CORKY
Member Since 2023
If you read the information the Sienne offered you will understand better that Lantus is a 12 hour insulin and like she said it does not last all the way to the 12 hours that’s why is necessary to shoot twice a day, so if your vet tells you 1 unit as Squeen3 explained split it that unit as she said, you want to start slow but right, Sienne as I said before is a Wizard on Lantus, dosing and Medical explanations on FD, let yourself be guided by someone that has saved many cats lives including my Corky’s, you can also review Corky’s spreadsheet, although he is on ProZinc he gets 2 shot every 12 hours there is 3 years of data and also if you scroll to your left at the end you can get an idea how and what we feed and when, I’m like Sienne I am an obsessive tester, I test every two hours, but you don't Have to, last Friday I had toe surgery , and I left my house at 5:30AM came back at 4:00PM I made sure to test feed and shoot, I had a neighbor that gave a snack a 8:00AM and lunch at 1:00 PM, I came back and tested and he was great! Numbers as they should be, so I noticed that I have to learn not to test every 2 hours, like I said I’m learning still after 3 years, slow down follow suggestions When I started this forum it was 3 months after diagnosed, I was at the point of a nervous breakdown, my vet fired me, so I was alone guessing for 3 months, with Corky’s BG at 650 after he spend 8 days hospitalized, and only with this forum and only this forum I have been able to regulate, increase/decrease doses, and any other concern I may have and today Corky’s numbers are anywhere between 70-90 perfect!! Be kind to yourself, I’ll tell you what Suzanne( great coach for either Lantus/ProZinc) “ take a step back, breath in, breath out, cats are very sensitive to Stress you stress they stress”. It works every time
Last edited: