starting new bottle

Status
Not open for further replies.

njlarry

Member
About to start a new bottle of prozinc. Should I be concerned about the possibility of increased potency and adjust the dosage down? Chessie started at 1 unit twice a day and is now up to three units twice a day. I once left the first bottle out for eight hours which might have lowered the potency.
Also, should prozinc be cloudy?
 
When I've started a new bottle I've also wondered about increased potency. I gave Teasel his usual dose and all was fine. If you're able, doing a few extra blood glucose tests around 3, 4 or 5 hours after dosing will set your mind at ease. Do you test Chessie's blood glucose at home?

Yes, ProZinc should be cloudy. It needs to be gently mixed before using - you probably know this because this isn't your first bottle. Others have reported no change in potency after leaving the bottle out for several hours.
 
Thank you for the great advice. I will monitor him more closely. I am still working on bg testing, he is both the smartest and most strong willed cat I have ever seen.
I also have to learn how to get a spreadsheet going but that comes after getting comfortable with the testing.
 
You might have to start desensitizing Chessie to having his ears handled by making it a new routine (without involving a blood glucose lancet) that's reinforced with treats. There are a variety of freeze dried meat treats available that are good to give diabetic cats. If you have a location you always use for his insulin shots, you could introduce the ear handling/massaging there. If you input a query in the search bar at the top right of this page, you'll find lots of info on how to train ear-handling acceptance, how to prepare ears for pricking, etc. It might take some time but it'll be worth it in the end. You need the blood glucose data to know how Chessie is doing.
 
Also, we can help you get the spreadsheet going. We have a few people here who are great at it and can easily set it up for you and help you get it in your signature. Just let us know!
 
Thank you all for your help. I am getting a little better at the testing. Next time I am home all day I will test him every two hours. Meanwhile his am pre feed is in the 320 area, and the lowest nadir is around 120. He is on one can of frisky patte, his brother gets less than 10 percent of it, and dry dm prescription food. I am also starting to add young again zero carb dry food. I feel I have to keep some kibble out so both his brother can eat and he can maybe have less chance of getting hypo.
I test on a towel on the kitchen counter and use a rice sock. The meter is a freestyle lite. I think I had lancet set too high at 5 as I was getting more blood out the opposite side of his ear.
He has had two dosages from the new bottle. No problems.
This site is a God send, I have learned so much. Next week or two will tackle the spreadsheet.
 
Last edited:
His numbers are pretty good. If you eliminate the DM dry, they could come down further (it is pretty high carb) so I would be watching his numbers carefully. We suggest new diabetics not get a shot under 200. Just for reference, we generally consider a cat regulated if they are in the mid 200s at pre shot and low 100s or double digits at nadir (but above 50 on a human meter and 68 on a pet meter, which is approaching hypo territory.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top