Stella 8/7 AMPS/272+2/229+7/242+8/243PMPS/209+3/138

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary and Stella

Member Since 2011
~O) Good Morning ~O)
edited for Stella's Condo
Stella's Condo
Stella is doing great, despite work keeping me late and her getting her PM shot 4.5 hours late! We adjusted her AM shot and her AMPS was 272. She is leveling back off. She seemed distressed when I got home last night, and for good reason... her BG was 405. Both kitties ate little if any kibble last night waiting for my return. They gobbled down some wet food and I gave Stella her insulin and all was well in their lives. It is interesting...Boo now understands just because she is eating wet food doesn't mean she is going to get her ear pricked, so she is back to eating wet food again. Stella on the other hand will now forego the free-fed dry kibble waiting for her supply of wet food. Honestly, I think the free feeder of DM has now become both of the kitties 'back up' plan. Whew.

Stella urinated a lot last night because of the late shot. Her poop is and has been just fine. Actually, since starting with insulin she is pooping a heck of a lot less because what she is eating is being used to build her muscles and body back up. She is a solid fuzzy friend again, her fur is silky, and she purred this morning waiting to get her ear pricked. OMG...what a difference a month makes! Have a great day. :-D
 
Re: Stella 8/7 AMPS/272

a_streetcar_named_desire_postcard-p239550124720763553qibm_400.jpg


:-D :-D
 
Re: Stella 8/7 AMPS/272

OMG. thank you MyBuddyBinks! :lol: This made me smile, and then burst into a whole-hearted laugh! My neighbors must wonder what is so funny!!! Thanks so much. :mrgreen:

PS. That is exactly how she got her name... I called it out, just like the play.... ;-)
 
Re: Stella 8/7 AMPS/272 +2/229 +7/242 +8/243

Stella is basking in the yellow sunshine all day long...at least she is in 'healing' mode. :-D
 
Re: Stella 8/7 AMPS/272 +2/229 +7/242 +8/243

it has been 7 cycles since the reduced shot. Sometimes flat yellow means the next cycle will be active. If Stella doesn't see green tonight I would increase her dose tomorrow.
 
Re: Stella 8/7 AMPS/272 +2/229 +7/242 +8/243

Thanks libby. I was wondering about that since my last nights PM shot was 4.5 hours late. I was afraid I would be altering things too much.

Would anyone else like to weigh in as to whether I should go to 3.5? I think Sienne you said I should at one point, but I had just made one of my many 'mistakes' so I held the current dose.

Today is a new day. I don't want to start a BG roller coaster ride....
 
Re: Stella 8/7 AMPS/272 +2/229 +7/242 +8/243

you're right, technically the count starts over again after a late shot. She was looking like she was ready for an increase even before that, though. It's up to you, if you want to wait another day that's fine too. I think she needs a boost to get her momentum back.
 
Re: Stella 8/7 AMPS/272 +2/229 +7/242 +8/243

Hi guys - just wanted to say hello! Nice sunny yellow for Stella today. Good luck with the dosecrease - I hop0e it lowers things for her overall.
 
Re: Stella 8/7 AMPS/272 +2/229 +7/242 +8/243 PMPS/209

Good luck with the dosecrease, Mary.

Hope she'll start seeing some nice blues for you.
 
Just when I think I understand Stella's BG's she does something to make me keep her dose at 3.25. Or maybe it is me who makes a 'mistake' and makes Stella's dose look wrong. Hmmm...

Seeing that Stella's +3 is 138, I think she will be going green at her nadir??? Let's see if I can wake up to check...
 
???Re: Stella 8/7 AMPS/272+2/229+7/242+8/243PMPS/209+3/138??

I guess I should be asking now, so in case I wake up for her AMPS to find Stella is blue like on 8/3. What should I do this time? Reducing to .8U on 8/3 was a big mistake. Her shed apparently is very touchy and it took 3 days to fill again. I don't think she would go too low if I gave her her full shot...she never has held a 'too low' BG... but if she did go too low, I am afraid it would really harm her since she is more accustomed to being on the high BG side. Why is it that I seem to be dense when it comes to making this decision??? I think Stella is just so important to me that I freeze up...
 
Re: ???Stella 8/7 AMPS/272+2/229+7/242+8/243PMPS/209+3/138??

I'm here. Help me to answer your questions.
If she goes green tonight, which she might, you can feed her some low carb food, and test again a little later, depending up the number.
If she goes below 50 tonight, then you can reduce the dose to 3.00 in the morning.
The .8 was a very big reduction, and she bounced the next day because of the green she had that she wasn't used to.
 
Re: ???Stella 8/7 AMPS/272+2/229+7/242+8/243PMPS/209+3/138??

Mary

It's nerve wracking for everyone the first few times. I would suggest that you set your alarm and get up and test her at +11 and post for help at that time if she is low. I'd try to get a +6 or so test tonight to see where she is. She may come back up.

If no one is around at +11 and you are nervous about shooting then be sure first of all that you do not feed her. If she's in blue at +11, check her again around +12 and see if she has come up. If she hasn't, then you can:

1. stall
2. slightly reduce her dose (you can reduce it by .25u) but be prepared that she still might continue to surf blue or green
3. skip a shot

I wouldn't skip unless she is really low and isn't coming up within the amount of time you have to stall. If you skip, you can feed her obviously and you shouldn't have to worry about a hypo because she won't have any insulin on board. However, I usually recommend you get a +14 test if you skip just to be sure she isn't low.

If you are going to be home and have lots of strips, HC food, karo, etc etc, and she is mid blue, you might want to shoot her full dose. There are usually folks around during the day.

But I go back to my best recommendation being that you do a +11 test and post and ask for help if her number is in mid blue or a number you are not comfy with.

Hope that helps. I'm off to bed.
 
Re: ???Stella 8/7 AMPS/272+2/229+7/242+8/243PMPS/209+3/138??

Dyana, thank you... got it. Agree. Ha! :mrgreen: Why does it all make so much more sense when you hear it from someone else??? :lol: I appreciate your being there!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top