? Steep early drops despite giving all food by +2

tessa's mom

Active Member
Previous thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-3-5-70-5-85-how-to-get-preshots-down.293235/

Hi all! Long time, no see! I don't want to get into details but I had to step away for awhile due to some personal issues. I wasn't following TR properly and did some unearned reductions, aborted cycles, etc. Please don't judge any mistakes I made in the past few months. I was doing the best I could while fighting off a total mental breakdown. I took some time off work to decompress and I'm feeling a lot better now.

Tessa is doing well for the most part but I'm still really struggling to prevent these big drops early in her cycle. When she has an active cycle, she drops 30-45% by +2 but most of that is probably happening in an hour or less since her onset tends to be somewhere between +1 and +1.5.

I'm currently feeding only 8% LC canned, 1.5 cans per cycle split into 3 meals given at preshot, +1, and +2. Even with decent amount of carbs in her system, she's still doing big nosedives early in the cycle.

The only thing I can think to do now is to try upping carbs into the medium carb range for a meal around onset. I'm hesitant to do that because them I'm locked into being up until +3 every night but given that she's keeping me up until +4 or later anyway so maybe I should just do it.

But is there any other option could try before I add medium carb food?

Once we can get the drops to slow down a bit I think the higher preshot issue might solve itself but if not I think maybe fattening the dose will get us there. 2.75U dropped her to 49 on the first cycle so it may be a bit too much but maybe 2.6U would work. But I'm really trying to solve this fast drop issue before I consider increasing her dose again unless she loses her greens.
 
Hi Jess. Your SS is not visible, it says you need access, can you try to change it so it can be viewed?
It is hard to help you without data, but I wonder if she might just need some time to adjust again, if her numbers were higher for a while? I think your idea to give a slight higher carb in the early meals is good, though, if you can see that she is starting to drop too fast.
I hope you find answers, once we can see your SS I am sure there will be more advice!
I am editing, now I can see your SS.
Let me tag a few people to help you.
@Bandit's Mom @Angela & Cleo @Wendy&Neko do you have ideas to help Jess?
 
No judgement from me. Because of personal reasons, I've been lax in testing and increasing and haven't been on the board as much as I would like. Life happens and I hope you're taking care of yourself :bighug:.

Tessa's SS looks great and she is quite regulated. Kudos. Since she's a long term diabetic, I might try an increase when you can monitor closely to try and bring those presents down into, again only if you could monitor closely. Let's see what others might suggest.
 
Tessa's spreadsheet looks a lot like Gabby's. Gabby had an early nadir. Some cats do. Her lows could be as early at +2 and like you, I was front loading her food. Honestly, you're doing all of the right stuff. You're testing early and you've bumped up the carbs to give yourself and Tessa a cushion. Some cats' metabolism is just such that they have an early nadir. If you're trying to avoid staying up all night, do you know if Tessa's numbers level off with her usual food? Even if you need to keep the numbers bumped up with higher carb, do you use a timed feeder?
 
Back
Top