Starting Lantus tomorrow

Status
Not open for further replies.

meatball_mommy

Member Since 2013
Hi! With vet we've decided to switch to Lantus tomorrow. Did a curve with the ProZinc today (see spreadsheet) that he's been on for a few weeks. Vet is recommending 2 units twice a day (meatball is at about an ideal weight of 9.5lbs). She sent a copy of the protocol she's following which calls for .5/kg if blood glucose is greater than 360. We will monitor response closely for first three days and communicate with vet daily. On Tuesday Meatball will be boarded with the vet while we travel through the following Monday. They plan to monitor and do one curve. Would love thoughts on this approach based on your experience! Best, Jo
 
That's an older protocol; we now use 0.25 per kilogram of lean weight (the lower of ideal or current weight).
Works out to about 1 unit.
 
I agree with BJM...1 unit. That is what my vet had Cedric start with when he first started on Lantus in 2011 (he was just under 18lbs then). That, with some diet changes and exercise, he went off insulin in about a month. He's back on (using Levemir now) because of the pacreatitis issues he had last year. good luck!
 
Thanks for the tips. He shot a 497 this AM and I think the vet is concerned about his rather consistently high numbers (I'm a bit skeptical of any of my lower numbers due to just learning and the fact that I was using a wet washcloth early on before I knew it could dilute the sample) since Meatball has a fatty liver with some scary values that appears to be a result of the diabetes. I'm actually leaning towards the 1 unit and sending her the protocol, but after discussion with my boyfriend (he got Meatball long before I came around :)) he's more comfortable going with the vet's suggestion. So, we're going with 2, going to monitor today - and I'm going to email her the protocol everyone references here to discuss.

Does anyone have any info on why the protocol changed (e.g., easier to get off Lantus when starting at a lower dose) and why the .25 is preferable? I'm certainly on a learning journey here! Thanks
 
So, good news! Sent the two different protocols (one which would call for .25 U/kg and the other that would call for .5) to vet with links to the University of Queensland articles. This group probably knows, but both protocols are established on that site, but one calls for regular home monitoring and the other calls for weekly monitoring. Details @ http://www.uq.edu.au/ccah/?page=41544

Anywho, the vet was totally on board if we want to following the alternate protocol (e.g., the "tight protocol" here). That's important to us since the cat is boarding there Tues-Mon while we're out of town. However, we started the morning with 2 units. So now the question is what to do with tonight's dose, which is where I could use some recommendations. My spreadsheet is in my signature, particularly if interested in the experience with ProZinc and yesterday's curve. For today, AMPS was 497 and +3 was 337. I'll post +6 and +9 later but interested in any thoughts about how to appropriately get myself over to the tight protocol now that we gave 2 units this AM. Thanks again for sharing your knowledge.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top