Success :) (and a Lantus question!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Holly & Dagda

Member Since 2012
Just thought I'd give an update and ask a question! Dagda has been reacting well to the new diet and insulin. I did what you all recommended and kept her dose at 1.5 u steadily and now after completely changing her over to wet food her numbers have changed! The past three days her numbers have been as follows:
Monday ( all wet food)
339 amps 1.5u, 317 pmps 1.5u
Tuesday ( all wet food)
337 amps 1.5u, 216 pmps 250 after eating 1.5u
Wednesday (all wet food)
245 amps 1.5u, 149 nadir, 182 pmps

So question is, since her numbers are doing this should I lower her dose to 1u tonight? Or keep it steady at 1.5u.

Thanks guys! I'm so happy she's doing better. I can tell she's feeling better and the methylb12 seems to be working a bit as well. Patience... :)
 
Thanks! I wish I could make a spreadsheet.. Right now I'm using my phone for Internet so when I get a week or so of levels down I can go use my parents computer to make one.
 
Hi,
If you were to shoot the normal 1.5u tonight, would you be able to test mid-cycle, like at +3 or +4?

Carl
 
Sure! She gets fed in small amounts from 5:30 to 7:30 then I give her shot around 7:45-8. So around 11 or 12 tonight I'll test her again.
 
The numbers that you have seen so far are encouraging! The reason I asked about testing 3 or 4 hours after the shot is that many times, you can see at that point what you can expect later in the cycle. It all comes down to your level of comfort when you consider shooting a number that seems low to you. If you are able to monitor, and you know what to look for and how to react to low numbers when you see them, that determines your level of comfort. Tonight, you could shoot the normal amount if you can monitor closely, or a little less (can you eyeball 1.25u on the syringe?). Or 1u.

I'm going to check to see if there are some folks with lots of experience with your insulin online, and ask that they come over to take a look at your question.

Carl
 
If you are going to monitor closely, then I think I would keep the dose at 1.5 ( definitely get some tests in the middle of the cycle)
and pull the syrup out of the cabinet.

But IF you think you might pass out on the couch and throw the alarm clock at the wall...... then 1.25....


Do I sound sleep deprived? I-)
 
LOL, sounds like somebody has had a couple of all-nighters with a lancet in one hand and "sweets" in the other? :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top