STella's first day back on lantus! SLGS, AMPM 264

Status
Not open for further replies.

Theresa6

Member Since 2011
Well... today is her first day back on in over a month. I just gave her morning shot, her preshot number was 264 which seems standard for her lately. I did prick my finger while trying to test her, but it happens! She had breakfast, seems her normal self so far :)
 
Hey Theresa,

Looking at Stella's spreadsheet, can you catch us up a little bit?....why haven't you been giving insulin this last month? And what did you shoot this am? I know I probably should know all this from previous posts but right now my brain is kind of mush @-) Need more ~O) So if you could just bring us up to speed on things now it will probably save us from asking you a thousand questions later on. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Hi Theresa!

Kit and I welcome you! I had the same questions as Mel, so I wont repeat, but just wanted to stop in and say hi! :smile:
 
MommaOfMuse said:
Hey Theresa,

Looking at Stella's spreadsheet, can you catch us up a little bit?....why haven't you been giving insulin this last month? And what did you shoot this am? I know I probably should know all this from previous posts but right now my brain is kind of mush @-) Need more ~O) So if you could just bring us up to speed on things now it will probably save us from asking you a thousand questions later on. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang

Yes!

Well... I started insulin back in December and it did nothing. Like at all nothing, we started at 2u went up to 2.5u, no change in her numbers at all over more than a months time. Stella was diagnosed with hyperthyroidism at the same time as the FD and started her thyroid meds at the same time. Our vet said that sometimes if the thyroid isn't under control the bg won't change, so since the insulin was not doing anything for her we went off for over a month to give her thyroid meds a chance to work. I also changed her at that time to canned food (she was on a prescription diet previously). That in itself dropped her numbers about 200 points on a regular basis, as she was often testing up in the 400;s. Anyway, I took Stella back in for some bloodwork and her thyroid meds were working so we decided to back on insulin. Her numbers are high (er) in the 250's but our vet also gave us the option of staying off the insulin for a while longer and seeing what diet alone would do. I figured we would probably have to go back on the insulin eventually anyway, so why not go for it now.

I gave her .5u this morning, and my mid day test showed her numbers higher at 298 and then her evening preshot way high at 380. I know its day one after a long break, but I am worried that we are going to have a repeat performance of lantus just not doing anything for her (or if even possible making her numbers higher!) Is this even possible?

Anyway, we'll see what tomorrow brings :)
 
Awwww okay now I remember, I knew I should know. :-D

Okay don't worry about her numbers not budging much, it takes about 3-5 days for her shed to initially fill before she can start using the insulin to bring down her numbers.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top