Starting Lantus dose advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sugarbun

Member Since 2020
Today Ollie went to the vet all day to be monitored while receiving his first dose of insulin (Lantus). He was diagnosed back in March and he was diet controlled all summer (not fully but mostly lower numbers). His numbers started rising a lot in the last month and he was having symptoms (excessive drinking and weight loss). All numbers in his spreadsheet are with no insulin.

It was a very bad experience today and I'm unsure of what to do now. I packed his low carb wet food and a PureBites chicken tray for a snack, as well as a list of his recent BG readings. They said he didn't eat much there but he was given insulin anyway, 2 units. The vet previously said we'd start with a low dose so that came as a shocker. Then after he was home I discovered they didn't even open the bag with his food in it. WTF did they feed him?!? I'm so upset. I don't know that much about insulin but why even do a curve on the first day of a depot insulin, at the vet where the cat is stressed, after he didn't eat, and on a different food than he normally eats? None of it is making sense to me.

What should I do now? I really do not want to start him on 2 units. He's due for his next dose soon. Can I just skip tonight? What dose should I be starting at?

Not as urgent a question but what times would you recommend I take his BG once I start giving him insulin? Twice a day pre-shot but other than that, at which times would it be ideal to know for a cat just starting out? Me and Ollie are both good with testing so that isn't a factor.

Thank you for any advice, I really appreciate it as I'm very frazzled right now
 
Hi Michelle,

I'm sorry to read about the issues with the vets today and I can understand how upset you're feeling. I'd be very upset too. :bighug:

I'm in the UK and just about to sign off (nearly 4am here). I'm tagging @Bron and Sheba (GA) to ask whether she might be able to give you some input on the start dose.

While you're waiting, please can you post the following info which is needed for working out the Lantus starting dose:

* Ollie's current weight.

* If current weight is not ideal weight, please also give Ollie's ideal weight.


Mogs
.
 
I would be upset as well if they did not feed the food I sent. A lot of cats won’t eat at the vets because of stress. There is no need for your kitty to be at the vet for curves when you can do them at home and it is much less stressful for your kitty.
Well done setting up the SS and home testing.

As you are feeding some dry food you will need to do the Start Low Go Slow method unless you want to get rid of the dry food. You can read about that on the top of the Lantus page here under Dosing Methods: no rush to decide.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-basaglar-glargine-and-levemir-detemir.9/
The normal starting dose for a cat doing SLGS that eats dry food is 1 unit twice a day. How much dry does Sugarbun eat?
It would be good to know your kitties weight and the curve numbers from today before we suggest the dose and to know how much of the dry he eats.

I would get a BG close to the time of the shot and post and ask for advice about shooting.

I have to go out for an hour but will be back. @tiffmaxee may be around in the meantime.
 
Thank you everyone. He currently weighs 12.1 pounds and I think his ideal weight is 13. I don't have the numbers from the curve but I was told he was in the 300s all day and I imagine that's from a pet meter. He doesn't eat much dry at all, I'd say a little less than 2 tbsp a day.
 
If he’s eating any dry the method to follow here is SLGS. If you can eliminate 5ge dry you can also follow TR. How many hours ago was insulin given? Lantus needs to be given every 12 hours. Have a look at the SLGS method sticky on the Lantus forum. I would suggest starting at 1 unit. You might want to start in the morning. What is a good time for you to give insulin?
 
What have you decided to do Michelle about the insulin dose tonight?

It very well may have been the wrong decision but I didn't give him anything last night. He gorged himself on his wet food and then threw it all up, plus he was all out of sorts from the day, so I didn't feel right about giving him the shot. Today he got 1 unit (AMPS 263, +3 232).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top