Still having a hard time getting Nolan regulated!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nolan'sMom

Member Since 2014
Hi All,
My kitty Nolan was diagnosed back around the end of March, but unfortunately I didn't find this site until July. He has been on Prozinc all along and I have been playing around with his dose and really struggling to get him regulated. Some days his Nadir looks good and I feel hopeful, but then the next day he might stay in the mid/high 200's all day long! It just doesn't seem to make sense. I have analyzed his data and I just can't seem to make much sense of it. Sometimes his preshots are high, and then tonight he was at 161. Sometimes he is high at his Nadir time and then low at +10 hours????? His chart is attached below, if anyone can take a look and has some advice I'd really appreciate it!
 
I wonder if Nolan is bouncing a little. He doesn't get super low numbers, but if his body isn't used to them, they still can mean a little flatter, higher cycle the next time. What was his preshot tonight? It was interesting that he continued to drop for today's cycle. That would indicate the dose is either about right (if he came up for pre shot) or a tiny bit high, if he continued to drop.

His numbers aren't awful. He certainly drops for nadir. I think I'd hold the dose for a few more cycles and then reevaluate. It is hard to me to see now whether he needs a little more or a little less at this point, but I think you are close on the dose

Have you seen the protocol we put together for ProZinc?

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=109077
 
Thanks for the responses, I've been having a little trouble with my internet connectivity and wasn't able to get back on yesterday. Yeah Sue I decided to hold his dose like you said and really try to pin down a regular eating/food schedule. I had been giving him a variety of FF classics, Friskies Pates, and 9lives all lower carb. But my vet mentioned that he could be carb sensetive and that I should try sticking to one food or ones with all the same lowest carbs. I have strated giving him a half a can of 9 lives flaked tuna mixed with a half can of FF turkey and giblets at his preshot times, and I leave the same out at about 3+ hours for him to snack on. Hopefuly since the 9lives is 0 carb and the FF turkey is 3 carb this will help lower and level him out. Do you think that is too much seafood though? I'm going to update his SS in a little bit this AMPS was 360, so it was sort of high but I'll keep holding at this dose for a bit and see where it goes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top