SUCCESS!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jennifer block

Member Since 2017
I ended up buying the micro and I got our 1st successful reading, 363..... that was before eating and before antibiotics and at least 8 hrs of not eating.

After that, I got the needle ready and filled it with only 1 unit of insulin for now & made him get up on the kitchen chair, and BOOM! DONE! It was like nothing happened to him, I don't even think he felt it. He was just acting like I was massaging him like I usually do.
1f642.png
I am super happy and now he is laying next to me while i post this. About to nap.

Let me get your advice, when should I check his BG again, considering this is our first night using the insulin???

#doingthehappydance #gomumu #itsyourbirthday #feelingmuchbetter
 
Once you feel comfortable testing pick a day you are home to do a curve. That's a test every 2 hours for 12 hours.
 
I ended up buying the micro and I got our 1st successful reading, 363..... that was before eating and before antibiotics and at least 8 hrs of not eating.

After that, I got the needle ready and filled it with only 1 unit of insulin for now & made him get up on the kitchen chair, and BOOM! DONE! It was like nothing happened to him, I don't even think he felt it. He was just acting like I was massaging him like I usually do.
1f642.png
I am super happy and now he is laying next to me while i post this. About to nap.

Let me get your advice, when should I check his BG again, considering this is our first night using the insulin???

#doingthehappydance #gomumu #itsyourbirthday #feelingmuchbetter
First of all - congratulations to you for getting this done!!! You probably feel terrific right now and you should! Give yourself a nice treat. :):):):)

How about getting one more test just before bed so you see what this first dose is doing? They can be somewhat erratic in their response the first little while but we say here, "All data is good data." It'll be another poke practice. You might find that it'll be a little hit or miss in going really smoothly at the start and that's perfectly normal.

Tomorrow: AM and PM tests before feeding and giving insulin - no food at least 2 hours before those tests. Try to get one or two other tests in the region of 4 to 8 hours after the AM shot. Don't worry about timing those around food.
 
Congrats on your first test!
You've already been given some suggestions for when to grab some more tests. You'll be a pro in no time ;). One thing caught my eye and just want to point it out before you get into the habit, don't feel bad, you wouldn't be the first :bighug:.
He was just acting like I was massaging him like I usually do.
1f642.png
Make sure after you administer insulin shot, do not massage or rub the injection site. It can effect how fast the insulin is absorbed. If you think you may have done a "fur shot" and need to check if his fur is wet, nothing more than a feather touch or you can do the "sniff test" :smuggrin:. Insulin has a strong latex/bandaid smell. Second, if you ever do have a "fur shot", Never administer a second shot. There's not way to know how much or how little insulin actually went in. Better to let him run a little higher for a cycle than too low for a second ;).

Welcome to the sugar dance! :cat:
 
Congrats Jennifer. Those first few tests and the injections can be challenging. That is exactly how it should be done...boom, and no waiting, and done. I tested Leo 6 times yesterday and 4 times today. He always knows that treats or food follow the testing.
 
Congrats on your first test!
You've already been given some suggestions for when to grab some more tests. You'll be a pro in no time ;). One thing caught my eye and just want to point it out before you get into the habit, don't feel bad, you wouldn't be the first :bighug:.

Make sure after you administer insulin shot, do not massage or rub the injection site. It can effect how fast the insulin is absorbed. If you think you may have done a "fur shot" and need to check if his fur is wet, nothing more than a feather touch or you can do the "sniff test" :smuggrin:. Insulin has a strong latex/bandaid smell. Second, if you ever do have a "fur shot", Never administer a second shot. There's not way to know how much or how little insulin actually went in. Better to let him run a little higher for a cycle than too low for a second ;).

Welcome to the sugar dance! :cat:

I was not massaging him after, I did it before. And then just rubbed my hand over the area.

One more thing I want to ask, he threw up a lil a couple times over the night. Just lil here & there. I caught it a few times, but not the ones from when I was sleeping. Is this normal?
 
I was not massaging him after, I did it before. And then just rubbed my hand over the area.

One more thing I want to ask, he threw up a lil a couple times over the night. Just lil here & there. I caught it a few times, but not the ones from when I was sleeping. Is this normal?
Was it a hairball, food, or just stomach acid? If it was stomach acid it may indicate he needs a bit more food overnight.
 
THANKS EVERYONE!!! I FEEL LIKE I'M WINNING!

OK, now spreadsheet is updated. His numbers are still high, but slowly dropping. 363, 361, 357. Is that normal to only drop a few numbers.? I gave him 2 units this morning. I don't know about you guys, but mornings are NOT for me. :p
If you can try to get a +4 reading. That's a big jump from 1 to 2. I would have held that 1 unit for a few days and then suggested a small increase to 1.5. When you increase too fast you may miss the ideal dose.
 
If you can try to get a +4 reading. That's a big jump from 1 to 2. I would have held that 1 unit for a few days and then suggested a small increase to 1.5. When you increase too fast you may miss the ideal dose.


Ill get a +4 reading. And it looked like a lil bit of food and hairball.
 
OK..... drumrolll please!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Stick with this dose a few more days. ProZinc peek around 6-7 hours after the shot, so try another reading at +6. We don't want it going too low where it causes a bounce. We don't know if you have a bouncy Tigger cat yet. Lol
If he is bouncy you'll want to back the dose down a little until the preshots settle. Let's see what happens.
 
Stick with this dose a few more days. ProZinc peek around 6-7 hours after the shot, so try another reading at +6. We don't want it going too low where it causes a bounce. We don't know if you have a bouncy Tigger cat yet. Lol
If he is bouncy you'll want to back the dose down a little until the preshots settle. Let's see what happens.

Normally, hes chill and playful throughout the day. I keep watching his behavior, nothing abnormal yet. Ill keep you all posted.
 
Now, 6 hours after his shot his sugar is 420. Am I to be worried? And before all this I gave him some catnip, and he threw it up.
 
Now, 6 hours after his shot his sugar is 420. Am I to be worried? And before all this I gave him some catnip, and he threw it up.
1. It could be a bounce from the 239, while it's not >50% than AMPS his body isn't used to seeing this number.
2. Could be a bounce from the 100% dose increase from 1.0U to 2.0U.
3. Throwing up may have stressed him a little bit.
4. Any chance he got into contraband?
5. Did you retest? Sometimes you can get a wonky test strip and while the 420 isn't incredibly different from his AMPS, you can retest.
6. How is he acting?
 
Now, 6 hours after his shot his sugar is 420. Am I to be worried? And before all this I gave him some catnip, and he threw it up.
I wouldn't be "worried'... that number won't hurt him or anything. Probably a bit of a bounce because he's not used to being in those lower numbers. Does he have a hairball? That can raise the numbers.
 
So, 5 hours after his dose (1.5 units, because maybe i moved to quickly with giving him 2.), he came in at 339.

His supplements came in the mail today. (The Missing Link) started him on that this evening so he can get his taurine & calcium.

Question, because hes still on his antibiotics from his bad UTI, can that mess with his sugars?
 
So, 5 hours after his dose (1.5 units, because maybe i moved to quickly with giving him 2.), he came in at 339.

His supplements came in the mail today. (The Missing Link) started him on that this evening so he can get his taurine & calcium.

Question, because hes still on his antibiotics from his bad UTI, can that mess with his sugars?
The infection can elevate BG until it's fully cleared up.
 
Ok. BG 339 this morning. The same last night. Hes down stairs eating. Ill check him at the 4 hr mark again.
I suggest you give the same dose AM and PM right now. You're accumulating dose/BG information and changing the dose can cause erratic responses. This is a technique that can work well once you're in a dose range that gives decent control and you're fine tuning things. As Janet suggested above, hold the 1 unit dose for at least a couple of days, starting this AM.

The UTI might be keeping his BGs high and until that's cleared up you can't evaluate the insulin dose very well. How many more days is he on ABs?
 
Sounds good, thanks. I was going to hold at 1 unit for this whole next week.

We are on day 6 of antibiotics. He gets it before dinner. What ive been doing is taking his BG, giving his insulin and then giving his antibiotic, in that order.
 
So glad to see you are getting into a routine and it seems, feeling much better about things now! You and Mufasa are doing great! :D
 
So glad to see you are getting into a routine and it seems, feeling much better about things now! You and Mufasa are doing great! :D

Thanks!! I am, but unfortunately now im dealing with family that think im over doing it. :(

So, ive been trying to keep stress levels down at home. Im sure mufasa feels it.
 
It's a big change for all concerned. In no time, you will all settle down and things will go back to a more normal state of affairs. The first couple of weeks can be a bit trying but it gets easier day by day and soon no one will think you are overdoing it! ;)
 
Thanks!! I am, but unfortunately now im dealing with family that think im over doing it. :(

So, ive been trying to keep stress levels down at home. Im sure mufasa feels it.

I'm relatively new here too my cat was diagnosed about a month ago. I deal with some people in my family that think I'm crazy for even keeping a diabetic cat and yet I think they're crazy for even suggesting I wouldn't. I don't even like talking to them about it. And even though it's unfortunate I can't vent to them, I'm ok with it because I know I'm doing the right things to take care of my cat. You don't have to second guess yourself, you're doing the right thing too. A lot of people don't understand what it really takes. I would listen to the advice you get here, these people are really knowledgeable and helpful.
 
Last edited:
Well, hubbys cousins dog had babies & he is setting aside one. We keep arguing about getting a dog. Mufasa is the only animal we have, i solely take care of him cause he's mine & hubbys daughter is grossed out by his food, poop & vomit. Hubby works 10 to 12 hrs a day & sometimes 4 hours on Saturday. I honestly don't have time to take care of a puppy & Mufasa right now. And he don't understand. Ugh. Stressful arguments & then guilt treatments from him. #venting
 
Oh Jenny! I agree a puppy would be a handful even without the Mufasa stuff right now. How old is hubby's daughter? Is she old enough to take on some of the puppy responsibilities? If it's her that wants the puppy then she should be willing to do whatever is needed including cleaning up after it. If it's hubby, well that's a different ball of wax. Vent all you want. We all need to vent at times! Who knows....you may get your heart stolen by the little drooler!
 
Well, hubbys cousins dog had babies & he is setting aside one. We keep arguing about getting a dog. Mufasa is the only animal we have, i solely take care of him cause he's mine & hubbys daughter is grossed out by his food, poop & vomit. Hubby works 10 to 12 hrs a day & sometimes 4 hours on Saturday. I honestly don't have time to take care of a puppy & Mufasa right now. And he don't understand. Ugh. Stressful arguments & then guilt treatments from him. #venting
Ask him if he's willing to get a dog walker, and say it's 100% on him to clean any poop in the yard. And to the daughter, dogs eat, poop, and puke too. Lol
 
I love ALL animals. And the lil drooler will still my heart, but i have to stand my ground. This is the pup. Hes the biggest one. (All white with brown back.

His lil girl is almost 12, and pretty much spoiled all her life until i came into the picture. #longstory

But he knows we cant do it.
 

Attachments

  • FB_IMG_1500240983323.jpg
    FB_IMG_1500240983323.jpg
    58.6 KB · Views: 53
  • FB_IMG_1500240977966.jpg
    FB_IMG_1500240977966.jpg
    106 KB · Views: 43
  • FB_IMG_1500240966512.jpg
    FB_IMG_1500240966512.jpg
    46.7 KB · Views: 48
  • FB_IMG_1500240963424.jpg
    FB_IMG_1500240963424.jpg
    27.5 KB · Views: 50
I love ALL animals. And the lil drooler will still my heart, but i have to stand my ground. This is the pup. Hes the biggest one. (All white with brown back.

His lil girl is almost 12, and pretty much spoiled all her life until i came into the picture. #longstory

But he knows we cant do it.
Super cute! But puppies are a LOT of work. If he gets it have him and your step daughter sign a contract that the care is all on them.
 
Cute, yes. But learning to treat and handle diabetes takes awhile. You are doing great. It is fun to see the positive effects of correct treatments (insulin and food) on your kitteh. But there can be challenging times even when you are doing it right.

Plus...what will happen if the doglet drools on Mufasa?:eek::)
 
Cute, yes. But learning to treat and handle diabetes takes awhile. You are doing great. It is fun to see the positive effects of correct treatments (insulin and food) on your kitteh. But there can be challenging times even when you are doing it right.

Plus...what will happen if the doglet drools on Mufasa?:eek::)

Oh, Mufasa wont get close enough for that. Lol he wants nothing to do with another furbaby in HIS house. Lol
 
We have been going to the vet a lot in the last 2 months (LD's chest wound, Leo's e-tube implant and lymphoma diagnosis, etc). They saved 2 litters of wild kittens. And they are on display right in front. Theresa bugged me a bunch, but we held off. Too much right now. I'm glad to report the 2 litters were 9 kittehs and are now 4 kittehs. Some great people have adopted. Little cutey picture attached...she got adopted. It was hard holding out :)
 

Attachments

  • Itty Bitty 6 week old kitteh 05-31-2017.jpg
    Itty Bitty 6 week old kitteh 05-31-2017.jpg
    69.2 KB · Views: 54
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top