Sudden jump in BG numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Crazycatlady1313

Member Since 2014
My Mr T is a 12 y/o kitty just diagnosed about 3 weeks ago. He is on 1.5 units of ProZinc at night. He is fed high quality wet food 3x a day, about every 8 hrs. He had been doing pretty well, numbers before eating were mid 200's to high 300's. Yesterday, he tested at 606 and 3 hrs after eating and his shot, was down to 324. Tonight he tested 575. What would cause such a sudden jump in his numbers? He is acting normal, drinking a normal amount of water and not peeing excessive amounts. I am totally baffled and can't reach my vet until tomorrow am, so any advice would be appreciated. This is so very stressful and complicated and I want to get it right for him. Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks!
 
A couple questions: What do you mean "at night"? ProZinc lasts 12 hours in cats, so it needs to be given twice daily, 12 hours apart. If it is only given once daily, he is likely to be lower for 12 hours, and then higher for the 12 hours he is without insulin.

If he is getting 2 shots daily, what are his numbers 5-7 hours after the shot? (if he is dropping low at midcycle, he could be bouncing up high for preshots)

What kind of food is he eating?
 
Hi there! Sue asked several great questions that will help us determine what's going on. I know you're super overwhelmed now (we've been there!) but have you set up a spreadsheet? That would really help us see patterns and assist you more.

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=50130

If you have some time, setting this up could help us help you!
 
In addition to dosing every 12 hours, this may be helpful.

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​
Examples of using the chart:

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
Hello to you and Mr T, and welcome to FDMB!

Well done for cracking on so quickly with the hometesting. :smile:

There are many reasons for sudden jumps in BG numbers.
But those that Sue ('Sue and Oliver') spoke of in her reply above are very common reasons: Firstly, insufficient insulin duration (insulin not lasting long enough in the system); and secondly, insulin dropping the BG too low and/or too fast (and subsequently bouncing up high.)

If your kitty is only getting one shot a day then insufficient insulin duration is quite probably the issue.
If your kitty is getting two shots a day then it could be that his BG is dropping too low (or too fast) and bouncing up high in response to that.

If your kitty is getting two shots a day then it may be that the insulin dose is too high.

We really need more information to work out what is going on. Can you answer the questions that Sue asked? (in first reply to your post).
And would you like to tell us your name?

Eliz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top