Stoney - old thread

McKenzie & Stoney

Member Since 2025
61 PMPS. Last dose was 9.5u. We are on a major time constraint. Husband is leaving 30 minutes after shot to pick me up from airport. What dose do we give? Will be away from 6pm til 10pm. PLEASE HELP ASAP!!!
 
Stoney is eating now. Unfortunately circumstances have changed and now my husband has to pick us up and has to give shot asap before leaving. It’s either shoot or skip.
 
He’s at 59. Making executive decision to skip. This is not something we would normally or even like to do but not being able to give a +2 or +4 and test makes this extremely difficult.
 
He’s at 59. Making executive decision to skip. This is not something we would normally or even like to do but not being able to give a +2 or +4 and test makes this extremely difficult.
It’s OKAY! Everything is going to be okay and you aren’t going to harm Stoney in any way by skipping tonight. We can get him right back on track. I am sorry I didn’t see this earlier tonight. But skipping was a very good choice for now with everything going on and you returning from the trip, etc.
 
The spreadsheet for today is blank until the 59 PMPS.

Anyway, I am glad you will be home. It must’ve been a wild trip with the high schoolers at Disney. You are a sweetheart for doing that.
 
The spreadsheet for today is blank until the 59 PMPS.

Anyway, I am glad you will be home. It must’ve been a wild trip with the high schoolers at Disney. You are a sweetheart for doing that.
Morning Suzanne…. I have no idea what is going on with Stoney. We skipped last night and at +5 he was at 62 and +6 80. Now it’s AMPS time, and he is 72. This is extremely unexpected. I want to give insulin if possible, even a small dose. Any ideas?
 
Morning Suzanne…. I have no idea what is going on with Stoney. We skipped last night and at +5 he was at 62 and +6 80. Now it’s AMPS time, and he is 72. This is extremely unexpected. I want to give insulin if possible, even a small dose. Any ideas?
Our messages just crossed. I do see this happen sometimes. Can you stall the shot for an hour to see if he’s just staying in green or going up?
 
I’m happy to give a small dose, I just can’t determine how many units to give 😬
And you will be home today?
Really a small dose probably won’t do much but keep him from climbing too high. You could try 4 units which is less than half. Or you could give an even smaller dose of 2 units. Or you could skip the dose entirely if you don’t feel up to monitoring today too much.
 
And you will be home today?
Really a small dose probably won’t do much but keep him from climbing too high. You could try 4 units which is less than half. Or you could give an even smaller dose of 2 units. Or you could skip the dose entirely if you don’t feel up to monitoring today too much.
I will be home! We can try 4 units! Hoping I can get some sleep in between tests and feeds. I’m exhausted! Thank you for all your help. Seems like I only come back for 911’s!
 
Yes. Why was the dose reduced to 9.5 from 12.5?
We actually lowered for a token dose of 6.5 on the evening of 3/15 based off instructions. Since his numbers were lower, my husband was worried about giving him the full dose and Stoney going too low the next morning and then not being able to test/feed/shoot in the time slot we have set. Then, if he went too low, there would not be anyone to test and give snack or be there for a hypo emergency. We’re gradually bringing him back up to 12.5u if needed. So, if he is in the 200-300 range, increase back to 12.5u tonight? That’s a big jump from 4! I would not be able to monitor any further than +4. I have to return to work tomorrow and am utterly exhausted.
 
We actually lowered for a token dose of 6.5 on the evening of 3/15 based off instructions. Since his numbers were lower, my husband was worried about giving him the full dose and Stoney going too low the next morning and then not being able to test/feed/shoot in the time slot we have set. Then, if he went too low, there would not be anyone to test and give snack or be there for a hypo emergency. We’re gradually bringing him back up to 12.5u if needed. So, if he is in the 200-300 range, increase back to 12.5u tonight? That’s a big jump from 4! I would not be able to monitor any further than +4. I have to return to work tomorrow and am utterly exhausted.
Let’s see what happens during the cycle.
 
I hope you have gotten at least a few naps today. I understand that you are really exhausted.

I see that he was pink at +8. Hopefully, you took a nap after that!

His dose has been jockeyed around quite a bit recently. That’s not a criticism. I know that this wasn’t a normal situation and you were out of town. It’s not unusual to see BG numbers fluctuating a lot when there are too many dose changes in a short period of time. Again … not criticism, just information.
 
Will you (or someone else) be able to get any tests tomorrow during the daytime cycle? I am trying to think ahead.

I know you mentioned not being able to stay up past +4 tonight.
Yes, I will be here! We are retuning to the office April 1st so I am very nervous about no tests and snacks then. Like I said, we got the automatic feeder but he won’t touch it!
 
I hope you have gotten at least a few naps today. I understand that you are really exhausted.

I see that he was pink at +8. Hopefully, you took a nap after that!

His dose has been jockeyed around quite a bit recently. That’s not a criticism. I know that this wasn’t a normal situation and you were out of town. It’s not unusual to see BG numbers fluctuating a lot when there are too many dose changes in a short period of time. Again … not criticism, just information.
I just woke up from a really long nap. I sure needed that. I’m sick too with a sinus infection that came on strong this morning, so I am struggling! Yes, I know, I’m not happy about the changes in the doses either. My husband was trying his best while I was gone! And I was trying to help him from 3 states away. Poor guy, he was getting nervous too, not knowing what to do but he stepped up! I’m thankful for him!
 
You are hesitant to return to his former dose?
Slightly! I just didn’t know if it was okay to jump back up to 12.5u after him being low at 9.5 and then doing 4u this morning. So I can safely do 12.5? I know I will not be staying up past his+4 this evening, I need to be rested for work. :)
 
Okay well at least go back to 9.5 units and then get a +2 and +4. Then we will see how he does. If he stays high and is high in the morning then you can gradually increase and get some tests.
 
His lowest recorded BG was 59 and that is a safe number so I feel like he will be okay— especially with the regular snacks at +2 and +4.
 
How many cats do you have/how many siblings does he have?
We have 3 total! Kandy, Stoney, and Mushi :) 1 female 2 male! Here’s pics in that order! They are my babies!! 🩷🩷 my husband was telling me that none of them slept with him while I was away. As soon as I got in bed they all followed!! 😂🩷
 

Attachments

  • IMG_2126.jpeg
    IMG_2126.jpeg
    2.8 MB · Views: 19
  • IMG_2381.jpeg
    IMG_2381.jpeg
    4.5 MB · Views: 19
  • IMG_2338.jpeg
    IMG_2338.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 17
Back
Top