Stoney AMPS 110 - Old thread

McKenzie & Stoney

Member Since 2025
Good morning, we have not seen a +12 from PMPS this low. Stoney is at 110, we are stalling and testing again in 30 minutes. I am not worried about hypo as much as I am skipping a dose. Last time we skipped a dose was 12/20/2025 due to being out of town and his ketones skyrocketed and could smell the acetone on his breath. (He’s fine - it was just for the night). If he doesn’t get up to 200, what should his token dose be? We just increased his dose yesterday morning to 7.5, so he’s been on that for one full cycle.

*posting in ProZinc as well. Removed 911 as got appropriate help.
 
Last edited:
good morning, you are correct about not skipping a dose. I do not give dosing advice, but I can tell you that with ProZinc , is what Corky uses,you can shoot at low numbers, I shoot in the mid 70s 80s , It takes a while and a lot of coaching to do so, but’s 200?is that is very safe to shoot, you are starting out this journey , which I can see by the the SS is a few months you can shoot even at 150, you know the protocol test feed shoot, the BG always rises after a meal, if you do not feel comfortable when close to shooting and you have a BG lower than 150, post as you did. We can guide you, make sure you have a HYPO KIT handy, this includes some high carb food between 11-15% , some high carbs between 16-24% some Karo syrup or honey, this is in case the BG gets lower than 50, we can assist you with these items to raise the BG again, your instincts are correct is not good to skip a dose unless really necessary, I am sure the Suzanne over at the ProZinc Forum will plug in with you soon
 
good morning, you are correct about not skipping a dose. I do not give dosing advice, but I can tell you that with ProZinc , is what Corky uses,you can shoot at low numbers, I shoot in the mid 70s 80s , It takes a while and a lot of coaching to do so, but’s 200?is that is very safe to shoot, you are starting out this journey , which I can see by the the SS is a few months you can shoot even at 150, you know the protocol test feed shoot, the BG always rises after a meal, if you do not feel comfortable when close to shooting and you have a BG lower than 150, post as you did. We can guide you, make sure you have a HYPO KIT handy, this includes some high carb food between 11-15% , some high carbs between 16-24% some Karo syrup or honey, this is in case the BG gets lower than 50, we can assist you with these items to raise the BG again, your instincts are correct is not good to skip a dose unless really necessary, I am sure the Suzanne over at the ProZinc Forum will plug in with you soon
Thanks Maria! Hypo kit is on standby. Stoney and the other kitties are bothering me for food right now… Lol! I am about to test again.
 
Thanks Maria! Hypo kit is on standby. Stoney and the other kitties are bothering me for food right now… Lol! I am about to test again.
You can shoot at 110 is a safe number, then test at +2 ( two hours after shot, that’s when ProZinc kicks in, and give a small low carb food, don’t panic if you see a 2 digit number at +2 , is normal, just feed test at + 4 and you will see the BG will most likely be in the 70-80’ the hypo kit is in case the BG IS 50 or lower and only then, I’m right here if you need support, see Corky SS and you can see shooting at low numbers is ok
 
good morning, you are correct about not skipping a dose. I do not give dosing advice, but I can tell you that with ProZinc , is what Corky uses,you can shoot at low numbers, I shoot in the mid 70s 80s , It takes a while and a lot of coaching to do so, but’s 200?is that is very safe to shoot, you are starting out this journey , which I can see by the the SS is a few months you can shoot even at 150, you know the protocol test feed shoot, the BG always rises after a meal, if you do not feel comfortable when close to shooting and you have a BG lower than 150, post as you did. We can guide you, make sure you have a HYPO KIT handy, this includes some high carb food between 11-15% , some high carbs between 16-24% some Karo syrup or honey, this is in case the BG gets lower than 50, we can assist you with these items to raise the BG again, your instincts are correct is not good to skip a dose unless really necessary, I am sure the Suzanne over at the ProZinc Forum will plug in with you soon
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
You can shoot at 110 is a safe number, then test at +2 ( two hours after shot, that’s when ProZinc kicks in, and give a small low carb food, don’t panic if you see a 2 digit number at +2 , is normal, just feed test at + 4 and you will see the BG will most likely be in the 70-80’ the hypo kit is in case the BG IS 50 or lower and only then, I’m right here if you need support, see Corky SS and you can see shooting at low numbers is ok
He is at 123. I think we may wait another 30 minutes before feeding and shooting. I know I need to get comfortable shooting at lower numbers, but it sure makes me nervous because it is very rare that Stoney sees numbers like this right now in our journey. 😞
 
He is at 123. I think we may wait another 30 minutes before feeding and shooting. I know I need to get comfortable shooting at lower numbers, but it sure makes me nervous because it is very rare that Stoney sees numbers like this right now in our journey. 😞
You can shoot you have at least a two hour window with ProZinc, but is best to shoot at the 12 hour mark, have you fed him yet? You are used to see his numbers high, but when that SS starts to show blues and greens, this is where you want him to be it means finally tge pancreas are having a chance for healing, I’m right here
 
At what time does he get his morning shot??
Remember the protocol TEST FEED SHOOT, when you test for shooting time, and is low, you feed then you stall the shot, test again in 1/2 hour and so on but feeding is a must, that’s what keeps the insulin in check
 
5:30am. We are 45 min behind. We cannot give him his shot while eating, it scares him. We always feed between 5am and 5:15am, and shoot at 5:30am. He handles it better this way!
What’s his BG now, you can shoot at the same time he has his face in the bowl, just go behind him pick up the scruff insert the needle he won’t even notice, if he is still at the same BG it is safe to shoot dont Delay it any longer, otherwise you will go back to those red BGs,
 
What’s his BG now, you can shoot at the same time he has his face in the bowl, just go behind him pick up the scruff insert the needle he won’t even notice, if he is still at the same BG it is safe to shoot dont Delay it any longer, otherwise you will go back to those red BGs,
He’s eating right now, last I checked him was about 15 minutes ago, he was at 123. He really does not handle shooting while eating well. We’ve tried it in the past a few times. We should be able to shoot in about 10 minutes.
 
5:30am. We are 45 min behind. We cannot give him his shot while eating, it scares him. We always feed between 5am and 5:15am, and shoot at 5:30am. He handles it better this way!
Testing feeding a shooting Corky’s AMPS is 6:00AM, I test at 6:00 by 6:05 He’s eating, once he has eaten a few moth full I go behind him pick up the scrub and shoot, by 6:20 is all done,
 
He’s eating right now, last I checked him was about 15 minutes ago, he was at 123. He really does not handle shooting while eating well. We’ve tried it in the past a few times. We should be able to shoot in about 10 minutes.
ok remember two hours after shot you will test again and give him a small 1-2 tsps of low carb food test again two hour later, this way we can tell how he processes low numbers throughout the day, and you start to become more comfortable as well, it is a drastic change from all those pink and red numbers on the SS to all of the sudden seeing a blue one, believe me I know, now for me is the opposite if I see a high blue I start to panic, I’m still here, also can you please insert into the SS the BG numbers so far?
 
ok remember two hours after shot you will test again and give him a small 1-2 tsps of low carb food test again two hour later, this way we can tell how he processes low numbers throughout the day, and you start to become more comfortable as well, it is a drastic change from all those pink and red numbers on the SS to all of the sudden seeing a blue one, believe me I know, now for me is the opposite if I see a high blue I start to panic, I’m still here, also can you please insert into the SS the BG numbers so far?
He tested at 131 after food and has gotten his insulin. All of his numbers from this morning are listed in the notes section. It’s easier for me to keep it clean that way. I do test him regularly throughout the day as well as give snacks so that is not going to be a change in my routine.
 
Great, now we will see how the insulin works on a much lower BG ,and feeding several meals during the day is as important, like every 4-5 hours the latest meal should be no later than 11:00 PM
 
Last edited:
Good morning. Stoney has been bouncing and was due to break the bounce by last night —and we see that this morning in his AMPS. It’s great to see that he is capable of getting better numbers. You should have held the 7 unit dose longer though because he was seeing green on 7 units. I am a little concerned about the 7.5 units taking him too low. We don’t even really know how low he may have gone last night and then come up again at AMPS. Please be sure to get a +2 test so we can see early what os happening. Of course, he could always start another bounce again so it depends upon how long that takes.
 
Good morning. Stoney has been bouncing and was due to break the bounce by last night —and we see that this morning in his AMPS. It’s great to see that he is capable of getting better numbers. You should have held the 7 unit dose longer though because he was seeing green on 7 units. I am a little concerned about the 7.5 units taking him too low. We don’t even really know how low he may have gone last night and then come up again at AMPS. Please be sure to get a +2 test so we can see early what os happening. Of course, he could always start another bounce again so it depends upon how long that takes.
Well dang it! That’s on me. I forget to hold the dose, probably because we haven’t seen numbers like this before. I’ll be getting a +2 in about an hour.
 
When a cat is starting to see lower nadirs in blues and greens, we hold the doses longer for safety and to see how things settle. If kitty is bouncing it also can take a little longer obviously. We typically don’t want to make dosing decisions based on bounce numbers.
 
When a cat is starting to see lower nadirs in blues and greens, we hold the doses longer for safety and to see how things settle. If kitty is bouncing it also can take a little longer obviously. We typically don’t want to make dosing decisions based on bounce numbers.
😞 I feel like I’m pumping him with too much. I won’t change his dose again until we are regularly seeing pinks and reds. Adding this to my notes now!
 
I’m replying now over on your thread in the ProZinc forum and will hopefully be able to stay over there. I thought that I was already replying on the ProZinc forum when I wrote my comments above. I copied my responses over to that thread so that other ProZinc users will be able to see them.
 
I’m replying now over on your thread in the ProZinc forum and will hopefully be able to stay over there. I thought that I was already replying on the ProZinc forum when I wrote my comments above. I copied my responses over to that thread so that other ProZinc users will be able to see them.
Should we close this one out? I am not sure how to!
 
Back
Top