Critter Mom
Member Since 2014
The 50 BG reading* (human meter) is right at the limit where dose reductions are given on the Tight Regulation protocol.He's now home and +6 hours (since 1 unit Lantus this afternoon) and his BG = 50 (ReliOn).
My suggestion to you would be to look at the Start Low, Go Slow dosing method for Lantus. I also suggest you discuss the dosing method with your vet to make sure that they are happy it's a suitable treatment protocol for Oliver. Bearing in mind Oliver's recent heart scare your vet may recommend a different approach to his insulin treatment.
For the Start Low, Go Slow method, dose reductions are earned when BG drops below 90 (human meter), so Oliver ticked that box big time last night.
If you haven't already done so, regardless of the overall insulin treatment strategy they wish you to follow, I strongly recommend you agree a dose reduction with your vet before giving the next dose. Oliver's numbers dropped down to the very limit of the safe range last night. That was from the very first dose of 1.0 unit Lantus so there was no depot in play. If the 1.0 unit dose were to be maintained then as the depot started filling it is highly, highly probable that Oliver's BG would go too low.
Mogs
(* Did you mean 50 or 56 here? I ask because it's 56 in the spreadsheet.)
.
Last edited: