Becky & Morlei
Member Since 2012
Hello everyone,
We've been contemplating switching Morlei to Lantus for the past few weeks and actually got the script for it from the vet with hardly a problem at all. But on Wednesday I left work early because I was so stressed about this situation and apparently Morlei decided to alleviate some of it by giving me a 166 at about +6.5 with the ProZinc! (Sorry, spreadsheet isn't completely updated, will do that tonight, however her numbers have been like 230 at +7.5 when I get home from work) Very very happy to see that but now I'm wondering when we should (or if we should) make the switch to Lantus. I'm willing to shell out the money for the pens because I'm hoping to follow the tight regulation protocol and maybe not have to buy another box.
But I need your opinions on when to do this...
Currently Morlei is at 3u ProZinc bid. I'm debating whether to keep her on ProZinc and keep upping the dose until we see results or just switch her over to Lantus.
We are moving Feb 26-28 and I'm worried that her numbers may be all over the place because of stress so not a good idea to start that weekend. Basically my options are to get the Lantus today if possible and start tomorrow or to wait until the weekend of March 3rd to start. This is what I'm thinking...
Upping her dose of ProZinc this weekend because I will be at home all day packing and attempting to do homework. Then if we see no/not enough results we'll up it again next weekend before we move. If there are no/not enough results to then get the Lantus and start it on March 3rd. What does everyone think?
Also, I read in a post about percentages rather than just looking at the cycle numbers (I think Carl posted it but now I can't find it). What is the percentage the number should drop to at the nadir? Was it 50-65%
Thanks!
We've been contemplating switching Morlei to Lantus for the past few weeks and actually got the script for it from the vet with hardly a problem at all. But on Wednesday I left work early because I was so stressed about this situation and apparently Morlei decided to alleviate some of it by giving me a 166 at about +6.5 with the ProZinc! (Sorry, spreadsheet isn't completely updated, will do that tonight, however her numbers have been like 230 at +7.5 when I get home from work) Very very happy to see that but now I'm wondering when we should (or if we should) make the switch to Lantus. I'm willing to shell out the money for the pens because I'm hoping to follow the tight regulation protocol and maybe not have to buy another box.
But I need your opinions on when to do this...
Currently Morlei is at 3u ProZinc bid. I'm debating whether to keep her on ProZinc and keep upping the dose until we see results or just switch her over to Lantus.
We are moving Feb 26-28 and I'm worried that her numbers may be all over the place because of stress so not a good idea to start that weekend. Basically my options are to get the Lantus today if possible and start tomorrow or to wait until the weekend of March 3rd to start. This is what I'm thinking...
Upping her dose of ProZinc this weekend because I will be at home all day packing and attempting to do homework. Then if we see no/not enough results we'll up it again next weekend before we move. If there are no/not enough results to then get the Lantus and start it on March 3rd. What does everyone think?
Also, I read in a post about percentages rather than just looking at the cycle numbers (I think Carl posted it but now I can't find it). What is the percentage the number should drop to at the nadir? Was it 50-65%
Thanks!