Stay on ProZinc? Switch to Lantus?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone,
We've been contemplating switching Morlei to Lantus for the past few weeks and actually got the script for it from the vet with hardly a problem at all. But on Wednesday I left work early because I was so stressed about this situation and apparently Morlei decided to alleviate some of it by giving me a 166 at about +6.5 with the ProZinc! (Sorry, spreadsheet isn't completely updated, will do that tonight, however her numbers have been like 230 at +7.5 when I get home from work) Very very happy to see that but now I'm wondering when we should (or if we should) make the switch to Lantus. I'm willing to shell out the money for the pens because I'm hoping to follow the tight regulation protocol and maybe not have to buy another box.
But I need your opinions on when to do this...
Currently Morlei is at 3u ProZinc bid. I'm debating whether to keep her on ProZinc and keep upping the dose until we see results or just switch her over to Lantus.
We are moving Feb 26-28 and I'm worried that her numbers may be all over the place because of stress so not a good idea to start that weekend. Basically my options are to get the Lantus today if possible and start tomorrow or to wait until the weekend of March 3rd to start. This is what I'm thinking...
Upping her dose of ProZinc this weekend because I will be at home all day packing and attempting to do homework. Then if we see no/not enough results we'll up it again next weekend before we move. If there are no/not enough results to then get the Lantus and start it on March 3rd. What does everyone think?
Also, I read in a post about percentages rather than just looking at the cycle numbers (I think Carl posted it but now I can't find it). What is the percentage the number should drop to at the nadir? Was it 50-65%
Thanks!
 
I'm not a PZI pro but those #'s looked pretty good for a newbie at about 1.25. Why are you raising them? Have you gone to the PZI board to ask them what they think? I think you should if you haven't. I use Lantus now for Racci and I would be happy with the numbers you had there and raise much more slowly. It looks like you may have gone up a little with the raise or at the least, it doesn't appear to help to raise the dose. I would let a new dose settle in more unless of course, you want to do tight regulation on Lantus.

I would not make changes in the middle of the stress of the move if it was me though. That's very stressful for cats. Just the packing and business stresses them nevermind moving into a new place. Good luck with the move.

Melanie & Racci
 
In my option I would wait til after the move for the same reasons Melanie gave.

Maybe 3.0 units is to much insulin. I know with Baxter I kept uppingit he insulin & he never would come down any. I just started on a sliding scale with him yesterday I saw green. The first time a long time.
Just a thought.
 
I have posted over in the PZI forum and everyone was just as confused as I was because her cycles are so flat. I read in a post somewhere on here that the ideal Lantus cycle is flat (correct me if I'm wrong please), is it the same for ProZinc? I tried going down with the dose when we got a new bottle but it didn't seem to do anything, I think that's why I raised the dose a little quicker than I should have. Also, the main reason I went for the 3u was because that was the original dose the vet prescribed and I had to see if it would work before calling them for the Lantus prescription. It seemed to actually give her a nadir again so we kept with it. I think I was just worried that she wasn't getting enough insulin because her numbers weren't budging. Hmm, ok I'm thinking now that I won't raise the dose, I'll keep it at 3u or go down...it just worries me that she might not be getting enough...my goal right now is to try and keep her under the renal threshold as much as possible...we're so close!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top