strange numbers, dosing question

Status
Not open for further replies.

kds0200

Member
Hello all! Was wondering if I could get some advice on Bailey's numbers from the past few days. I'm a little concerned because I haven't seen his numbers do this before, especially yesterday and today. We held steady at a 1.5 unit dose for almost two weeks, then I thought we'd up to 1.6 since he had some good curves. But 1.6 never brought him any lower (and actually his nadirs were higher on the higher dose), so we went back to 1.5.

Then yesterday morning I got a yellow pre shot number so I gave a slightly lower dose, 1.4. That put him on a roller coaster though. I feel like that could also be attributed to either using a different, shorter needle (U100 with conversion for the odd dose size) OR to opening a new box of test strips (perhaps something is off with this batch?). He's also been having a bit of diarrhea still though, even after several days of pumpkin and three days with Fortiflora (I know they might not work quickly but it still worries me). So I'm wondering if that might be another problem that's just adding to the BG mix?

As usual I'm rambling and probably worried over nothing. He acts like he feels fine, he sits out in his favorite spot in the living room and is happy to get out and walk around the yard or sit on the patio with me. He comes to the door whenever I come in and is pretty patient with the testing still. And he's eating well, especially with the added pumpkin at breakfast and Fortiflora at dinner! So those are all good things at least. But any feedback on those SS numbers will be much appreciated, as always!
 
I think his numbers look okay. He does seem to take more than the average 3 cycles to settle into a dose (it took awhile before you started to see nicer numbers with the 1.5). It's true his numbers are hard to see a pattern but in general, I see an improvement. And if he seems happy, that is big.

What about diet? Is he eating one particular flavor or is he getting a variety? There is always a chance of diarrhea being caused by diet. My cats couldn't ever eat beef without intestinal upsets. All other flavors were fine. You might start feeding one flavor exclusively for a few meals and see if things improve or not.

But I am big on gut feelings. If you think the diarrhea is taking too long to resolve, it might be a good idea to visit the vet, just for your peace of mind.
 
He's getting a variety of flavors on his diet but it's all Fancy Feast. He refuses to eat anything fishy and he's not that fond of beef so I stick with chicken and turkey flavors (and we've been on those with no problems for long enough that I can't really attribute the diarrhea to that). He only gets a variety because when I had him on strictly FF classic chicken pate at the beginning, after about two weeks of that he started refusing to eat it. He's back to eating the chicken pate now that I'm sprinkling FortiFlora on it in the evenings, but in the morning he gets one of the other flavors.

I'm trying to stay patient with it and keep testing when we can to see how things are changing. I guess we'll stick with the 1.5 again for now but it just got frustrating for me to think I should be adjusting the dose to bring his numbers down to more regular levels and not really being sure how to go about doing that. I don't have a vet that I feel like we have a good relationship with so I hesitate to take him in for anything unless he's really acting like something is wrong.
 
I think keeping him on a consistent dose is good at this time too. With Merlin, I had to do that as well. If he wasn't receiving a consistent dose at least at first, he would bounce for a couple of cycles. So by doing being consistent, I think he started getting used to the insulin and what it was trying to do. With time (maybe a week of consistent doses), I would move the dose depending on the numbers I was seeing. Whether I decreased or increased, he would bounce around again and then settle into that dose. It was painful seeing those higher numbers but I usually kept with that dose for at least 3-4 cycles to see he would settle in to it. Of course if he got a strange number (one that I have not seen before), then I would change the dose, typically a conservative dose, in order to keep him safe. After awhile, I moved to a sliding scale, so it was nice to have all that data to help guide me to a safe sliding scale. He doesn't do much bouncing anymore (although he did yesterday am...ugh) but if he does it is usually a one timer.

You are getting some good data and you are getting some good nadirs too (a nice smile). I am wondering if he is little lower at the +5 than the +6. Since the last 27 days, he has been higher at PMPS 17 times. The reason why I mention is that you may be getting better numbers a little earlier. However it may not be that much from the +6.

Merlin was diagnosed in October 2013 but I didn't find this site until March 2014. So since March (when I really started testing and collecting the data), he bounced around for four months (June) before getting used to the insulin and it wasn't till August when he started getting better numbers. So I think it takes a while for some kitties to get used to the insulin.
 
Hey Cindi, thanks for the feedback! It's interesting to look at Merlin's SS too. I think I'm going to try a slightly increased dose tomorrow, when I'm able to test though out the day, and I'll test at +5 and +7 instead of my usual times. He's just so all over the place lately number-wise, but he's got lots of energy and is acting like his usual self, eating fine and being sociable and talkative (within reason, haha).

I think the problem I've had with doing slight dose changes (1.4 or 1.6) is that I'm converting to use a U-100 needle which is shorter and I'm not used to it anymore. So I'm pretty sure each of those doses has been a fur shot. I can eyeball a 1.75 on a U-40 needle though, so that's the plan to try tomorrow (assuming his pre shot is still in the 300s). Wish us luck! :roll:
 
Re: strange numbers, dosing question (mystery solved)

Mystery solved - Bailey found his old Purina dry food that I'd put up in a bag to donate to the shelter, ripped into it, and has been munching on that in secret! Boy do I feel dumb. :oops: Bag of old food is now in car, will be donating tomorrow. Back on his better diet, I hope for better numbers in the coming days... :?
 
Aha! Well, it is good to have an explanation and a solution. Now you can get him back on track.

Amazing how addicted they are to the kibble, isn't it?
 
Well, and especially amazing considering he had also been eating almost all of his canned food throughout the day AND free feeding on the 1/3 cup of YAZC kibble that I leave out JUST because I know he's still addicted to it! haha He knew what he wanted though and sniffed out how to get it. Too smart for his own good maybe.

And yes, good to have an explanation. I'll still feel like a dumb bean for a few days but we'll get back on track ;-)
 
Oh,gotta love our sugar kitties! :lol:

This sounds like something Hank would do too! Glad you figured it out.

Have a good day,

Kimmie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top