lsweanor said:
The vet recommended leaving him alone, not testing again until Monday morning... and just watching him. But I can't help myself. Too scary. Tests I've taken: 328 this morning 1/2 hr after giving 1 unit Humulin; 322 at 1.5 hrs post, 83 at 5 hrs post, 328 at 9 hrs post. !
My cat Louie has been on Novolin N (same thing as Humulin N - just different manfacturers) since being diagnosed 3 weeks ago and my vet recommended a high starting dose, 2units to start. I'm glad I found this board and cut that way back and started testing myself because even with a reduced dose I had some scary lows (40-55)
This is how I dose Louie's Novolin N (She is on all low carb wet, weighs 12 lbs 2 oz)
Under 180 = NO INSULIN AT ALL
180-220, = scant 1/2u (maybe about 1/3, a shade under .5 on the syringe
200-250 = full 1/2 unit (.5)
She has not been over 240 preshot since bringing her home from the vet (where she was 380 on the cat meter, but non-fasting)
With this dosage she drops in the 70s as her lowest by hour 4-4.5 which I feel comfortable with.
For Stripes, I would just give him a maximum of one unit if his starting glucose is around 300 or better, but I really think you could drop back to 1/2 unit and watch him on that for a few days. If he needs more, you could gradually add .25 u at a time. His higher number this morning might be a rebound number and he really is trending to lower preshot numbers. You said his preshot glucose has been 200 or less a couple times this past week and only 91 when you gave him his usual 2u...obviously that was too much. I also wouldn't dose him at all at 172. It's possible his pancreas is starting to kick in and make some of his own insulin so you want to encourage that and not suppress it by adding outside insulin...obviously, if his BG is higher, you want to supplement him since he's not making enough on his own.
91 is a GREAT number, normal range and it's best to let numbers like that ride insulin-free and see where he is in 12 hours.
I would not give him any insulin at all if he is under 180-200. At 200-250 I would give him only 1/2 unit MAXIMUM and test him starting at +2.
You see how low he went at +5? on one unit? 83. Humulin/Novolin will give a huge drop between +3 and +4. It's likely he could have been lower than 83 earlier.
The critical time to test is when he's falling and the insulin is most active, hours 2-6, after than you can expect his glucose to rise, but that is safe zone and you can rest and sleep ;-)
You did great dealing with his hypo, isn't it scary? That's why you should always err on the side of giving him less, rather than more.