? Stuck...

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by MollyG, Mar 3, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MollyG

MollyG Member

This is my first post. My husband and I are new to cat diabetes, though we've been cat owners forever (38 years). I was a vet tech in my college years but that was a long time ago. Our long hair tortie Allie was diagnosed in November. Our other cat, Tango, had been diagnosed in August but went into remission once we changed the food from Fancy Feast gravies to FF classics, then Purina DM.

I tried to put all the details in my spreadsheet, hope I got it filled out right.

Allie's been great in spirits and has cooperated through all of this, but we can't stabilize her. She is in good physical shape, wakes me up for her shots and doesn't hide on us. Of course her activity level has reduced, she rests her head on her water a lot, and we're just imagining all the damage being done by the constant high levels.

Our vet is part of a team with a lot of experience, she's been seen by 4 of them. At this point we expect we'll be bringing her in for another curve (it's tough for us to get that many sticks at home), and we're looking for any suggestions. Thanks.

2. Ann & Scatcats

Ann & Scatcats Well-Known Member

Hi. Yep, by spreadsheet you have fiddled quickly too much with the insulin doses. It's by 5 and 4 you get the yellows, some green, some blue and most pinkish. You should stay on same long insulin 5 units course, for long,

But, due to these staggering high insulin doses from 5 to 7.5 you have most of, have you gotten kitty tested for Acromygelia? See in Acro Forum for more https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/acromegaly-iaa-cushings-cats.12/

3. Bron and Sheba (GA)

Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

Hi Molly and Allie and welcome.
    Well done home testing the BG.
    The first thing I notice is that you are not testing before every insulin dose.