? Still dropping at pre-shot; do I shoot? Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squeakycats

Member Since 2017
Hi, all--something very odd is happening today. My kitty didn't appear to respond to his insulin this morning--usually I see something at +2 or +3. Sometime between +6 and +9, his numbers finally started dropping.

At pre-shot, they had dropped to 99. That's unusually low for him right now, so I stalled (no food) a little and re-tested in about 20 minutes, and he was at 81. I did a second test to be sure it wasn't a bad strip and got 71. I just tried again, at what should be about +1, and he was at 66.

He was acting weird all day--very clingy. I haven't seen this happen before--how can he still be dropping this late in the day? And what do I do??????? I hate to skip when he's finally making a little progress, but if he's falling rather than rising...

My husband can stay home tomorrow, and our schedules are somewhat flexible--should I shoot ASAP (probably around +1.5)? Skip? Help! This is so weird! @Wendy&Neko any ideas?
 
He’s under 50 so feed his regular food and skip tonight. At least that’s what I would do.
 
Yes, I think that's what I'm going to do--I just wonder what's going on! Could I have somehow given his morning shot in the wrong place (muscle or something???), so that it started working late? Diabetes is so mysterious! Thanks, @tiffmaxee ...
 
Last edited:
I agree with the skip!

Now now Misha, come back up now!
20171001_205800.jpg
 
Yes, I think that's what I'm going to do--I just wonder what's going! Could I have somehow given his morning shot in the wrong place (muscle or something???), so that it started working late? Diabetes is so mysterious! Thanks, @tiffmaxee ...
Muscle is a possibility. ECID, but when this happens to Gordy, thats usually the culprit. (Though, others say it does the opposite in their kitty.)
 
Ooo, additional question...does this count as "earning a reduction"? I see in the protocol that for long-term diabetics, below 40 is what triggers a reduction of .25...maybe I should just shave a drop off his regular dose tomorrow? Or wait and see what his numbers are like then?
 
Muscle is a possibility. ECID, but when this happens to Gordy, thats usually the culprit. (Though, others say it does the opposite in their kitty.)
I'm glad it's not some kind of unheard-of phenomenon, anyway. What do you think about whether a dose reduction is necessary?
 
I'm glad it's not some kind of unheard-of phenomenon, anyway. What do you think about whether a dose reduction is necessary?
I am not the best with dose advice. But dropping below 40 is a big deal for most. "Long term" typically means those who have been in the dance for a year or more...

I vote reduction if you can, but lets see what others say.
 
Looks like Misha was breaking a bounce today, that can lead to later nadirs. It's fine to shoot a dropping number at preshot, as long as you can monitor. The lack of food probably contributed to him continuing to drop.

Although Misha has not been diabetic a year, he is out of remission. We need to be a little more aggressive with kitties back on the juice. I would hold the dose,
 
OK! He's back at his usual sort of pre-shot number this morning, so we will go for it, and my husband will monitor. Thank you, as always :)

I know I should be able to figure this out, and I'll try to later, with some more reading (I know I've got a relevant bookmark somewhere)--but what in this case constitutes a bounce? I thought that that was when they hit an extremely low number, causing the liver to freak out and dump a bunch of glycogen into the bloodstream, which then leads some really high numbers for a little while--making you *think* you should go up on the dose, but you really shouldn't. His last big recorded low, prior to yesterday evening's fun, was back on the 29th, when he went into the 40's. But then his numbers after that were mostly blue--nothing that I would think of as super-high--I was actually sort of pleased with how things seemed to be going...how do I tell when a bounce has occurred?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top