tessa's mom
Active Member
Previous thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-3-5-70-5-85-how-to-get-preshots-down.293235/
Hi all! Long time, no see! I don't want to get into details but I had to step away for awhile due to some personal issues. I wasn't following TR properly and did some unearned reductions, aborted cycles, etc. Please don't judge any mistakes I made in the past few months. I was doing the best I could while fighting off a total mental breakdown. I took some time off work to decompress and I'm feeling a lot better now.
Tessa is doing well for the most part but I'm still really struggling to prevent these big drops early in her cycle. When she has an active cycle, she drops 30-45% by +2 but most of that is probably happening in an hour or less since her onset tends to be somewhere between +1 and +1.5.
I'm currently feeding only 8% LC canned, 1.5 cans per cycle split into 3 meals given at preshot, +1, and +2. Even with decent amount of carbs in her system, she's still doing big nosedives early in the cycle.
The only thing I can think to do now is to try upping carbs into the medium carb range for a meal around onset. I'm hesitant to do that because them I'm locked into being up until +3 every night but given that she's keeping me up until +4 or later anyway so maybe I should just do it.
But is there any other option could try before I add medium carb food?
Once we can get the drops to slow down a bit I think the higher preshot issue might solve itself but if not I think maybe fattening the dose will get us there. 2.75U dropped her to 49 on the first cycle so it may be a bit too much but maybe 2.6U would work. But I'm really trying to solve this fast drop issue before I consider increasing her dose again unless she loses her greens.
Hi all! Long time, no see! I don't want to get into details but I had to step away for awhile due to some personal issues. I wasn't following TR properly and did some unearned reductions, aborted cycles, etc. Please don't judge any mistakes I made in the past few months. I was doing the best I could while fighting off a total mental breakdown. I took some time off work to decompress and I'm feeling a lot better now.
Tessa is doing well for the most part but I'm still really struggling to prevent these big drops early in her cycle. When she has an active cycle, she drops 30-45% by +2 but most of that is probably happening in an hour or less since her onset tends to be somewhere between +1 and +1.5.
I'm currently feeding only 8% LC canned, 1.5 cans per cycle split into 3 meals given at preshot, +1, and +2. Even with decent amount of carbs in her system, she's still doing big nosedives early in the cycle.
The only thing I can think to do now is to try upping carbs into the medium carb range for a meal around onset. I'm hesitant to do that because them I'm locked into being up until +3 every night but given that she's keeping me up until +4 or later anyway so maybe I should just do it.
But is there any other option could try before I add medium carb food?
Once we can get the drops to slow down a bit I think the higher preshot issue might solve itself but if not I think maybe fattening the dose will get us there. 2.75U dropped her to 49 on the first cycle so it may be a bit too much but maybe 2.6U would work. But I'm really trying to solve this fast drop issue before I consider increasing her dose again unless she loses her greens.