Still bouncing? 04/29 Puddin AMPS 332, +2 407, +3 476, PMPS 255

Bella & Puddin

Member Since 2024
Good Morning!

I was reading about bouncing on the forum and found the following:
Following a bounce, a cat’s BG may stay high and flat for several cycles. Avoid the temptation to increase the dose at this point. If the BG does not return to normal in 6-8 cycles, an increase might be needed based on the method of regulation you are following.
(https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...mation-and-important-linksplease-read.224794/)

If Puddin is bouncing, maybe still today since he's having 400s readings, should I hold his dose a few more cycles? He would have a dose increase tomorrow, if not.

Also, @Wendy&Neko, if I increased .5u this previous increase per your suggestion, should I increase another .5u or go back to .25u increases?

Puddin's ketones are staying low, probably about 0.1/0.2.

Thank you!

Previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...2-pmps-310-2-5-477-4-440.289360/#post-3174552
 
If you are following TR and nadirs are above 200, you should increase after 6 cycles. So he has tonight to show you what he can do on this dose. The link above (on the Prozinc forum) assumes kitty is bouncing from a normal BG number. Puddin' is bouncing from low yellows so isn't going to "return to normal".

I'd be tempted to do a 0.5 unit increase, mostly because he got higher than that on Prozinc and we typically switch to the same dose when switching from the in and out insulins to the depot insulins. After getting to 5 units, the size of increase goes to 0.5 units anyway, unless tweaking a dose with some greens.
 
If you are following TR and nadirs are above 200, you should increase after 6 cycles. So he has tonight to show you what he can do on this dose. The link above (on the Prozinc forum) assumes kitty is bouncing from a normal BG number. Puddin' is bouncing from low yellows so isn't going to "return to normal".

I'd be tempted to do a 0.5 unit increase, mostly because he got higher than that on Prozinc and we typically switch to the same dose when switching from the in and out insulins to the depot insulins. After getting to 5 units, the size of increase goes to 0.5 units anyway, unless tweaking a dose with some greens.
Thank you for the explanation; that all makes sense now.

I will increase .5u tomorrow which will take us to 5u.

My vet mentioned that as his breathing treatment begins to work better for him (he's taking Flovent twice a day), I should be more aware/cautious of his BG values because it could be that the asthma (or whatever is causing his breathing issue) is what is holding him, is this really possible?
 
Back
Top