Christin & Mimi
Member Since 2018
Hello there! I was told that posting in this section of the forums would likely be best, as the issue I'm having deals specifically with Lantus. Our cat Mimi was diagnosed with diabetes several months ago, and has been on Lantus since March. We've been using the SLGS protocol since then. At our last trip to the vet in May, we were told to hold Mimi's dose at 2 units and continue to monitor her BG for a while before increasing it again. Her nadirs have continued to run in the mid-200s, so I decided to increase her dose to 2.25 units for 2 weeks, and then this week, to 2.5 units after the change we noted was minimal. Her numbers are still pretty consistently in the 200s during nadir and 300s pre-shot. This is definitely better than where we started, but I was hoping to have her well-regulated by now.
About three days ago, I accidentally left out a treat ball filled with Greenies (intended only for our other 2 cats). She discovered the treat ball and ate of the contents before I could take it away in time. I'm generally very cautious about making sure she never has access to our other cats' food/treats, but I slipped up this time. In any case, since then, her readings have been super high-- up to 405 pre-shot with nadirs in the 300s. I initially posted about about this on the Feline Diabetes FB page, but since I'm looking for dosing advice, I figured I should post here instead. Is it normal for her numbers to be affected this much several days after consuming higher carb treats? Should I increase her dose temporarily (or permanently)? I'm really discouraged by the struggles I've faced to get her regulated. We feed FF Classics low carb pates.
About three days ago, I accidentally left out a treat ball filled with Greenies (intended only for our other 2 cats). She discovered the treat ball and ate of the contents before I could take it away in time. I'm generally very cautious about making sure she never has access to our other cats' food/treats, but I slipped up this time. In any case, since then, her readings have been super high-- up to 405 pre-shot with nadirs in the 300s. I initially posted about about this on the Feline Diabetes FB page, but since I'm looking for dosing advice, I figured I should post here instead. Is it normal for her numbers to be affected this much several days after consuming higher carb treats? Should I increase her dose temporarily (or permanently)? I'm really discouraged by the struggles I've faced to get her regulated. We feed FF Classics low carb pates.