? Still building the spreadsheet, but...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joanne&TinySole

Member Since 2018
So, I'm guessing that I can maybe increase the dosage to 1.25 units of Lantus based on Tiny Sole's spread sheet? Or, do you think I can go with a 1.5 unit? Can the experienced Lantus members comment on this? ...although I'll take any/all comments, believe me!

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...FK1PTNNiRP5-Nb3e_pev8XQB_U7m1cmG_DXVq/pubhtml

Here's the thing; I won't be able to increase the dose until Monday because of obligations and I want to be with her 24/7 so I can monitor her closely. Please tell me that I'm not killing my cat!

XOXO
 
I wouldn't go to 1.5..….just 1.25

A little bit can really make a big difference.....we've seen the 1U get her into blue

And I know we keep harping on it, but it really will help to get at least 1 test on the PM cycle every night
 
Keep harping!
Ok, so she had her insulin at 8:30 PM tonight (EST). Tell me what time you want me to get the BGs and I'll do it!
 
It's a good idea to try to always get a +2

A lot of times it can act a lot like a crystal ball (in some cats, the +3 is better though)

If the +2 is the same as the Pre-Shot, it's usually a pretty normal cycle....gradually down to nadir and then gradually back up again

If the +2 is higher than the PS, it can be the sign that a bounce is beginning, and those cycles it's usually OK to take a pokey break and get some sleep

If the +2 is lower than the PS, that's your "early warning" that she might be going much lower later in the cycle and you want to plan on getting more tests in later

It's a good place to start....We see the "+2 rules" work for a lot of kitties!! (of course, not all of them read the "rules"!)
 
Yes.....the "+" cells correspond to the number of hours since the last shot....so if you shoot at 8:30, +2 is 10:30.....+5 is 1:30….+9 is 5:30
 
+2 274, was 18 points lower than the PMPS, which was 292.
I will do my best to get a 1:30 AM and 5:30 AM reading.
I don't sleep well, but typically manage some shuteye during those times...of course...
 
Those were just examples, not suggestions!! I think if you happen to get up later, grab a test, but it doesn't look like she's falling fast enough to worry about tonight

At night, what a lot of us do is drink a large glass of water in the evening so we "have to" get up sometime in the night....as long as we're up, we grab a test!

If the +2 is lower than the PS (by more than the variance of 20% or so), you would want to set an alarm if you weren't sure you could get up later
 
If you can continue to test as often as you did yesterday (as well as at least one test on the PM cycle), I think you could consider going to Tight Regulation

That would allow you to increase the dose as often as every 3 days if the current dose isn't getting her where we want her.

Leaving them on a dose too long just allows their body to develop glucose toxicity...where it gets used to higher numbers even though you're giving insulin....and you end up having to give even more to break through the toxicity.

If you do go to TR and she continues in these numbers, you could increase as soon as tomorrow morning to 1.25

We also usually start a new thread every day here. It just keeps things "fresh".

Here's some information on "Making the most of your Lantus ISP experience" that explains how we usually post
 
I had to go out of town for work, and then was delayed returning due to bad weather/flight delays.
I have begun to give Tiny 1.25 units of insulin.
I work, and may not be able to test as frequently as you are recommending, however I will read the above referenced information and do my best to do what I can for her.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top