Still new to this and I have a question.

Status
Not open for further replies.

sheryl1032

Member Since 2012
When I test her glucose level and if it is under 200 should I still give her the scheduled shot?

Today's numbers do not seem very good. I am so confused.

Thanks for any help!
 
Sheryl, the link to your spreadsheet is not working. You might go back to your signature, highlight it again and then choose the URL button above this box.

Do you mean you got a number under 200 tonight? Then yes, our usual advice for new diabetics is not to shot under 200, but wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest to be sure the number is over 200 and going up, not down.
 
Hopefully the link to the SS is working now.

She tested under 200 the other day and I still gave her the shot not knowing I should wait and retest.
 
Sheryl,
The SS is working fine now. Here's what I think has been happening, although part of this is conjecture on my part.
I think the dose might be too high. You only have the one green number that you've caught, but I think there have been others that you didn't see when they happened. If that is true, then what's been happening is that Madison has been "bouncing". Some cycles look okay, but others look to be lasting longer than normal, giving you a lower number at the following preshot time. Like yesterday for instance.
You started the day with a red number of 420. I think that was a bounce from the night before. Madison started that cycle at 392, and only 4 hours later she was down to 217, right? I think she went lower than that overnight. That caused her body (specifically her liver) to react by dumping "sugar" into her system, because her body is no longer used to "normal" BG levels. So yesterday morning, that red number was inflated by the bouncing. Again, the insulin did what you wanted it to, and pushed her numbers down. But too far down, because at +8 yesterday, she was at 58. To a non-diabetic cat, 58 is perfectly normal. But not to Madison at this point in time. But she didn't bounce right back up this time. When you shot the 2.0 last night on the lower preshot of 149 it was enough to keep the numbers under control for some time, but instead of it pushing her down below 149, the "liver" won the battle. Her number was higher at +4 than it was at shot time. This continued overnight, and you ended up at 295 this morning. Not a terrible number at all. However, when a bounce happens, it can take a day, or even longer, to go away. Today's cycle doesn't look terrible, but the same dose that dropped her over 350 points yesterday only dropped her at most 100 points today. Tonight's preshot of 325 looks like continued "bouncing" and 3 hours later, she's higher than she was at shot time. 3 hours is normally the time that Prozinc begins to work or "onset". So she might drop some from there, but I don't think she'll drop far.

If what I think has happened is correct, it indicates that 2.0 units is too high a dose. Granted, someone else might look at all these numbers and conclude the opposite - that the dose is not high enough. The green number yesterday tells me otherwise, as do the pink and red numbers and when they've been taking place in her cycles.

Your spreadsheet shows that 2 units can drop the BG levels 300 points, so if you see a number anywhere close to 200, that dose, in my opinion, would be way too much. We normally tell people at first not too shoot a number under 200 because it isn't safe to do so unless you've collected enough data to make you believe a given dose is not too much. You can shoot under 200 (eventually), but when you dose at lower levels, the dose will need to be adjusted accordingly based on the data you have collected.

Hopefully all of that isn't too much information to soon? Or causes even more confusion! I know this can be severely brain-draining when you are first starting out, and the information available on this site is completely overwhelming.

Carl
 
Thank you for the information.
I was afraid the dose might be to high. I am going to monitor her closely tonight. My biggest fear is if something happens to her during the day while I am at work. I am still not sure how much wet food she should be eating everyday as well since I would leave dry food out all day for her before August 1st.
 
Sheryl,
How much does she weigh now, and is she underweight?
And how much wet food is she eating?
We can help you figure out how much should be enough, or at least make sure you're in the ballpark :smile: .

Carl
 
She weighs 13lbs now. She was originally overweight and started losing weight and that was why I took her to the vet. I am guessing she lost about 4lbs over the last 2 - 3 months or so. She loves the wet food. I have been giving her about 7-8 oz a day. I don't think that is enough but I am not sure. If not how often and how much should I feed her?
 
OK, I went back and looked at one of your earlier posts and it looks like Friskees or NutroMax Senior is what you are feeding?
This is just a rough estimate, because some of it depends on how active she is, how much she should ideally weigh, and the fact that she's a diabetic (diabetic cats need more food than normal because they can't process it as well as a "normal" kitty can)

A healthy cat weighing 13 pounds would need between 260 and 390 calories a day to maintain that weight. So she'd need at least that much.
Your average can of NutroMax Chicken/Lamb for seniors has 155 per can according to their website. Most Friskees Pate style flavors are between 150-200 per can. I think you had said you might feed 2 cans a day? That would be roughly 300 calories depending on the flavors.

Because she's diabetic, she needs more than normal calories, and if you want her to gain a little of the weight back (ask your vet what she should weigh?), then I would say that you want to feed her just a bit more than you are. Maybe 2.5 cans? That would be more than the 7-8 ounces you mentioned in this thread. More like 13-14 ounces if they are 5.5 oz cans.

My cat, when he was on insulin, ate about 275-300 calories a day, but I was trying to get him to gain back a couple of pounds. He was also pretty lazy so he didn't burn up many of the calories. That was 2 cans of FF classics and half a can or so of Friskees, fed in two meals and two snacks.

You can split that up into 3, 4, 5 or more meals depending on when you are home to feed her. If you can't be home during the day, you can try things like an auto-feeder, you can freeze the food in ice trays (add a bit of water and mix it up good) and put a couple cubes out when you leave, and she'll eat it as it thaws.

Carl
 
Carl,
I have been giving her the Friskies still but I am now also feeding her Fancy Feast instead of the Nutro Max. I have been feeding her 4 times a day but I should be giving her more food. I will start that right away. I have been feeding her early am before her shot then give her a little more 2 hours later before I leave for work. I read about the auto-feeders and I was unable to find one over the weekend where I live so I did order one online Saturday. Not sure how the auto-feeder will work because I do have 2 other cats. I may have to leave her in a room with the auto feeder to make sure the other two do not eat her food.

Thank you so much for all this information. You have no idea how much I appreciate it.

-Sheryl
 
You're welcome. :smile:

I should have mentioned, the basic formula, which I found here on the board sometime last year is -

"20-30 calories, per pound of ideal body weight, per day, in order to maintain that weight."

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top