Stoney AMPS 110

McKenzie & Stoney

Member Since 2025
Good morning, we have not seen a +12 from PMPS this low. Stoney is at 110, we are stalling and testing again in 30 minutes. I am not worried about hypo as much as I am skipping a dose. Last time we skipped a dose was 12/20/2025 due to being out of town and his ketones skyrocketed and could smell the acetone on his breath. (He’s fine - it was just for the night). If he doesn’t get up to 200, what should his token dose be? We just increased his dose yesterday morning to 7.5, so he’s been on that for one full cycle.

*posting in Feline Health Main as well. Removed 911 as I got appropriate help in Feline Main Health forum.
 
Last edited:
I didn’t know I was replying over on health. I am going to copy and paste my responses here because it can be important for other ProZinc users to read.

I will be replying over here to this thread from now on.

Here is what I said:

Good morning. Stoney has been bouncing and was due to break the bounce by last night —and we see that this morning in his AMPS. It’s great to see that he is capable of getting better numbers. You should have held the 7 unit dose longer though because he was seeing green on 7 units. I am a little concerned about the 7.5 units taking him too low. We don’t even really know how low he may have gone last night and then come up again at AMPS. Please be sure to get a +2 test so we can see early what os happening. Of course, he could always start another bounce again so it depends upon how long that takes.
 
And this:

And naturally you will feed him at +2 or a little earlier.

When a cat is starting to see lower nadirs in blues and greens, we hold the doses longer for safety and to see how things settle. If kitty is bouncing it also can take a little longer obviously. We typically don’t want to make dosing decisions based on bounce numbers.
 
I have great confidence that you will be able to handle any lower numbers today. And, as I said before, he may begin a bounce (although I wish he would not.)

How is Stoney feeling? How does he seem to you when he’s in the lower numbers?
 
I have great confidence that you will be able to handle any lower numbers today. And, as I said before, he may begin a bounce (although I wish he would not.)

How is Stoney feeling? How does he seem to you when he’s in the lower numbers?
I feel like I am used to the bouncing by now, LOL. He seems to be doing well right now. Just sleeping. As for the lower numbers, the only thing I noticed the other day that was different was his appetite. He wouldn’t eat much. I did give Zofran and his appetite seemed to come back. He pretty much already sleeps all day, and plays at night, still doing the same.
 
I feel like I am used to the bouncing by now, LOL. He seems to be doing well right now. Just sleeping. As for the lower numbers, the only thing I noticed the other day that was different was his appetite. He wouldn’t eat much. I did give Zofran and his appetite seemed to come back. He pretty much already sleeps all day, and plays at night, still doing the same.
It’s natural to them to not be as hungry in the normal BG numbers, although if Stoney’s BG drops down quite a bit he may get really hungry again. Just remember today if you’re feeding him to manage low numbers that you want to bring up — keep the portions small so he will stay hungry enough to be willing to eat — if we are trying to raise his BG with high carbs if he drops below 50.
 
It’s natural to them to not be as hungry in the normal BG numbers, although if Stoney’s BG drops down quite a bit he may get really hungry again. Just remember today if you’re feeding him to manage low numbers that you want to bring up — keep the portions small so he will stay hungry enough to be willing to eat — if we are trying to raise his BG with high carbs if he drops below 50.
Great! I can do that. I do have high carb food at the ready. He does prefer the snacks throughout the day!
 
I didn’t know I was replying over on health. I am going to copy and paste my responses here because it can be important for other ProZinc users to read.

I will be replying over here to this thread from now on.

Here is what I said:

Good morning. Stoney has been bouncing and was due to break the bounce by last night —and we see that this morning in his AMPS. It’s great to see that he is capable of getting better numbers. You should have held the 7 unit dose longer though because he was seeing green on 7 units. I am a little concerned about the 7.5 units taking him too low. We don’t even really know how low he may have gone last night and then come up again at AMPS. Please be sure to get a +2 test so we can see early what os happening. Of course, he could always start another bounce again so it depends upon how long that takes.
I was helping on health, I tried to get other members in but it was hard, and I responded as you taught me, I hope that was ok, I have had a few hypos this holidays, its been busy
 
Try to have a feeding schedule, the AMPS/PMPS the +2 and 4 other meals, during the day, every 4-5 hours, if you use FF or small cans with 1/2cn per meal is plenty making his last meal no later than +5
 
Try to have a feeding schedule, the AMPS/PMPS the +2 and 4 other meals, during the day, every 4-5 hours, if you use FF or small cans with 1/2cn per meal is plenty making his last meal no later than +5
Yes, he does have a regular feeding schedule! Usually smaller meals until about +5 or +6 works best for him, it helps him get the amount of food needed for his weight. He’s a big boy at 18.2lbs!
 
Last edited:
Woah!!! My husband wants a Maine Coon! They are so beautiful!
IMG_7180.png

This is Coco
Corky is the Tabby
 

Attachments

  • IMG_5936.png
    IMG_5936.png
    1.9 MB · Views: 6
Cool, let’s try to keep those blues across the board, 1/2 hour before shot time, post the BG IN THE SLOT,, to color the cell go at top of SS page look for paint bucket, drop down the color of the BG you want to post is at the 1/2 hour you enter your type in the cell example (100@5.5) then color the cell, you can enter as many BGs within the hour in the same cell, you color the cell with the lowest number(see Corky’s SS to have an idea
 
6:30pm! Hoping we can make our way back to 5:30 shot times soon.
Where you typed the PMPS BG , in The SAME slot type 351/@5.5 then go to the top of the SS page to the paint bucket drop down window look for the color purple click it and the cells colors, his numbers will be better after morning shot, make sure you test at +2 give a low carb snack
 
Back
Top