That's great. Can you retrieve those numbers from your meter and put them on the SS now?When Orion dropped to 32 I was testing every 15 min or so until he was above 50 and rising. Shame on me for not recording the numbers. I apologise.
I'm going to assume that, if that vet is familiar with Lantus, he or she will know that this doesn't work as well with the long lasting insulins.The different AM and PM doses have been done at the suggestion of a vet. We always did consistent doses until recently.
I've said it before and I'll say it again - Orion is a beautiful boy!!Orion will be starting Lantus on Monday. He is switching from Pro zinc. I've been unable to get him regulated on Prozinc and hope the switch helps. I would like to do TR and am asking for your recommendations for starting dose. Thank you.
View attachment 26891
That's great. Can you retrieve those numbers from your meter and put them on the SS now?
No judgments here, we are here to help you help Airway. Tricia all ready gave you some great advice and TR needs to have test Pre shots and at least one sometime around nadir and more if the numbers are lower though the cycle.Do you test Orion's urine for ketones? This is the only recommendation I can suggest to you right now.
Angela, there are several types of kitty food that are both low in carbs (for the diabetic kitty) and low in phosphorus (for the CKD kitty). They probably both could benefit from eating a low carb low phosphorous food.I don't have a timed feeder. The challenge I have is I have a CKD kitty who eats low phosphorous food that is too high in carbs for Orion. I feed them in separate rooms when I'm home. I'm not sure I'd want to keep them separated all day.
Wonderful, this is great news. You might want to add his ketone tests to your SS when you do them. Folks on this board will always look to your SS first before offering guidance and if they see you are regularly testing for ketones, they won't ask. Because trust me...we ask! Especially me- my kitty almost died from a serious case of DKA so I always try to help others know about the dangers if they are not testing.Yes, I do. I have strips that test for both sugar and ketones. He has always been negative for ketones. I hope to get him negative for both.
I found it best to use one feeder per cat. I put each in the spot where that cat was accustomed to eating and tried to set them to go off about the same time, so both cats were occupied eating and couldn't steal from each other. I left the last slot empty and set the feeders to turn to it two hours before the next shot time, so the cat with FD would not eat in that time frame and the shot time test would not be food influenced.Do you use one feeder for multiple cats or one feeder per cat?
Good luck, Angela! There's a lot of great help and guidance here. The timed feeder idea sounds like a good one for you.Orion just got his first Lantus shot. Preshot was 299. I will check him at +2 before I go to work.
ETA: When you have time, could you add a dividing line on your SS showing the switch to Lantus?

Just stunning!!!!Orion will be starting Lantus on Monday. He is switching from Pro zinc. I've been unable to get him regulated on Prozinc and hope the switch helps. I would like to do TR and am asking for your recommendations for starting dose. Thank you.
View attachment 26891
When a +2 is lower than the Pre shot numbers, it indicates it could be an active cycle. Since you can only get a+2 before you eave for work, it might be a good idea when he is low yellow before you leave to give him a snack to help sow him down a bit, maybe you did I didn't look at the SS . .
Orion will be starting Lantus on Monday. He is switching from Pro zinc. I've been unable to get him regulated on Prozinc and hope the switch helps. I would like to do TR and am asking for your recommendations for starting dose. Thank you.
View attachment 26891