Hi all,
first time posting on here so bear with me.
My cat, Molson, was diagnosed with diabetes at the vet at the end of February, his BG was 20.
Since then i have tried a diet change to see if that could help, i have been feeding him the vet DM wet food and Fancy Feast pate. i have been using the One Touch Human tester to check his levels and they have ranged from 14 - 20 when i test him at home. Unfortunately, i don't think the diet is helping, so i am resorting to starting him on insulin.
I was going to take him to the vet to start him but from my research and things I have read online here and on Facebook, I am thinking I can start it on my own (plus save me some money from vet charges). I have contacted my local pharmacist and they have Lantus (Glargine) and syringes I can purchase from them.
I want to start in two weeks. I am saying two weeks because my husband is away on a business trip next week and I am due with a baby at the end of April, so I really want to start Molson on insulin while I have the support of my husband to help me.
I am very nervous to start and find I am losing sleep over this, (it could also be my pregnancy hormones lol)
Below are some questions I have and if you have any tips and tricks please let me know!
- I was going to start with 0.5 units of Lantus, is this a good start?
- my plan is to get the pens and use syringes instead of the pen tip
- can I give him Lantus while I feed him wet food? I am wondering if it might be easier to shoot him while he is eating
- do I need to have his eating schedule very tight or can i free-feed him? If possible I prefer to free-feed him because life can get in the way sometimes and I have always free-fed him
- right now I am only giving him the DM wet food and Fancy Feast, should I stick with that diet? I was going to continue with the fancy feast for sure because he loves that, the vet DM food he doesn't love, and i hear dry food isn't the best
- when I first start him on insulin how often should I test him? pre-shot for sure, how many times after? 3 hours, and 9 hours after? and for how long do I need to keep an eye on him with regular tests? a week or a few days? i also work full time right now.
- How often do I test once he has been on it for a while? What is the recommended time that his body should be "used" to the insulin? Once he has been on it for a week or once he's been on it for a few days?
- When should I start noticing his BG levels drop?
- What happens if he were to skip a dose? I will likely be in the hospital having my baby when he will need a shot or two and I don't think I have anyone to give him one.
Any tips and tricks send my way hoping this message board can ease some anxiety i have!
first time posting on here so bear with me.
My cat, Molson, was diagnosed with diabetes at the vet at the end of February, his BG was 20.
Since then i have tried a diet change to see if that could help, i have been feeding him the vet DM wet food and Fancy Feast pate. i have been using the One Touch Human tester to check his levels and they have ranged from 14 - 20 when i test him at home. Unfortunately, i don't think the diet is helping, so i am resorting to starting him on insulin.
I was going to take him to the vet to start him but from my research and things I have read online here and on Facebook, I am thinking I can start it on my own (plus save me some money from vet charges). I have contacted my local pharmacist and they have Lantus (Glargine) and syringes I can purchase from them.
I want to start in two weeks. I am saying two weeks because my husband is away on a business trip next week and I am due with a baby at the end of April, so I really want to start Molson on insulin while I have the support of my husband to help me.
I am very nervous to start and find I am losing sleep over this, (it could also be my pregnancy hormones lol)
Below are some questions I have and if you have any tips and tricks please let me know!
- I was going to start with 0.5 units of Lantus, is this a good start?
- my plan is to get the pens and use syringes instead of the pen tip
- can I give him Lantus while I feed him wet food? I am wondering if it might be easier to shoot him while he is eating
- do I need to have his eating schedule very tight or can i free-feed him? If possible I prefer to free-feed him because life can get in the way sometimes and I have always free-fed him
- right now I am only giving him the DM wet food and Fancy Feast, should I stick with that diet? I was going to continue with the fancy feast for sure because he loves that, the vet DM food he doesn't love, and i hear dry food isn't the best
- when I first start him on insulin how often should I test him? pre-shot for sure, how many times after? 3 hours, and 9 hours after? and for how long do I need to keep an eye on him with regular tests? a week or a few days? i also work full time right now.
- How often do I test once he has been on it for a while? What is the recommended time that his body should be "used" to the insulin? Once he has been on it for a week or once he's been on it for a few days?
- When should I start noticing his BG levels drop?
- What happens if he were to skip a dose? I will likely be in the hospital having my baby when he will need a shot or two and I don't think I have anyone to give him one.
Any tips and tricks send my way hoping this message board can ease some anxiety i have!
