Starting a New Thread...but with same ol' challenge...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Korynn

Member Since 2016
Hi everyone:

We upped Desi's dose to 0.4, hoping it would lower his BG, but it seems to have leveled it out to high and flat (is that right?). It's certainly not bouncing but it's not below yellow, either. Do you think we should to up to 0.5? Or any other suggestions? Other than his numbers, he seems great. He eats well (he loves the new food, Core Wellness), isn't peeing tons, etc.

Thanks in advance.
 
While I cant give dosing advice, are you familiar with the sticky on the Prozinc forum. If you aren't it explains dosing.
Oh the patience pants we have to wear.
Sue or Rachel can help you with dosing.
 
While I cant give dosing advice, are you familiar with the sticky on the Prozinc forum. If you aren't it explains dosing.
Oh the patience pants we have to wear.
Sue or Rachel can help you with dosing.
Yes, I have read that Sticky about ProZinc dosing but it's been awhile. I'll review it. Thanks!
 
He looks good - no bouncing, often below the renal threshold. But yes, you could definitely go lower and have more of a drop for nadir - that smile shaped curve we like. I think increasing is a good idea, monitoring the first cycle of the change.

You are giving such tiny doses with the change being in such small amounts. Let's see if he budges out of the yellows.
 
Help! Desi's AMPS was 158 - far lower than it has been - after the 0.5 dose last night.
Yesterday was "off" in general because he got a partial fur shot in the AM (I think most got in him, after all) and then we couldn't test his BG in the afternoon as we usually do so don't have that reading. But we did give 0.5 after the PMPS test and now he's in the blue. My question is...what dose now? I didn't expect it to be so low.
 
Help! Desi's AMPS was 158 - far lower than it has been - after the 0.5 dose last night.
Yesterday was "off" in general because he got a partial fur shot in the AM (I think most got in him, after all) and then we couldn't test his BG in the afternoon as we usually do so don't have that reading. But we did give 0.5 after the PMPS test and now he's in the blue. My question is...what dose now? I didn't expect it to be so low.
OK, I just took the plunge (so to speak) and gave him a 0.2. Is it possible that he has some tipping point between 0.4 and 0.5? I suppose that only time will tell!
 
I think 0.2 sounds good. Let's see what he does. They are such tiny changes in dose; it is amazing that a 0.1 change makes a difference.
 
After about a week of 0.5 instead of 0.4, we are still puzzled. His levels don't seem to be consistently lower. There is more of a curve vs flat profile throughout the day...but it isn't going as we had hoped it would.
 
His numbers aren't bad, but yes, he still has room to drop. Maybe his pattern is to react right away to an increase (the amps 158) and then flatten out. If so, then after 3+ (Or whatever your comfort level is and when you can monitor)cycles of flatter, higher levels, increase by .25 or so.

But remember, he is in generally regulated numbers on a tiny dose, so he is doing well. Just time for a tweaking. And decide ahead of time what you will do with a lower than 200 preshot: Stall and retest, if 180 shoot but a smidge less etc. Skipping is the least desirable choice but sometimes the only one.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top