stupid stupid mistake, accidentally double dosed

Status
Not open for further replies.
equine99 said:
How long should the dry food be expected to take?
... I'll just keep on testing every 1/2 hour. If she does go high, I should just wait that out, right? don't do anything until it comes back down, if it does?

When I did the same thing with Spitzer, I believe it started kicking in between 6-8 hours after he'd eaten it, but I'd have to go look up the posts.

At your regular shot time IF she is over 200, you might do a token dose. Some cats become more sensitive to insulin after a hypo. You were giving around 0.5 units or less and extending the period, so you may well be able to wait until the next shot time. Just be cautious - you can't get the insulin out once it goes in!

I'm do apologize, but I've got to crash and get some sleep for tomorrow so I can function at work. My sleep disorder is screeching at me, *sigh*
 
I"m thinking I'll skip it no matter what until at least tomorrow at noon. Thanks for staying up with me and go get some sleep! I think I'm okay from here. It was so helpful having you guys so responsive right at the beginning.
 
155 ~ PMPS
164 ~ +.66, 7:15-ish
156 ~ +1.25, 8:00 pm PST
97 ~ +1.75, 8:30 pm
59 ~ +2.25, 9:00 pm
79 ~ +2.50, 9:20 pm
70 ~ +3.00
68 ~ +3.5 10:30pm
97 ~ +4.25 11:15pm think this is the honey in the honey/wet/dry mixture, maybe plus boost from dry.
 
OK, good. We want to see another rising number without more food. 30 minutes?

Carl
 
Question in the meantime...

Do your u100 syringes have half-unit marks?
 
they always have food out--should i take it away for 30 min? we're not at the nadir yet, so if she's hungry i'd prefer to let her eat.
 
I'd hide the food for 30 minutes. If you get a higher number, then I think you could put the food back out and she should be good for the rest of the night. If it makes you feel better about it, you could set your alarm to check her in a couple of hours to make sure she's still okay.

You can get u100's with 1/2 unit marks, which will make these tiny doses easier to manage. On u40 doses like .2, .4 or .6, you'd have a line that matched up on the u100s. You'd only have to eyeball if you were dosing "odd" doses like .1, .3 or .5, and that eyeballing would put you right between the marks on the u100s. Just a thought.

Carl
 
okay, she's at 111 now at +5. I feel a lot better. I'm going to leave the dry out for her to eat as she sees fit overnight, and then take it away in the morning and replace with her usual wet food.

Thank you everyone for your help! Think it's time to go to sleep...
 
Yeah, I think she's okay for the night, especially if she's got the option of eating. Great job dealing with the low numbers tonight!

If you have any questions in the morning on dose, make sure to post them here. I may not be around, but someone is always here.

Sleep well.
Carl
 
Great job getting thru this with a cool head! And thank you Carl & BJM for keeping tabs on them. I knew she & Snowflake were in good hands.

(You should probably take the 911 tag off of your original post. Just go to the first post, hit edit and then change the tag from 911 to none)
 
Glad to see she came back up alright.




(Turns out some of my fatigue is an asthma flare from a virus. *sigh*)
 
So, how are things this morning?
Could you make one little tweak to the SS? On last night's cycle, can you change that green "1" to a 1.0 and get rid of the background color? That will make it look like a shot dose and not a really scary meter reading.
:smile:

Carl
 
I tried a bunch of times to change the format, but it kept defaulting back to the conditional formatting. might have to bring it back into excel to make the change. This morning she was 496! holy bejesus! must be the remnants of the dry food. at +14 I gave her 0.4u and switched all of the food back to canned. Plus I got her up and running around with her favorite toy, the laser pointer. I'll post where she is when I get back home after work.
 
Yikes! I was expecting high, but not quite that high. But good that you went with .4 and removed dry from the menu!

Carl
 
If you ever needed proof how much dry affects the glucose, that ought to do it!

Aren't you glad we warned you? (been there, did that myself, so don't feel bad!)

Please pick up some canned high carb to put in the cupboard so that if this happens again (you are at low doses, so its possible), you can use that, rather than dry food. The aftermath of using a teaspoon at a time of high carb canned doesn't last quite as long because you can feed as you go, rather than free-feeding dry and guessing when it will kick in and help offset the insulin.
 
Just popping in to see how things went the rest of the evening.

You did a great job last night!

I want to invite you over to the PZI board. There are lots of expeirenced members that can help you with dosing everyday. All you have to do is post & you will get help. ;-) I am there everyday. Hope to see you over there.
 
thanks everyone! So I just got home from work and at +11 she was at 196. so much better! They had no food left, so I fed and gave her 0.4 units, since the 196 is probably a hungry 196. I think tomorrow morning will be the real test, and yes, high carb wet food is definitely on the grocery list! Thanks again for everyone's help last night! it made all the difference.
 
That is a much nicer number to come home to!

Carl
 
Try to get a couple test I tonight to see how 196 responds to .4.
You might need to lower the dose next time. After a hypo situtation cats will be more sensitive to insulin. Usually after a hypo you should decrease the next dose. Hopefully, you won't have anymore of those.

Come on over to PZI.
 
Oy. at +2 she's at 77. I'm not going to free feed the dry tonight, as the spike from this morning was just horrible, but I think I'll give her a few pieces of kibble. Guess the 0.4 was way too much :(
 
The other possibility is that when you got the 196, the number wasn't rising, but that's probably not the case. Or like Jenn said, she may be insulin sensitive after that low series of numbers last night.

Did you hit the grocery store today for the HC canned food by any chance?

Carl
 
Jenn & Baxter said:
Try to get a couple test I tonight to see how 196 responds to .4.
You might need to lower the dose next time. After a hypo situtation cats will be more sensitive to insulin. Usually after a hypo you should decrease the next dose. Hopefully, you won't have anymore of those.

Come on over to PZI.

Would you say that she actually went hypo though? she's had many readings in the 50s before, and her non-diabetic biological sister has been in the 50's the few times i've tested her. plus, she never had any signs of being hypo.
 
"Hypo" is a term that gets used frequently, but in last night's case, technically no, she wasn't hypoglycemic. She probably would have been had you not intervened. Literally, any BG number below normal (50 on a human glucometer) would be hypoglycemic, which just means blood glucose lower than the normal range. And she could be hypoglycemic without showing clinical signs routinely associated with hypoglycemia.

If you had not caught her low number early in the cycle last night, she very well could have gone way low, so it was a potential bad situation avoided.

But if a cat goes close to the edge of "hypo", it seems that they can be more sensitive to a similar dose the next cycle or two. At least many people here have experienced that.

Carl

edited it to fix gender. I called her a him!
 
Good to know. She just ate so I'm going to test again at the next hour point and see where she is, and if it's leveled out I'll let her be but with lots of wet food out.
 
unfortunately she did not level out. she was at 34 when I tested at +3, so I immedeately put some honey on her gums. she really did not like that! I gave her some more dry kibble, because of course I was so concerned about her that I just came home after work, not thinking this could happen tonight too, so I didn't get any hc wet food. I also mixed some honey into hot water and she drank all of that. I then tested again at +3.25 and she was up to 56. She's lying down now and has a bowl of kibble and some more warm honey water in front of her, but is probably full at this point. Will keep testing her every 1/2 hour again. le sigh.
 
I was hoping that wouldn't happen... OK, so apparently .4 is too much into a number that low. Looks like you'll be getting into mini-micro dosing. This is great in one way, but more excitement than you probably need late at night, huh?
Carl
 
definitely more excitement than I wanted tonight! I'm taking a big test on Saturday so I was planning on doing practice tests last night and tonight, but can't keep my attention away from her for long enough to do the test, as it's at least 75 min each in two chunks, so that's been very annoying. Plus, I'll be going on vacation for a week next week, and was really hoping I could just do one shot per day for her, since it's $$$ to have a pet sitter come twice a day. really hoping this doesn't mess that up.
 
Have you posted where about you live to see if any other board members live nearby?

Carl
 
145 at +4, so I think that must be the honey and honey water kicking in. I'll test again in 1/2 an hour. And no, I haven't posted where I live on the board. Is that something people do?
 
Good that the numbers came up, and yes, due to the honey.
You can add your location to your avatar, like mine says "hunting island, sc". Nobody lives too close to me, but there are a couple of ladies in PZI who are actually neighbors. Sometimes a nearby member can visit to show new people how to home test for instance. There might be someone close who can cat-sit or at least drop by to test and shoot.
Sometimes people just post in Community or Health and ask "anyone live close to fill-in-the-blank" or "looking for good FD vet near fill-in-the-blank".

Carl
 
okay, 165 at +4.5, so i think I'm going to go to sleep. leaving lots of wet food out and counting on the dry she's already eaten to continue to kick in throughout the rest of the night. dreading the number i'll see in the morning :(
 
Good job again with the low numbers! Hopefully she won't be quite as high in the AM.
Sleep well,
Carl
 
Wow...Snowflake is really keeping you on your toes, isn't she!?
You've done a really good job handling these numbers!
 
Well, just woke up to 446. not great at all, but better than 496. Gave her 0.4 and am going to hang around a bit before leaving for work so I can check her at +1. I'm thinking at +12 I shouldn't shoot if she's anything under 250 to just see what her own body does, and maybe only 0.2 units if she's between 250 and 300.
 
So at just barely not quite +1, she's at 498. very frustrated. I must leave for work, so I suppose all I can do is hope the insulin kicks in soon...
 
Typical prozinc onset is 2-3 hours after shots. The food hit and the prozinc will shortly.

Carl
 
Okay, just got home and at +13, she was at 330. That's about 130 higher than last night, so I gave 0.3 (maybe less since there was one bubble I couldn't get rid of). Let's see how tonight goes...
 
Remember to breathe!

And remember its a process, not an event! :smile:

Its OK to start a new post for each day when its not a direct continuation of a specific issue. Many of us title them with the date and cat's name, plus a bit of a headline, such as test values, or a note. When you do decide to post another topic, you can link to the previous one so that folks can back track if so inclined.
 
Its OK to start a new post for each day when its not a direct continuation of a specific issue. Many of us title them with the date and cat's name, plus a bit of a headline, such as test values, or a note.

I agree with BJ. You can start a new thread. And next time, don't use the word "stupid" (not even once!). Every time I've replied I'm thinking "hey, it wasn't stupid, quit saying that!" :lol:

And please let us know what we can call you instead of "snowflake's mom"? We're sort of on a first name basis here ;-)

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top