sugar levels are normal
weight loss
lethargy
changes in appetite
rough coat
pain and stiffness
vomiting and/or diarrhea
breathing difficulties

For Angus, going OTJ and PU/PD were the first symptoms. Next was pain climbing stairs. He did not have any other symptoms until the last two months. He then had lethargy, diarrhea, and weight loss.
Thanks for the list of things to look for. So far, I've only noticed vomiting, but Chance has always done that a couple of times a week. I don't know if it would do me much good to take him to the vet. We only have one in town and I'm not sure how well they'd be prepared to diagnose or even treat anything like that. I think I'll wait and see for a little while before I put him through the stress of going to the vet. Thanks everyone.
 
Hi Linda,

Because of the lowering BG/cancer connection, the last time my Ennis starts showing lower number for no apparent reason, I had the vet do thoracic X-Rays. There was nothing there, which was a relief, and a few weeks later, Ennis went back to his old ways.

V
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top