Smokey and Jessica
Member Since 2018
I posted before on the health forum about Smokey’s glucose bouncing wildly. The vet took 5 glucose curves over the course of 2 weeks to set him on 2 units, but when I just started testing at home approx two weeks later, the first day he continuously went up, next day caught a low of 38, next day at the vet this time continuously up, so at home the next day I lowered to 1.5 but he still hit a low of 47. (I use an aphatrak) Now I lowered to just 1, once last night once this morning. Today we started with 190 pre- shot, for the rest of the day got 281, 172, 214 which seem to be really good right? But his evening pre-shot was 393. I only gave him 1 again since all day was great numbers, but is that really an ok pre- shot number to shoot for? I’m wondering if he’s now recovered from the too high dose of 2 and the 393 is a more true reading since a few days ago he was struggling with too much? Like should I give him a few days to get completely over that before I say ok this is a good dose? I want to do 1 for at least one more day to see if I get those awesome daytime numbers again, but I don’t know if he should be getting as high as 393 between shots? What really is a good pre-shot number to shoot for?