Hello. I am a newbie. My 12 year old cat Abbey was diagnosed with diabetes about 6 weeks ago. I had been taking her to the vet every two weeks for a BG reading. Her first reading was 331. The vet started her at 2 units of insulin twice a day. The following visit which was 2 weeks later she tested at 400 something. The vet told me to increase the insulin to 4 units twice a day so I did. Two weeks later her reading was 551 so the vet told me to increase her insulin to 5 units twice a day. This past Wednesday I took her in again and the BG reading was "HIGH" which I'm assuming is not good. During this 6 week period Abbey has been drinking a lot of water and urinating heavily. Her litter box is saturated with urine. It was a real mess. She had been eating all her Hill's m/d dry food that the vet told me to give her.
So I decided to by a BG monitor this weekend so I could keep track of her BG on a daily basis. I have also switched her food to FANCY FEAST CLASSICS which this website promoted as a good food source for diabetic cats. When I tested her yesterday she was at 153 so I was relieved. I assumed this was due to the new food. I gave her 5 units of insulin again last night after the reading. This morning I gave her another 5 units then went to work. When I got home I tested her again and she was at 49. I fed her and tested her about 45 minutes later and she was at 50.I tested her again 3 hours later and she was at 63. I did not give her any more insulin this evening because I believe the insulin will bring down her BG reading below 60 again. I am planning on testing her again in the morning. Hopefully the BG reading will be between 100 and 300.
If her reading is below 100 tomorrow morning what should I do?? Any insulin?? If it is normal should I continue to give her the 5 units or should I cut back to 4? Any advice would be helpful. Again I am new at this and I want the best for my cat. Thank you.
So I decided to by a BG monitor this weekend so I could keep track of her BG on a daily basis. I have also switched her food to FANCY FEAST CLASSICS which this website promoted as a good food source for diabetic cats. When I tested her yesterday she was at 153 so I was relieved. I assumed this was due to the new food. I gave her 5 units of insulin again last night after the reading. This morning I gave her another 5 units then went to work. When I got home I tested her again and she was at 49. I fed her and tested her about 45 minutes later and she was at 50.I tested her again 3 hours later and she was at 63. I did not give her any more insulin this evening because I believe the insulin will bring down her BG reading below 60 again. I am planning on testing her again in the morning. Hopefully the BG reading will be between 100 and 300.
If her reading is below 100 tomorrow morning what should I do?? Any insulin?? If it is normal should I continue to give her the 5 units or should I cut back to 4? Any advice would be helpful. Again I am new at this and I want the best for my cat. Thank you.