Shelley & Jess
Member Since 2020
Yes! Is there a way you can send it to me please? Thank you!
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...zo8excv5yA0b0SGOQH7VD-lQkpkBoWzF2kLc/pubhtml#
Sent to your inbox too
Yes! Is there a way you can send it to me please? Thank you!
Thank you so much for the info! My biggest concern is that my cat won’t let the libre stay on. Or that it will hurt him/make him uncomfortable all day. I’m imagining a hard piece of plastic on my back or side and don’t think I would tolerate that well. So how can I expect my cat to?I love it actually. It's way less stressful for us right now. When I do get an occasional ear reading she holds a grudge and becomes a lot more mistrusting of me for a while (growling, hissing, swiping if I get near....she is my sassy tortie after all).
I won't be able to keep one on her forever though, just too expensive and time consuming. But I'm trying to get her into remission asap so that I would just have to do occasional (2x day initially, then gradually less frequently to weekly or monthly) tests. (Crossing fingers)
Since I'm trying to keep her in the greens without going into lime green it is super helpful right now. However the current sensor is dying at day 10 (depending on how she sits, sometimes the sensor isn't connecting) so I will be getting a new one on later today. But she's had massive reductions this week.
To put it simply though, I'm not comfortable doing this without lots of data to base it on. But that's me. Each human is different too.
She tolerates it very well actually. She doesn't seem to pay it any mind at all. I do have vet wrap wrapped around her where the sensor is to help keep sensor movement minimized and as such she's in a dog pirate sweater to make sure she leaves the pet wrap alone but she's used to it.
Also it took until she started getting into blue numbers for a while before I started to see a difference in water intake and output (so the past 2 days).
Thank you so much! I will use this and enter the numbers I have when I’m done with work. It probably won’t be until after diner time but this is a huge help!

Thank you for the encouragement! I appreciate it. I just feel bad for him and can’t seem to get his urine glucose lower than the highest reading. I am going to look at the link you gave me right away. That sounds like exactly what I need. I’m so uncomfortable doing it freehand. I keep trying but I’m never successful. But the problem with the Lancet device is that I can’t see where I’m aiming. I hit the vein again today. It makes me sick to know I hurt him. A clear cap may be a possible solution.Hi Lauren,
The testing part gets easier. It took me about 6 weeks to get it right, after buying a lancing device with a clear cap like this one. Many on the Lantus forum can attest to how much it pained me to do it. Now it's part of our daily bonding routine. I rub Ruby's head with a warm sock and give her a little massage that she seems to enjoy before I warm her ear with it. I have also had the Libre on Ruby, the breaks from poking are great and having 24/7 data is terrific. If you can learn to put it on Red yourself you save yourself a lot of money, but they don't last very long sometimes and Ruby hates them.
Another good thing to keep in mind is insulin is not a drug, it's a hormone. If you give it to Red, it's not going to show immediate effects like taking an aspirin does for a headache. It can take a while before you get the right dose to break through his body's resistance and it also takes time for the pancreas to heal and start producing insulin on its own. Do not lose heart if you don't see immediate effects. It's a marathon, not a sprint, so you have to not take what happens on a day to day basis too hard. This is something I have to remind myself daily about my own cat who almost got to remission but had to go on steroids and now I'm battling high numbers on a daily basis.
Finally, try to let go of doing everything perfectly. There is so much to learn and absorb. Give yourself breathing space and compassion. It will all be ok.![]()
I think I linked it correctly to my signature. But let me know if you can’t see it. The numbers are completely meaningless probably. Or perhaps low but consistently low and still showing his highs and lows? Or a pattern?Hi Lauren
As you say you are making progress! That’s great!!
Marj has said she can help you with your SS and also @Bandit's Mom can as well.
Thanks! I need to stop hitting the wrong spot. I can see the vein clearly. And I never think I am aiming that close to it. I’m going to look into the clear cap that was recommended as well. Maybe someday I’ll be able to freehand but I’m nowhere near ready for that.If you hit the vein, just hold the spot firmly but gently for a couple of minutes. That helps it stop bleeding and bruising
I appreciate the encouragement and advice. The reason I don’t have a dosing method is because I want to get him where he needs to be as quickly as possible but I don’t know if I’m testing enough to be able to do TR. I know it’s one of the rules. I worry every day that it took me way too long to figure out that he was sick. Likely at least a year. So I want to be aggressive with treatment. At the same time, I’m still not comfortable enough to test anymore than I am. I don’t want to risk hypo. So I’m kind of stuck in between the two methods right nowI would not get that device. It's expensive and if you can allow yourself some time, you can get the drop of blood without causing pain or bruising. Ruby's ears looked positively massacred when I tried freehanding the lancet, but everything got better once I used the device instead. I can't emphasize the importance of warming the ear enough. It really helps to get the blood flowing to the capillaries in the ear. Also if you get the lancing device with the clear cap you will be able to see the edge of the ear better. Coconut oil seems to work, though I don't use any ointment anymore. I use a small piece of gauze under Ruby's ear when I poke her and then fold it over to stop the blood and she doesn't have any scarring at all.
Don't worry about the spreadsheet. Anyone giving you dosing advice will look at what has been going on since you have started to give a consistent dose of insulin, which has only been a few days. At a certain point, you will have to choose a dosing method, but for now, let's take it all one day at a time.
I was seriously worried that Ruby would never trust me again after my failures to do the testing right. But you know what? She doesn't remember any of that and we are closer than we ever were before. Red knows that what you are doing for him is love. He won't hold any of this against you.
As I said, this is a marathon. I started with SLGS for exactly the same reason--because I was unsure about testing. But once I got the hang of the poking and started TR, that's when Ruby started to really respond and I was able to get her regulated. There is no rush. This is as much about your comfort as it is about getting Red into better numbers. He can't do it without you.I appreciate the encouragement and advice. The reason I don’t have a dosing method is because I want to get him where he needs to be as quickly as possible but I don’t know if I’m testing enough to be able to do TR. I know it’s one of the rules. I worry every day that it took me way too long to figure out that he was sick. Likely at least a year. So I want to be aggressive with treatment. At the same time, I’m still not comfortable enough to test anymore than I am. I don’t want to risk hypo. So I’m kind of stuck in between the two methods right now
As I said earlier, the effect of the insulin will not happen instantaneously. You might have to keep increasing doses for weeks or even months to get him into lower numbers. That's why we have dosing methods and we use the numbers to guide us as to how much to increase or decrease the doses. With SLGS, you hold doses for 7 days and then evaluate based on how LOW the cat goes, not how high. With TR you hold the dose for 3-5 days and evaluate. Don't get excited about individual numbers. We look at numbers over several days to see how he's doing. Focus right now on testing and gathering data.His PMPS is 398 and he just had some LC food. I hate that his numbers won’t come down. Is that normal? You would think he would be getting lower by now. Or I would think I should say. I don’t understand how to interpret the info. I wish someone could give me a goal number we want to be at for various times throughout the day. And based on that, it would tell me straight forward if he needed an increase or decrease in insulin. “If this, then that” type thing. Why can’t it be simple? There’s got to be a better way to know what it means. No?
Well I am doing 4 tests a day. So if that’s enough for TR, that’s what I’m going to do. I think people will want more numbers first since the rest isn’t accurate because of the expired strips.As I said, this is a marathon. I started with SLGS for exactly the same reason--because I was unsure about testing. But once I got the hang of the poking and started TR, that's when Ruby started to really respond and I was able to get her regulated. There is no rush. This is as much about your comfort as it is about getting Red into better numbers. He can't do it without you.
With TR, the expectation (not a rule) is that you get one test before each shot and one test between each shot. So 4 tests minimum per day. And it's not a rule, because life happens and sometimes we can't be perfect with it. No one will kick you off FDMB because you couldn't get all 4 tests, but they help with keeping the cat safe so you're not giving insulin if he's too low and the midcycle tests are to help with dosing because we want to see how low the current dose is taking the cat.
There's no reason not to start off with SLGS and switch later. And if you switch to TR, there is nothing barring you from switching back to SLGS again later if it's too much.
I understand that. It’s been several weeks and he’s still in very high numbers so it’s just concerning, that’s all. I guess I assumed when everyone said insulin doesn’t instantly work, that meant not the first few days or even week. But thanks for clarifying that. I am listening. I just wish I understood the way everyone else does …hopefully I will eventually. For now, I will get numbers and keep asking for advice. Thank you!As I said earlier, the effect of the insulin will not happen instantaneously. You might have to keep increasing doses for weeks or even months to get him into lower numbers. That's why we have dosing methods and we use the numbers to guide us as to how much to increase or decrease the doses. With SLGS, you hold doses for 7 days and then evaluate based on how LOW the cat goes, not how high. With TR you hold the dose for 3-5 days and evaluate. Don't get excited about individual numbers. We look at numbers over several days to see how he's doing. Focus right now on testing and gathering data.
Not wrong to want that, but you're not slowly killing him. Look at other people's spreadsheets. It might make you feel better or at least understand this journey with a little more clarity. Have you looked at Ruby's? She's been diabetic since September of last year. I don't know that she will ever get off insulin but with a lot of love and patience, I am keeping her as comfortable as possible while also keeping her safe.Well I am doing 4 tests a day. So if that’s enough for TR, that’s what I’m going to do. I think people will want more numbers first since the rest isn’t accurate because of the expired strips.
He’s just too high and every day he stays high is ultimately taking a toll on the quality and length of the rest of his life. I understand it’s not a race. I know hyper is better than hypo. I also know that his numbers aren’t going to be regulated with the snap of my fingers (that would be nice tho). I understand I can’t up the dose without giving his current dose enough of a hold and looking at the numbers (well—having other people look at the numbers). However, it is slowly killing him. So for me, I am in a rush. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that AS LONG AS I don’t go faster than I safely can, of course. Am I wrong to want that? I hope not …but I’m still learning here
THISI can't emphasize the importance of warming the ear enough.
I have been doing nighttime tests. I only said I wasn’t going to tonight because I really hurt him today and wanted to give him a break. Just one night off shouldn’t be a big deal. I’ve been testing at least once after insulin every other night. And will do so again starting tomorrowA few things in addition to what Katherine has said:
- insulin is a hormone, not a medicine so it doesn’t respond like a medication
- don’t rush it; don’t chase numbers
- don’t raise a dose without knowing how low the current dose takes him; that means if you have no nighttime tests, no one should be recommending a dose increase
- as long as you are testing, you don’t need to test urine glucose but do keep up with ketone testing
When I look at spreadsheets I get so much more confused. Everyone encourages following the rules of a certain protocol. But then I see people giving doses that don’t follow the rules at all. I’m fact, most don’t. Sometimes the dose is changed almost daily and I can’t see a pattern or understand the reasoning. Sometimes a dose is held for a VERY long time and the highs and lows are all over the place. In that case, I not only don’t understand why it’s so inconsistent, but I also don’t know why the dose isn’t adjusted. It seems like you need a degree to be able to interpret them. But since everyone else understands, the problem is clearly me.Not wrong to want that, but you're not slowly killing him. Look at other people's spreadsheets. It might make you feel better or at least understand this journey with a little more clarity. Have you looked at Ruby's? She's been diabetic since September of last year. I don't know that she will ever get off insulin but with a lot of love and patience, I am keeping her as comfortable as possible while also keeping her safe.
The number on your spreadsheet were almost always in the green and look perfect. I wouldn’t think a cat would even need insulin based on those numbers.Not wrong to want that, but you're not slowly killing him. Look at other people's spreadsheets. It might make you feel better or at least understand this journey with a little more clarity. Have you looked at Ruby's? She's been diabetic since September of last year. I don't know that she will ever get off insulin but with a lot of love and patience, I am keeping her as comfortable as possible while also keeping her safe.
You can’t look at SSa in a void. You have to look at them in context.When I look at spreadsheets I get so much more confused. Everyone encourages following the rules of a certain protocol. But then I see people giving doses that don’t follow the rules at all. I’m fact, most don’t. Sometimes the dose is changed almost daily and I can’t see a pattern or understand the reasoning. Sometimes a dose is held for a VERY long time and the highs and lows are all over the place. In that case, I not only don’t understand why it’s so inconsistent, but I also don’t know why the dose isn’t adjusted. It seems like you need a degree to be able to interpret them. But since everyone else understands, the problem is clearly me.
I’m hoping eventually it will click and I will be able to look at them and understand. But for now, it makes it harder. I wish spreadsheets had a column for reasoning of dose given. Not that anyone would want to waste their time doing that. But I just keep wishing I knew why people changed or didn’t changed the dose (how they arrived at the decision). That probably sounds ridiculous.